Get out of my dreams. And into my car.

This is not a Hallowe’en costume.  

This is what I wore to a department 80s dance party.

(Yes, we have those here.)

Strapless Brocade Dress: Tripp
Lace Fingerless Gloves: made out of knee-highs
Tights: Marks and Spencer
Pink Socks: ski socks from MEC
Pink High Tops: Bensimon
Plastic necklace and bracelets: Tarina Tarantino mostly
Hair (not pictured): Pink
80s ethos: I was born with it
There I am in action in the far left corner.  My fringe was dyed pink and I tied a big floppy bow around my head.  There was a lot of professorial fashion going on.  Not a lot of rhythm.
This is what I wore to another department 80s dance party.  
(Yes, we have more than one.)



Tie-dyed T-shirt: American Apparel, altered Flashdance-styles by me
Pink Cami: no idea but it kept riding up and exposing my belly-button, 80s-style
Spangled Dip-dyed Skirt: from Winners
Boots: Elle
Boob-highlighting necklace: gift from A-Dubs (of course)
Bangles: actually from the 80s
Hair (not pictured): by Final Net
Inspiration: Pat Benetar and her taxi dancer posse in the “Love is a Battlefield” video
Fun Fact: My colleague’s wife and I were able to perfectly replicate the menacing dance-off from the video.  Yes, it was awesome.  No, there aren’t pictures.

Sometimes the pressure of that ticking tenure clock just gets to be too much and you have to bust a move to Billy Ocean (possibly the worst lyricist ever) and New Order (possibly the best band ever).  I’m lucky to have colleagues, with DJ equipment and close ties to the local dive bar, who understand this.

Hallowe’en won’t be happening here at IPF, Eastern Division because I have to edit an article (due Monday), mark 60 mid-terms (to hand back Monday) and write a lecture on the Summoner’s Tale (which asks the age-old question, “What is the best way to divide a fart?” for Monday’s class).  No Hallowe’en for the wicked.

Do you still dress up for Hallowe’en?  Sheila does!  
Do you need it to be Hallowe’en to dress up?  I don’t. 


(What is the best way to divide a fart?  You’re wondering about this now, aren’t you?)

17 thoughts on “Get out of my dreams. And into my car.

  1. These outfits are so totally awesome! You look so much better than I ever did in the 80's. Although to my credit, I wasn't doing my own shopping at the time, so I couldn't help it. One of my friends was saying last night that she wants to have an 80's party for her birthday next year so I'll be looking to you for inspiration 🙂

  2. Oh D-Med, thanks for the retrospective. And OMG, the Pat Benetar dance, I swear I practiced it so much I ruined my shoulder for a good month. The 80s, so bad that they're good, so good they will never go away. Yay.

  3. Two this year. but one per academic year: one in March, one in September. One of my colleagues bought DJ equipment when he got tenure so I think it may become a thing. Of course, I'm pretty much tapped out of 80s outfits-from-my-closet so I hope that we are going to expand to other decades. All of my dance moves are from the 80s, though. That's just how I roll.There is a manuscript image for Chaucer's solution to the fart conundrum. It's very clever. Because, you know, he's Chaucer.

  4. Man, certainly no 80s dance parties in my department. There's only a "Holiday" lunch that is booze-free — something which, frankly, diminishes the whole point of the holiday party in my mind. If there is no free booze, what is the point? That said, there was a seven-layer dip in the shape of the state I live in. It had about seven layers of awesome. Also, even if we had 80s dance parties, I couldn't possibly hope to live up to the standard you've set.

  5. Two this year. but one per academic year: one in March, one in September. One of my colleagues bought DJ equipment when he got tenure so I think it may become a thing. Of course, I'm pretty much tapped out of 80s outfits-from-my-closet so I hope that we are going to expand to other decades. All of my dance moves are from the 80s, though. That's just how I roll.There is a manuscript image for Chaucer's solution to the fart conundrum. It's very clever. Because, you know, he's Chaucer.

  6. Seriously, there've been two? Since the beginning of term, or are we including last year's partay?Either way, you do eighties parties like nobody's business. In response to your (via Chaucer) final query: there were lentils in last night's supper here at IPF North, so I've been pondering answers all day. And rehearsing the "Battlefield" dance-off. And marking from now until Kingdom come. As one does.

  7. These outfits are so totally awesome! You look so much better than I ever did in the 80's. Although to my credit, I wasn't doing my own shopping at the time, so I couldn't help it. One of my friends was saying last night that she wants to have an 80's party for her birthday next year so I'll be looking to you for inspiration 🙂

  8. Oh D-Med, thanks for the retrospective. And OMG, the Pat Benetar dance, I swear I practiced it so much I ruined my shoulder for a good month. The 80s, so bad that they're good, so good they will never go away. Yay.

  9. Your department is obviously a million times cooler than mine, and mine's not half bad. I love both outfits, although the sauciness of the first one gives it a bit of an edge (I have a soft spot though for the gypsy vibe of the second one). I am back from a big rally in DC so tomorrow is a quiet day here at TCC Northeast. Enjoy your Sunday and thanks for sharin'!

  10. That is too too bad, Charlotte. The 90s were much more boring than the 80s, fashionably speaking.And I do believe it's rare for there to be two 80s-themed dance parties in the space of a year, but we are a mostly young faculty desperately seeking tenure and we seem to need an outlet. It is actually an inter-department event open to non-academics too (except I don't know any non-academics here), but its genesis is in the English department. Probably because we rock.

  11. Wow. I can't even imagine…I completely missed the 80s. I had a baby, then got a three-year-and-out teaching job, then a tenure-track job. When I looked up again, it was 1993.

  12. Man, my department NEVER has 80s dance parties. Everyone just goes home to their young (or cats, or aging parents) at night if they're not working like workaholic dorks. Jealous!

Leave a Reply

