Sartorial New Life, from Vegas

Good Monday, StyleNation, from Las Vegas, Nevada. I’m en route to IPF North, posting from the airport lounge. But these are professorial, not Vegas photos. Because, somehow, we took exactly zero pictures this weekend. I’m determined, however, to reproduce this weekend’s ensembles for blog purposes later this week. Because I need to consult with you.

For today, here’s what I’ve got. This ensemble’s from last week, but I re-love this dress. It used to be a long t-shirt dress that I wore a million times back in the nineties. Then it sat in storage for ten years until I finally got around to having it shortened, and hemming the sleeves (which I’ll show you another time). And now it has a whole new life!

Black microfibre dress: Tristan & Iseult
(old – like fifteen years old)
Navy & gray acrylic cardigan: mall anchor store
Black belt: Mexx (remixed)
Tights: Hue (via The Bay)
Shoes: Clarks Artisan (remixed)
Bracelet: The Bay

Black absorbs light and is difficult (for me) to photograph. I realize this. But my teaching wardrobe has a LOT of black in it. In the coming weeks, I will find another location for morning photos.

In the mean time, have you breathed new life in to old items of late? How’d you do it?  

22 thoughts on “Sartorial New Life, from Vegas

  1. Love this black and gray ensemble, but that's probably no big surprise coming from me. I want one of these long cardigan type numbers so badly, but I can't decide what style to go with, and I don't have time to shop, so I'll just keep admiring everyone else's from afar!Just wanted to pop over to say hello to all three of you, too since I haven't commented in a while. Seems like you guys are as busy as I am, but I am glad there's been a little time for fun!-Liz

  2. A-Dubs! I accidentally deleted your comment about Auntie Mame! I wanted to tell you too that there is a whole series of Auntie Mame books available on Amazon. I've put them all on my wishlist along with a biography of the real Dennis Patrick!

  3. The black and grey stripes here are excellent. I am sort of alarmed to hear that this dress was hemmed. How long did it used to be? I think I have blocked out the long hemlines of the 90s. I seem to remember wearing a lot of baby doll dresses with combat boots. And scrunchies.And, btw, StyleNation, I know why A-Dubs was in Vegas. We will probably prefer to join her on another/different Vegas jaunt. I'm just sayin'.

  4. I love your shoes. I want shoes like that. I need a job that forces me to wear cute shoes instead of the one that allows me to get away with wearing my sneakers every day. YAY for repurposing 90s fashion! I honestly liked 90s fashion…I know I'm probably nuts, but I liked the dark colors. Not the mustard yellows but the blacks and the lengths and the style. We had finally rid ourselves of shoulder pads and outrageous neon and super bold but not sassy colors when we stepped into the 90s.You know…I honestly have just been jonesing for a pair of clunky black shoes that I used to own. (Not that your shoes are clunkly, I'm just reminiscing inspired by your 90s era {now vintage?} dress.)I'm tired, ignore me nao.

  5. Love this black and gray ensemble, but that's probably no big surprise coming from me. I want one of these long cardigan type numbers so badly, but I can't decide what style to go with, and I don't have time to shop, so I'll just keep admiring everyone else's from afar!Just wanted to pop over to say hello to all three of you, too since I haven't commented in a while. Seems like you guys are as busy as I am, but I am glad there's been a little time for fun!-Liz

  6. C: Love the cat socks. Love. 'Em. How the heck did you post a tag in a comment? You're like a tech genius. Also, consultation coming soon.Deja: Thanks!AFtK; Thanks – and welcome back!SU: Details and consultation coming soon, I promise.LHdM: See above ;)K: So true!SU: Hold the phone, woman! They're coming.A: 'Just went with the Hubs to make sure everything was in order. You know, for when we all party down next year.Sh: Yet another piece of evidence of your superhero status. And thanks!Rad: Yer too kind. Please also note: I wear a full slip under all dresses. Especially under the knits. Also, I know. It's clear I must post deets. I will do so.

  7. Um, you are making and old dress look really fabulous. I have a similar tshirt dress that I thrifted but haven't made look fabulous. I will try my best to do a "A Dubs" inspired outfit, soon.On a possibly sleazy note, you're looking slammin' hot in these shots. You have one of those enviable bodies made for knits.Like the others, I want some details on LV. And photos, or it didn't happen.

Leave a Reply

