Leather Boots, Ceramic Balls

It’s almost midnight and I should go to bed; but I’ve been working for the last one zillion hours, and I want to do at least one fun, non-grant proposal-or-teaching-related thing before I pack it in. Without further ado, StyleNation, meet my new boots. 

They scrunch down like this, or they pull up over my knees. I wore them to teach today and am happy to report that they’re campus-hiking friendly, soft like black butter, and from France, dahling, France.



OTK leather boots: France Mode (via Shoe Heaven)
Dress: Tammy Mars (via Winners, remixed)
Heart Necklace/lip gloss compact on silk cord: 
Yves St. Laurent (gifted)
Pleather belt: C’est Moi 
Long cotton cardigan: Nygard (old)
Oops. ‘Cut my arm out of the photo, again. 
Let the record show that I have two arms. 
(But not nearly enough sleep.)

Boot close-up. I would have pulled them up instead of bunching, but my dress gets caught when I do that. Obviously this is a sign that I should wear shorter skirts.

You’ll notice a necklace change here. I switched this one out and added the cardigan after the first photo. But this picture’s included because I thought you might like, as a special Friday treat, to see the ceramic phallus.

Other necklace: thrifted (remixed)

Can you see it over there on your left? It was a wedding present. And now it’s a Friday present for you. (In fact, if you dig it, it can be a much more literal present for you. Just say the word.)







Canadians, who’s ready for the weekend? 
Americans, why is your Thanksgiving so late? 
It’s totally unreasonable that you get ZERO long weekends in October. 

25 thoughts on “Leather Boots, Ceramic Balls

  1. I love this outfit on you – fab stripes, and absolutely rockin' boots. Covet, covet. Ha, to the phallus! Yay for Thanksgiving, although my family doesn't do it (I put my foot down when I was a teen: "it's me or the turkey"), because it's my BIRTHDAY tomorrow! I was born on Thanksgiving, lucky me. Everyone is out of town for my b-day. Boo.

  2. I adore the boots–I have a hard time finding boots that fit over my calves and so I often get boot envy.In terms of Thanksgiving, my impression is that Thanksgiving is later in the States because winter is later in the states. That said, Rad is right–it is hard to get a good pumpkin and if you do not have a cool place to store one, hard to keep it from Halloween.That said, we have fall break this weekend (so as to avoid having a holiday that names the fact that its timing is based on, well, genocide) and I am going to Washington, DC. I am going to sit on someone else's couch while I apply for jobs and grade stuff. It will be a blast.

  3. You are SO RIGHT about the timing of Thanksgiving. Bah!Furthermore, those boots slay me. They look amazing with this simple, chic ensemble and I cannot wait to see how else they get worn.

  4. Some of us do get a long weekend with Columbus Day. And even when we don't since, American TG is on a Thursday, we get a 4 day weekend then. The best deal, though? Be an American living in Canada – I always got both holidays off! And ours can't be on the same day – we didn't have Martin Frobisher being all exploratory to find the Northwest Passage for us to celebrate. Only the systematic destruction of indigenous populations.And if you just can't find any shorter skirts that you like, feel free to send the boots my way. Always happy to help a sister out.P.S.

  5. Gah! I haven't had a chance to check your comments until just now! I note, however, that there are no takers on the ceramic phallus. (It's a candle holder. Does that change your mind?)Also, I'm glad you like the bootage. For those of the muscled calves, take note: these babies are stretchy material on the back, so they fit everyone. In fact, since I've not felt the need to have them professionally stretched before shoving my legs into them, I'd say they're on the more appropriately calf-sized end of the scale. I'm just saying. 'Hope everyone had a good weekend. It was stupidly, awesomely hot and gorgeous here at IPF North. But since it was absurdly cold in September, there are very few leaves left on the trees. I tell you this as I also want to tell you how strange it is/was to see people in summer sandals in this late-autumn landscape.

  6. Gah! I haven't had a chance to check your comments until just now! I note, however, that there are no takers on the ceramic phallus. (It's a candle holder. Does that change your mind?)Also, I'm glad you like the bootage. For those of the muscled calves, take note: these babies are stretchy material on the back, so they fit everyone. In fact, since I've not felt the need to have them professionally stretched before shoving my legs into them, I'd say they're on the more appropriately calf-sized end of the scale. I'm just saying. 'Hope everyone had a good weekend. It was stupidly, awesomely hot and gorgeous here at IPF North. But since it was absurdly cold in September, there are very few leaves left on the trees. I tell you this as I also want to tell you how strange it is/was to see people in summer sandals in this late-autumn landscape.

  7. Those boots are fantastic! I love them all bunchy like that, and can't wait to see how else you style them. And the sleeves on that awesome dress are just phenomenal! Love this look.

  8. Oh sweet nibblets. Those are some nice boots. And I mean nice as in holy mother of all things bad ass nice. I always gasp when you post this dress, I love it so. Thanksgiving is late so we can have dinner with Mike's mom and Christmas dinner with mine and only a month inbetween so no one gets jealous.

  9. Oh now…those are some fine boots you have there. You can wear them with anything. Even a ceramic phallus, which I assume must be tiny-wee and on that chain around your neck. Bold and capable outfit, A-Dubs!

  10. I love this outfit on you – fab stripes, and absolutely rockin' boots. Covet, covet. Ha, to the phallus! Yay for Thanksgiving, although my family doesn't do it (I put my foot down when I was a teen: "it's me or the turkey"), because it's my BIRTHDAY tomorrow! I was born on Thanksgiving, lucky me. Everyone is out of town for my b-day. Boo.

  11. Some of us do get a long weekend with Columbus Day. And even when we don't since, American TG is on a Thursday, we get a 4 day weekend then. The best deal, though? Be an American living in Canada – I always got both holidays off! And ours can't be on the same day – we didn't have Martin Frobisher being all exploratory to find the Northwest Passage for us to celebrate. Only the systematic destruction of indigenous populations.And if you just can't find any shorter skirts that you like, feel free to send the boots my way. Always happy to help a sister out.P.S.

  12. I adore the boots–I have a hard time finding boots that fit over my calves and so I often get boot envy.In terms of Thanksgiving, my impression is that Thanksgiving is later in the States because winter is later in the states. That said, Rad is right–it is hard to get a good pumpkin and if you do not have a cool place to store one, hard to keep it from Halloween.That said, we have fall break this weekend (so as to avoid having a holiday that names the fact that its timing is based on, well, genocide) and I am going to Washington, DC. I am going to sit on someone else's couch while I apply for jobs and grade stuff. It will be a blast.

  13. You are SO RIGHT about the timing of Thanksgiving. Bah!Furthermore, those boots slay me. They look amazing with this simple, chic ensemble and I cannot wait to see how else they get worn.

  14. Hey hey now, I get a long weekend in October – that's right, university shuts down for our homecoming parade (that is absolutely suck-tastic) and football game. So I get a Friday off. That's nice and lovely. But I love my November Thanksgiving. I have no idea why it's in November but it just makes me so happy to have it then otherwise we'd see Christmas decorations and sale items in the stores in July.

  15. I've always been jealous of Canadian Thanksgiving. It seemed to have less pressure to go home, but was still a fun holiday. Also, unlike American thanksgiving, which is SO late, there are actually pumpkins and other newly harvested deliciousness in season. Getting a pumpkin for American Thanksgiving is pretty difficult.I love your new boots. Boots are my weak point. I sent 3 pairs of boots to Anne that I was drooling over. I love the crispness of the black and white here.Also, nice phallus vase.

  16. Combo long weekend chez moi: Canuck Thanksgiving and Lost Italian Commits Genocide Day. I prefer the former.I love your new boots and want to see them more, again, soon. Let me know if they need a social convener. Seems unlikely, but should a need arise, I'd be happy to fill the position.What's the statue of limitations on weird wedding gifts? This is important information. Two years?

  17. Those boots are wonderful! I was just saying to Rad last night how I really need to find myself a decent pair of boots this fall. And now seeing yours, I really REALLY need to find some good boots. If I say the word, will you send me the boots instead of the ceramic phallus?I think some people here get Columbus day as a 3-day weekend, but typically those types of holidays are reserved for banks and schools. I might take a long weekend sometime soon anyway, just because.

  18. That is a fantastic dress. And boots. I'm not sure I see phallus there, but the vase does remind me of a bong once owned by my ex-husband (or perhaps by our grad school housemates, I can't remember). Long long ago, well outside the statute of limitations.

  19. The boots are tres fabulous, as is the Breton-esque dress et la chic cardigan. The ceramic phallus just confuses me. It looks like a planter of sorts, suitable for nurturing a small vine or perhaps a home for a unambitious snake. But the boots – they're lovely. Hope all your hard work reaps many benefits soon.

Leave a Reply

