Pink Slips: Skirting the Issue

Things continue to be crazy here at IPF, Eastern Division, 
and I was getting anxious about not blogging and not commenting and not even really reading anyone’s blogs. 
 
Not even my own.  

Here’s the thing: taking pictures is not a pleasure.  I have to balance the camera on top of a pile of flat things on top of my bed, set the timer, race into the frame while avoiding the vampire cat who insists on showing me how it’s done, balance on a stool for half the pictures so I can get the whole outfit into two shots.  Then I have to edit my head out of my pictures (you’re welcome) and be amazed all over again at how hilariously un-photogenic I am.  I have a recurring nightmare that I will die in a fiery crash and people will find the entire series of unflattering self-shot photos on my computer and that someone will arrange a slide show of them to be shown at the funeral.  Actually, that might be good for a laugh.  Sometimes I like to think about ways that I can lighten the mood at my own funeral.

And a tripod, as with all other new things for Dr M, is out of the question at the moment.

So blogging, which has been this project I did entirely for myself and which has unexpectedly brought the fantastic StyleNation into my days, is becoming anxiety-producing because I am spread too thin to do a decent job of it.  And that is stupid.  Because, as the wise and wonderful My Edit noted recently, blogging is a hobby.  For me it is, and I like to suck at most of my hobbies.  That’s why I don’t blog professionally (though I’m sort of trying to retain my amateur status to be eligible for the Olympics.  They have that, right?).

So this month, I’ve got to order my affairs and I’m probably not going to be invited to the Blogging Olympic trials.  Because for me blogging isn’t just posting pictures of what I wear, that’s the minimum requirement; it’s more about reading your blogs, commenting on what you’re doing and wearing, and being an active member of StyleNation.  And right now, I’m going to suck at that, because I can’t carve out the time for it.

But when I do post, I’m going to be posting in the pink

Orchids in Buttonholes alerted me to the initiative of A Working Mom’s Closet to raise awareness for breast cancer during the month of October by wearing pink everyday.  I don’t own enough pink to wear it everyday, and I especially do not own enough professorial pink, but when I wear it (usually in the shoe region), I’ll post it.  Here’s a taste of my professorial pink:







Navy Wool Check Skirt: All Saints
Pink Ballerinas: Bloch
Hands: Jazz                                







Grey Wool Skirt:  Banana Republic
Pink Wedges: Two Lips
Skirt length: wrong for me

And, because he hates to be left out of the action, 

here’s the Vampire Cat showing me how it’s done.
One day I hope to be as comfortable in my flesh as the Vampire Cat is in his fur.

20 thoughts on “Pink Slips: Skirting the Issue

  1. Hey lady, Style Nation is here whenever you have the time. You must be doing fabulous medieval things, or having a good time with folks- all which are great. I blog to pump myself up for teaching days, but it's different for everyone. I love both of these skirt/shoe/tight combos. You have great legs, and only a few folks can pull of the below the knee like you (I've tried. I'll try again. And then I'll just go with the stump and add calf high boots). Also, that All Saints skirt. Is everything they make that awesome? I may have to pop into the All Saints shop in Soho in about 9 1/2 months.I have one pink thing at the bottom of a dresser. When I feel less sicky, I'll will style it up for awesome women's health purposes.My, that vampire cat is looking happy and relaxed.

  2. Yup. They are the most comfortable flats I have ever owned–no need for cookies! Maybe I will write an ode to them and post it. I went back and bought a pair in red too, which I never do (when I was allowed to buy things I needed). They are all on super sale because they aren't going to carry them anymore. Should I see if they have your (and Anne's & Style Underdog's & E-Jo's) size?

  3. Thank you so much for the mention! I adore both skirts and pairs of shoes, though those pink ballerinas filled me with such shoe envy. And Vampire Cat made me laugh out loud – thank you for that, too!

  4. Thanks StyleNation! I know you appreciate my photo-taking efforts because you are here to appreciate them and I appreciate that. (As you can see, I write for a living and know many, many words.)If I can get through the next couple of weeks relatively unscathed I think I can get back to reading and writing for fun instead of just for work (which I love but this term is kicking my arse).Also, "part pumkin, part muse" and "jazz paws" are written down on post-it notes and stuck on my computer to make me smile and they are still totally working.

  5. Aaaaah! I've been lusting after those Bloch slippers for a while now! Ditto style underdog–things get busy. And I feel your photo pain–LHdM was kind enough to take mine and I'm trying to find a replacement…or do better with the self-timer. 🙂

  6. Since blogging is a hobby, put as much or as little time into it as best fits your life. As others have said, do what you can and don't feel guilty. I don't wear really pink, but I love how you wear it. Those shoes are darling with those skirts (and the length on the second skirt is awesome! Are you sure you looked at the picture?) I'm putting Bloch flats on my list of Stuff to Buy When Shopping is Okay Again. In the meantime, feel free to pick me up a pair, if you like.

  7. I know the anxiety one feels when they haven't fed the blog or commented regularly. I've experienced it recently. But like Beverly said, we'll still be here. You definitely need a break from blogging. I've found that when it starts feeling overwhelming, a break is good, for you and your readers. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.comtwitter: @gritandglamour

  8. Wow, you have a case of the guilts. Don't worry about it. You will blog/comment when you can, next week, next month, whenever. You can't get rid of us that easily.As for the shoes and the unconfirmed shoe exchange, thanks for thinking of me.

  9. I was responding as Baxter's comment was posting but OH MY GOD that is the best description of the Vampire cat I've ever seen. I tip my hat to you!

  10. Dude. I'm sorry things are so rough right now in IPF Eastern Division. There may or may not be an IPF-related prezzie on its way RIGHT NOW. (Wouldn't it be cruel if "may not" was the answer? Bwa ha ha). Fortunately both skirts & shoes combinations are awesome. You totally don't know about skirt length. I also adore those pink ballet flats & think you should totes check for my size. Even though I'm also not allowed to buy things for myself. Rad, I wish I had your (and all the other GAAD-ers) strength to resist. Finally, I love the vampire cat's little floppy, T-Rex-style front paws.

  11. You look great in the second skirt (as well as the first)! The length is very flattering and the shoes are an added treat. I had never really considered the degree of difficulty in composing your photos; that effort will not go unappreciated in future. Love the pink shoes and the butterball of a cat. Vampire Cat looks like a sage Halloween decoration – part pumpkin, part muse.

  12. Hey lady, Style Nation is here whenever you have the time. You must be doing fabulous medieval things, or having a good time with folks- all which are great. I blog to pump myself up for teaching days, but it's different for everyone. I love both of these skirt/shoe/tight combos. You have great legs, and only a few folks can pull of the below the knee like you (I've tried. I'll try again. And then I'll just go with the stump and add calf high boots). Also, that All Saints skirt. Is everything they make that awesome? I may have to pop into the All Saints shop in Soho in about 9 1/2 months.I have one pink thing at the bottom of a dresser. When I feel less sicky, I'll will style it up for awesome women's health purposes.My, that vampire cat is looking happy and relaxed.

  13. Yup. They are the most comfortable flats I have ever owned–no need for cookies! Maybe I will write an ode to them and post it. I went back and bought a pair in red too, which I never do (when I was allowed to buy things I needed). They are all on super sale because they aren't going to carry them anymore. Should I see if they have your (and Anne's & Style Underdog's & E-Jo's) size?

  14. Ohmigod. That All Saints skirt is a beaut! As are BOTH PAIRS of your pink shoes. Maude, I need more flat shoes. Are those available in IPF Eastern Division, at that store?

  15. Ha! Somehow I hadn't really noticed that you had to perch precariously on a stool! But it's so cute! Your efforts towards the blogging world, amateur or otherwise, are greatly appreciated.I love how confused cats get by the process of taking a picture of yourself (why not just take one of me lolling, as usual, they seem to say).

Leave a Reply

