Copycat Edition

*NB for A-Dubs: the mini-FR is all up in the grill of today’s post. Clearly, he’s heard your requests for more pictures of smooth dogs.
Inspired by the oh-so-stylish Style Underdog, today is a copycat outfit–or at least the top portion is. After seeing her rock the outfit from the Banana Republic ad and our own A-Dubs’ continued awesomeness with a coral cardigan, I had to get one for myself. So… my shopping ban of 3 weeks or so went out the window. In my search for a coral cardigan, I ended up buying a couple of pieces which will make their appearance soon but today is all about the coral cardigan (at least I got it on a major sale, right?? I’m also justifying the shopping slip-up as a birthday gift to myself. That’s a thing, right?).
The outfit was probably a little warm for today. It started off in the 50s/10s and ended up in the 80s/ high 20s so I couldn’t really win, comfort-wise. The shirt I’ve got on under the cardigan is the twin to a black one, worn previously on the blog, with invisible-to-the-photo ruffles. It’s also pretty sheer and, since I had a committee meeting today with senior department members, sheer probably wasn’t the way to go. So the cardi stayed on all day.
Coral Cardigan: Gap
White ruffled shirt: Joe (essentially remixed)
Khaki green workhorse skirt: Gap (remixed)
Snakeskin flats: Old Navy (remixed)


































In other news, I’m going to be MIA for the next week: my dad & his girlfriend are coming to town so I’ll be busy playing host, preparing Canadian Thanksgiving. I’ll be reading your blogs as always but probably not commenting and definitely not posting as trying to explain this whole “style blog” thing might prove frustrating. In the meantime, the mini-FR was demanding to make his presence known in today’s picture-taking endeavors, leading to the following that captures (or would, if you could see my face) our oh-so rational conversations. This is seriously one of my favorite pictures ever:


Whose style did you try and copy (*ahem* cite) today?

18 thoughts on “Copycat Edition

  1. Obviously the reason that Thanksgiving in the US and Thanksgiving in Canada are on different days is so that Anne and E-Jo are never making Thanksgiving dinner together at the same time because, cosmically speaking, it would be too much deliciousness for the world to handle.Now would somebody please get over here and cook me a tofurkey while I mark.

  2. Mini-FR is super adorbs. Now I want to add a doggy like him to my list. Darn you, itty bitt Brooklyn apartment.This coral cardigan is lovely and versatile. I like how you mixed the colors. I had a coral cowlneck once that I really liked. Adding to coral to my mental list of future colors.Enjoy time with your dad. I had a really nice Canadian Thanksgiving a few years ago. I recall the pie fondly…

  3. Obviously the reason that Thanksgiving in the US and Thanksgiving in Canada are on different days is so that Anne and E-Jo are never making Thanksgiving dinner together at the same time because, cosmically speaking, it would be too much deliciousness for the world to handle.Now would somebody please get over here and cook me a tofurkey while I mark.

  4. Yum!!! That all sounds delicious! And I second the suggestion for cornstarch gravy. It's a lot more smooth than using any type of flour, and pretty fool-proof (only because I have problems making homemade gravy).

  5. Great cardigan! Birthday presents to yourself is totally a thing. A thing I totally endorse.Mmmmmmmm dinner. Your menu made me hungry! I hope you find some Brussels sprouts, as I love them too. How do you make them? We roast them into near oblivion with balsamic vinegar.

  6. Holy crap, E-Jo! I can't believe you can actually make all of that awesome food. Also, my dad's got that wheat intolerance thing and he makes gravy with cornstarch. Somehow that seems more palatable than the rice flour recipe.

  7. Hi E-Jo,I was planning to write about your awesome cardigan and how much I love the color and about your cute dog and about the shout out BUT I just read the above comment. I'm hungry now. Taking my glass of Merlot and raiding my cabinets. Be back soon.

  8. Thanks all! The mini-FR seems to accept compliments as his due but I am teaching him to accept them like a gentleman. My thanksgiving menu includes: mashed potatoes and gravy (though it's not exactly real gravy as it'll be made with rice flour as my dad's gf has celiac's); sweet potatoes with miniature marshmallows, my grandma's turnip casserole (mashed turnips baked with applesauce & an egg & topped with bread crumbs–yum!); stuffing, brussel sprouts (if I can find them here–they're my favorite and they are really difficult to get here in IPF South for some reason); and turkey. I've also made pumpkin & apple pies.

  9. You have a dachshund too! They're such great dogs. Coral is one of my favorite colors but I never seem to wear it. I do wear the green of your skirt so maybe a good way to interject some coral is a small touch. This outfit looks very springlike in the photos, fresh and inspiring. Great teaching garb!

  10. That IS a great picture. Mini-FR's so hilariously teensy, smooth, and expressive. He's clearly listening to and thinking on your point. But I think he's got a point or two of his own to contribute. Also, NICE coral cardi. And I'm loving it with the skirt and the snakeskin flats. And I can TOTES see the ruffles on that cute t-shirt. I wish I had a similar one so I could copy, too. Finally, enjoy the extended time with the fam. But your absence will be mourned in the StyleNation. Are you making mashed potatoes and gravy? I seriously miss real gravy. A LOT.

  11. Mini-FR is super adorbs. Now I want to add a doggy like him to my list. Darn you, itty bitt Brooklyn apartment.This coral cardigan is lovely and versatile. I like how you mixed the colors. I had a coral cowlneck once that I really liked. Adding to coral to my mental list of future colors.Enjoy time with your dad. I had a really nice Canadian Thanksgiving a few years ago. I recall the pie fondly…

  12. Awwww, mini-FR! I love when my dog insists on getting into pictures. Obviously dogs are the real stars of these blogs :)I'm inspired to join the coral cardigan party now too. It looks so cute on you, especially with that skirt!Have fun entertaining this week 🙂 What are you making for Thanksgiving? I'm hosting this year too, and always looking for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

