A Neutral Return



I’m back Stylenation! It’s been a lovely week full of trips to Austin and turkey. And shopping. One bad thing about having Canadian guests visit you in the U.S. is that they all want to take advantage of the wider shopper opportunities (or at least my guests do) and this wreaks havoc on my plan to cut back on shopping. I managed to control myself though–but once again Macy’s was my downfall where I bought a pair of sale shoes that I probably don’t need but which I love. Indeed, some of what I love is that they’re a little outside of my typical comfort zone. They’re high wedges with a seventies’ vibe that remind me of Style Underdog’s fabulous, fabulous shoe collection. But they’re from a comfort brand so they’re surprisingly easy to walk in (the wedge helps here too) and, of course, comfortable.



In fact, this whole outfit, which I taught in yesterday, is inspired by Style Underdog’s and Rad’s killer neutral-based wardrobes. I typically go for bright colors so this is a bit of a departure but I felt pretty awesome in this outfit yesterday.



Dress: Old Navy
T-shirt: Target
Scarf: Gift (from my sister, who’s currently in Morocco, and who bought this for me in China. I kind of hate her though enjoy that she visits these countries with a boatload of urologists. There’s a joke there).
Shoes: Aerosoles, from Macy’s




























Here it is sans scarf:





Close-up of shoes:



Are you on Team Neutrals or Team Bright Colors?

23 thoughts on “A Neutral Return

  1. Pingback: Neutral Tones | In Professorial Fashion

  2. Team Newt! especially the California Newt.http://tinyurl.com/29bvfcpyou've done a masterful job on this newt outfit – it's combining different colors and textures that makes newt outfits pop! buttery lite tan, cream, caramel, black, fringe, ruffles, exploded houndstooth, shiny leather….i'd wear this one as is. and i never say that!

  3. I'm Team Neutral with a pop of Team Colour. Except I look terrible in beige. As A-Dubs once tactfully put it when I was eyeing up a beige jacket at VV, "that would look great on you with a colourful scarf." (read: that colour is horrible on you but I am way too nice a friend to say that so bluntly). The thing is, I don't know how to wear scarves. They usually look stupid on me. Yours looks fabulous on you, as does this whole ensemble. I predict that those shoes will become workhorses. Excellent shopping.

  4. Team Newt! especially the California Newt.http://tinyurl.com/29bvfcpyou've done a masterful job on this newt outfit – it's combining different colors and textures that makes newt outfits pop! buttery lite tan, cream, caramel, black, fringe, ruffles, exploded houndstooth, shiny leather….i'd wear this one as is. and i never say that!

  5. I'm Team Neutral with a pop of Team Colour. Except I look terrible in beige. As A-Dubs once tactfully put it when I was eyeing up a beige jacket at VV, "that would look great on you with a colourful scarf." (read: that colour is horrible on you but I am way too nice a friend to say that so bluntly). The thing is, I don't know how to wear scarves. They usually look stupid on me. Yours looks fabulous on you, as does this whole ensemble. I predict that those shoes will become workhorses. Excellent shopping.

  6. Great outfit, and I love those shoes!I am Team Both, though it's only the past couple of years that I've come to realize that outfits composed entirely of neutrals can be as much fun as brights.

  7. I think I had the original version of those shoes, back in the 80s–a pair of Old Maine Trotters that I wore until they literally fell apart, they were so comfortable. These look great with your outfit.

  8. Sweet ensemble, EJ. That scarf is killing it. And enjoy those awesome shoes while you've got 'em, because when i'm down delivering your (late) birthday present, I'm packing them into my bag when you're not looking. p.s. Excellent almost potty-humour joke.

  9. HA! Those shoes are sa-weeeet. They would work nicely in my closet, thank you very much. I'm glad you felt awesome cuz you look awesome. As for shoe sales at Macys, yep, it gets me everytime. You didn't happen to see any leopard print 4 inch pumps, did you? Thought I'd asked. Thanks for the shout out. You owned this outfit.

  10. All bright colors, all the way, baby. Although it's hard to make an outfit completely neutral-free. But I try. I try.Also, I love your new killer shoes, those were totally worth falling off the wagon for.

  11. Oooh, I just love Aerosoles! They make some of the most comfortable yet cute shoes. Nice buy!What about team combo? I love bright colors, but I have to pair them with neutrals.Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

