Costuming

What a day Stylenation. It’s been one of those days that is both crazy busy and personally unproductive. I met with a grad student to talk him through revisions of an article he’s doing for a special issue I’m co-editing for a journal. I taught. I met with a reading group to discuss a book I’d only partially read (ie. the introduction). I “impressed” the mini-FR with my musical stylings in the car by belting along to this and this repeatedly. It’s decided to return to the high 80s/low 30s. As a result I got very little of my own work done. Though as this mostly meant grading, I’m of two minds about this.
But, most importantly, I participated in one of my grad student’s defense of their comprehensive exams. This is the first time I’ve been on this side of it which, while infinitely better, was still pretty stressful. It’s the kind of moment where that good ol’ academic standby–the fraud complex–kicked in double-time. So, to counteract this, I was particularly conscious of my costuming. I wanted to perform “professor” with particular clarity today. This is what I ended up with (my apologies for the inferior picture quality–things just didn’t want to co-operate):
Faux-wrap top: Joe Fresh
White T-shirt: Gap Outlet
Grey, pin-striped pants: Target
Purple flats: Joe Fresh
Lucite necklace: Super sale at Anthropologie


Here are the accessories with a little more detail:


Is there any day that Stevie Nicks can’t make better, even just a little? How’s everyone else feeling about it being the end of October?

17 thoughts on “Costuming

  1. I agree with Anne. You are looking great in those pants. And I wish I could wear beautiful gems like this. Sorry your day was super busy but couldn't grade (mine too, and I've been a zombie since I got home). What is with this weather? It's in the mid 70s in NYC. Congrats to your student (and for the journal that you're editing. Dr. E-Jo, professional big shot!)

  2. I am playing some Nicks in my office right now (with the door closed). And as soon as my colleague (finally) leaves for the day, there is going to be some belting out of emotive tunes.

  3. Anne: I think this might only be the 2nd time I've worn pants on the blog. Mostly this is just because it's been so bloody hot here that wearing tubes of fabric on my legs seems like a bad choice. I'm looking forward to seeing your gray pants & colorful flats. Also, thanks for the Bird and the Bee suggestion! Fashionoverfifty: I used to be right there with you on November. But I moved south and now November is more like September, weather-wise, making it much more appealing. It's still a stupidly crazy month in the term though.Rad: I feel like moving to IPF South has made me talk about the weather way more than I used to but good lord it's ridiculous here. Send some of your mid-70s weather here please! Or, better yet, I should be in NYC rather than where I'm at…A-Dubs: Stevie Nicks is all sorts of awesome to sing along with (trust me, be glad you've never heard me sing — I have an AWFUL voice) mostly because there's so much emoting to do. It's good times. LHdM: Thanks! Though sadly, I've taken far too many night off from grading this set of response papers so today has to be a bit of a grading blitz. SU: Thanks! I hadn't noticed that Rad and I were color-twins today but you're totally right. IoBM: Thanks! I love that necklace too. I got it 50% off at Anthropologie which makes me love it even more. The only thing is that I find to be a whole lotta necklace so I'm not always sure what to pair it with.Sheila: October is pretty rad. What with our respective births to make it particularly awesome. The world should totally thank us.DM: In my (very limited) experience, having grad students is a bit of a mixed bag. Lots of them are really great & do interesting work but it's also a lot of extra work that can mostly sidetrack your own work. Also, I totally thought of your love of plastic jewelry that looks like candy when I bought this.

  4. You look fab, which is only an outward manifestation of your supreme and inherent professionalism and smarty-pants-ness. I wish I had grad students. Sort of. More importantly, that is an amazing necklace. I have a deep fondness for plastic jewellery that looks sort of like candy.

  5. This is a terrific outfit. I love everything about it. The black/grey/purple beautiful lucite necklace love oh so fab.Did you notice Rad wore the same colors when she rocked her prof outfit today? Interesting…

  6. p.s. You are hard core. I guarantee that you were profesh and on top of things in all parts of today. I know this because that is how you roll. (Well, except for the singing. I don't know about the singing. That is new to me.)

  7. Sweet buckets of awesome, Dude! Your inaugural pants-post is, well, awesome. And that lucite necklace is sweet. I hadn't considered the medicinal qualities of Stevie Nicks until exactly this moment. I shall test it in the car tomorrow morning. Maybe that'll help with the whole end-of-October thing. Seriously, the next time we look up, it's going to be end-of-term (i.e. the most wonderful time of the year).

  8. I agree with Anne. You are looking great in those pants. And I wish I could wear beautiful gems like this. Sorry your day was super busy but couldn't grade (mine too, and I've been a zombie since I got home). What is with this weather? It's in the mid 70s in NYC. Congrats to your student (and for the journal that you're editing. Dr. E-Jo, professional big shot!)

  9. Have we seen you wearing pants before? Because your legs look fantastic in these pants! I have some gray striped pants and colorful flats too, so I'll have to do an E-Jo copycat day sometime soon :)Music helps everyday! I've been listening to Bird and the Bee's interpretations of Hall & Oates all week, which has definitely put me in a better mood. And I'm excited for some Halloween fun this weekend, but otherwise not ready for it to be November already. Eek!

Leave a Reply

