NSFW: The Vegas Report

As previously noted, I recently spent a weekend in Vegas. As requested, the report that follows details some key moments from this trip.

Night/outfit #1: Drinks & Dinner

We flew in on Friday, changed like lightning, then met the Hubs’s friend S and his lovely partner N for drinks and dinner. We see S & N about once a year, so we’ve a LOT of catching up and playing to do when we meet. This was our second meeting in Vegas. And we got a LOT done.

Sartorially, I was most excited about this first ensemble. I picked up the tunic at Winners the day before we left (Vegas requires sparkly things), and I planned to style it by following V’s skin-to-clothing ratio, but modifying it for evening, not workwear (see this and other excellent sartorial rules to live by at this Grit & Glamour post).
I bought the tunic in XL because the medium wasn’t long enough (possibly because it’s a shirt, not a tunic). In retrospect, however, I find this outfit to be the least exciting of the three. The tunic is doing that thing tunics tend to do: eliminating all curves and turning me into a puffy rectangle. In the mirror the night before we flew, and again the first night in Vegas, I perceived curves. But the camera says no, and that sucketh.
Sequin tunic: Forever Fashion (via Winners)
Leggings: [label rubbed off] (via Winners)
OTK boots: France Mode (remixed)
Wristlet/clutch: Mat&Nat
Let’s pretend it’s nighttime. After all, that’s when I wore it.
Hmm. ‘More sparkle, but still no real shape. . .
Wise StyleNation, I turn to you for counsel once again: how can this sparkly tunic/top thingy work in future? Or is it a lost cause?

Night/outfit #2: Buffett Ridiculousness
Regular concerts don’t do it for me. Also, I despise stadium concerts because I can’t see anything good, and then the sound disappears into the rafters, then comes back down to bounce off the concrete walls, so I can’t hear anything good either. But it was the A-Dubs-Hubs’s birthday, and he and S share a love of Jimmy Buffett music. The lovely N is a much better sport about this ridiculous preference than I am. I tried to follow her example on this evening.
In the interests of good sportiness, I agreed to go to dinner at Margaritaville, Jimmy Buffett’s restaurant (it’s a chain, for pete’s sake), before heading to the arena/stadium down the street for the concert. Thankfully, the margaritas over dinner were strong, and the bikini-clad woman who slides down a fake volcano into a giant margarita glass once every hour at this classy establishment appeared to have the night off.
Thinking about the concert we attended, the reason for which this whole Vegas trip was undertaken, inspires fatigue. Depression even. Maybe I’ll just sit down for a minute. . .
Studded pleather & viscose top: Sejis J (via Winners)
Skinny jeans: Revolt (via Winners)
Studded pointy Vegas walking shoes: Fugitive de Francesco Rossi (remixed)
Faux-wine & glass: included to recall multiple debilitatingly strong margaritas consumed pre-concert in effort to will self into Buffett-concert mindset (didn’t work); bonus side effect: giant nap during concert
Moving on: this ensemble breaks my recently-developed rule prohibiting the wearing of jeans and t-shirts out at night. But I dressed down a wee bit anyway as I was told that Buffett concerts are super-casual affairs.
As it turns out, I was still over-dressed. Or under-dressed, depending on your perspective. After all, I was not wearing a toy shark or parrot as a hat; and I was not dressed as a pirate (or a “sexy pirate wench” – whatever that is); nor was I – like many of the shit-faced soft-bodied middle-aged straight white men in attendance – wearing a grass skirt, fake-coconut bra, 16 plastic leis, and a straw hat with blinking lights threaded through it. (please note: neither the Hubs nor S was thus costumed; probably they would also disavow any association with middle-age and soft-bodiedness)
A-Dubs to N: “Seriously? It’s like a Jimmy Buffett-lead cult.”
N to A-Dubs: “Yes. It’s kind of great that they’re so into it. But it’s also kind of sad, if you think about it. ‘All these people dreaming of a better life, but not actually having it.”

Moving on once more.

Can you tell I’ve a new pointy-sided chin-length bob? It’s inspired by N’s awesome style. (Except hers is curly and blond.) I was tired of long hair. I don’t have the time to take care of or style it, so I just wore it up every day. And my face really needs a hair frame.
The jacket pictured below, and the clutch pictured above were involved with this outfit, too.
Also, tall shoes would be better here, no? But this night involved a LOT of walking. I can handle EITHER concert-related OR shoe-related discomfort. Not both. The concert rage discomfort was inevitable; the flat shoes were, therefore, an additional inevitability.
Earrings: The Bay

I keep forgetting to pose with – not drink from – the wine glass. Each time I sip in these photos, the grape juice creates disappointment. And yet, I keep lifting the glass through sheer force of habit.

Night/outfit #3: Tapas, “Love,” Dinner
By far my favourite of the three Vegas nights, this evening saw our happy crew drinking champers over early-evening tapas, then attending “Love,” the Cirque de Soleil show inspired by The Beatles music (a show in which, I’m told, the indomitable Yoko Ono had a creative hand, as this brilliant woman owns the rights to a number of Beatles tunes), then talking into the wee hours over late-night dinner and drinks.

(Still drinking, not posing. Kind of like drowning, not waving.)






















Items in this sequence were much smoother when they appeared in Vegas. Today, they’re fresh out of my (just-now-unpacked) suitcase. I do not iron things I’m not wearing into the (real) world.















Blazer: Mexx
Green silk blouse: Banana Republic (gifted from Designer Shoe Whore two xmases ago)
Skinny pants: Mexx (remixed)
Kitten heels (the only ones that have EVER worked for me): Moda (via Shoe Heaven)















Dangly earrings: The Bay
Bunch of bracelets: The Bay (remixed)

In short and to sum up, StyleNation, we should go to Vegas, wear sparkly things, be merry, and take piles of photos doing it all. I had a great time with the crew last weekend; but you and I both know that together, we could make a party bomb.


27 thoughts on “NSFW: The Vegas Report

  1. yeah, right! you drinking grape juice??? sure!in all seriousness, i think that sequin tunic will look great outside Vegas as well.I like the pattern on it, looks tribal (i've noticed someone suggested wearing tribal jewelry with it). I like how they pair sequin items with jeans now… I think my black sequin top and sweats combo did not quite work. maybe too much of contrast. but jeans probably would have been ok.

  2. yeah, right! you drinking grape juice??? sure!in all seriousness, i think that sequin tunic will look great outside Vegas as well.I like the pattern on it, looks tribal (i've noticed someone suggested wearing tribal jewelry with it). I like how they pair sequin items with jeans now… I think my black sequin top and sweats combo did not quite work. maybe too much of contrast. but jeans probably would have been ok.

  3. So, it's all excellent news here. My ensembles pass your inspection, you've provided some awesome solutions/suggestions for the tunic issue, and we're well on our way to planning the Vegas awesomeness. How much better could this discussion get?Also, janey, you are doing a poor job of leaving past Vegas shenanigans in Vegas! Keep it up, and I suspect D-Med will administer a pounding. That said, everyone who wants in for Vegas should, I think, be IN!

  4. Did I hear someone say VEGAS? (I typed VEGANS, but I am SO not in for that.)I have all the sequins a girl could want and a credit card with which to purchase more. If you let me come, I promise not to bump my head on a toilet in Camelot.

  5. You already know I'm in for Vegas if at all possible.I really like the sparkly tunic and think you look hawt hawt, yet I also like many of the styling suggestions offered here. The studded pointies in outfit 2 are adorable, though ensemble 3 is my fave. I love that emerald green on you.Buffett? NO. Buffet? Oh yes.I too request a picture of the haircut.

  6. Ooh, heart all the outfits. While I am excited about a Style Nation LV trip (please can we do karaoke?) I'm still scratching my head about the sheer numbers of Cannucks that I've met who seem to LURVE Las Vegas. I went to a bday party full of Toronto transplants and they also loved Vegas. I also met folks in BC who liked Vegas. Is it just sheer magic?I love a tunic, and I know they are tricky on us long bodies. My tip is is the wear the tightest, closest fitting bottoms and some killer heels with something that is more looser fitting on top. Those boots are magic but they add some bulk to th bottom half, but no length. That said, I still think it's a smokin' outfit and in no need of modification.You manage to look smoking hot in the t-shirt in jeans.

  7. Okay, then Buffet Ridiculousness for E-Jo and my birthdays then! I'm just saying I would be willing to throw that out there if we actually need an excuse to go. Which we probably don't.But I must start looking for sequined things…

  8. Thanks for the shout, A-Dubs, but I beg to differ…outfit one is still HOTNESS! The boots! You don't look like a puffy rectangle. Love the bob and your shirt in outfit 3. Gorgeous. And amen, sista, we would shut Vegas down! Tell me when we're going to (seriously!) organize a StyleNation blogger event there. It's close to Beverly too. You know the winter rates are dirt cheap! I'm in like Flynn.β™₯ V http://www.gritandglamour.comtwitter: @gritandglamour

  9. Am in love, serious love that hurts and feels good at the same time, with the studded t-shirt. The green blouse is splendid too. You undersell yourself in the tunic – it's very flattering. Would it be as useful over a long sleeve tee? I think it would, keeping stylish company with a pencil skirt and boots. I'm going to Las Vegas, on purpose, next February. Until now I was thinking of the thrift stores & deserts but you've changed that: Me. Bikini woman. Slide. Volcano. Margarita glass. EVERY HOUR. Sigh.

  10. #3 outfit is very, very cool. What an incredible shade of blue on that shirt.Tunics do sort of round one out, don't they? But they're such good sports. Yours looks good with the jacket in the second photo. Provides some shape.

  11. First, business.OMG HOT Tunic/tank. It reminds me of V when she went to Gaga…go to JCrew and check out how they style sequined tanks for further use.Second night, terrific blouse AND hair. I was wondering if you cut it. Otherwise, you lost me at Jimmy Buffet.I think the shoes on the third night were daring with that outfit, which is beyond cool.Thanks for the details. It sound like hubs and you had a great time although, StyleNation and you would have a better time. (I know you know this.)So, Vegas….I'm in.

  12. Buffet Ridiculousness is also a large part of Vegas. Seriously. I once ate from a mound of cooked, peeled shrimp at the Bellagio that was bigger than me. By a lot.Um, I don't think you will be "donating" your birthday, I think we will be celebrating it there. I'm just saying.

  13. Just spitballin' here but my 30th is ALSO next year. And buffet ridiculousness sounds like a good theme. To be clear, not the kind of Buffett ridiculousness of this most recent trip. Your hair is making me seriously consider returning to the chin length bob even if my plan was to grow it out right now…

  14. I was so hoping that there was a typo for Outfit #2, and that what you really meant was Buffet Ridiculousness. Now THAT is my kind of trip.And what I can see of your hair looks cute! I'm a huge fan of a bob haircut, and I'm considering making mine even shorter because I'm annoyed with my hair even at this length. Can we be hair twins?And seriously, when are we doing Vegas? I don't mind donating my 30th birthday for the trip next year. I'm just saying.

  15. You are SO RIGHT about this:"Vegas requires sparkly things", and you rocked the hell out of your mission. I like all three outfits, and I love that you were able to do shiny bond-girl sexy in walkable shoes. The key to not hating Vegas is walkable shoes. That and buying liquor at the corner store so as not to get gouged on the hotel liquor prices. Maybe that's not so much a key as something that cheap Kansans do. πŸ™‚

  16. Everything, absolutely everything is awesome! My favorite is the green silky shirt. It's just gorgeous. The color is stunning!I also have to show love to the neckline of your pleather studded shirt! That is GORG! So after keeping up with y'all, but still not getting it through my t-shirt fogged brain, what do you mean by remixed? I gotta learn your fashion-academic vocabulary!

  17. Dude, what about a short-ish pencil skirt, wooly tights and a cropped blazer with #1? And knee high boots or heeled oxfords. Man, I need to get all of those things. Wait. I *want* to get all of those things.I'm really glad you didn't cave to Buffett-dressing. Except for the lost photo opportunity that a coconut bra invites.And I second E-Jo on the pointy bob. I'm dying to see it.

  18. * LHdM: Good point. I'm sure we could come up with a solution. The togetherness requires it!* E-Jo: Good idea about the belting. I'll give it a try, but then I'll probably have to wear real pants instead of leggings. Also, as soon as I can take a photo that doesn't make me nauseous, I'll send it. In the mean time, I like that you like what you can see!* C: I like your suggestions and will try them all asap. Also, no. No, I can't.* R: Thanks, woman! And yes, yes it is. Maybe TOO MUCH fun.

  19. I like that first top. It looks like low-rent assuit (which is a special, awesome metal-worked middle eastern fabric). Its only problem is that it is a wide strap tank top of the kind that looks flattering on no one, IMO. Have the straps taken up by like 1/2 inch (or pin them up at the shoulder seam, that's what I do with unflatteringly deep-armholed tank things) and then wear it with a longsleeve fishnet shrug and some impressive tribal jewelry. Or wear a drapey cardigan or a cropped jacket over it to give it some shape, it looked fine in the second picture.Can you believe I've never once been to Vegas?

  20. Dude, you need to send me a non-face cropped picture of your new hair IMMEDIATELY 'cause, from what I can see in these pictures, it looks AWESOME. And yes, that's a lot of typographic shouting, but I need to impress on you a sense of urgency.Also, these outfits are fabulous. That shirt from outfit #2 is amazing. And I love the emerald green on you. I wonder, in terms of the tunic, if you could belt it? It looks like there's a pattern on it so that might make it difficult — though it's hard to tell in the picture.

Leave a Reply

