Someone’s Got a Case of the Novembers

Today certainly felt like a typical November day. It was cold and rainy here. Well, probably not actually cold. But it felt cold in comparison to the unseasonably warm weather we’ve been having here in IPF South. Plus it’s getting to that time of year where I head to work in the dark and come home in the dark. Thank goodness for the daylight savings time that’s fast approaching that will give me a few glorious weeks of getting up in daylight rather than the pitch dark.
The grim election realities certainly didn’t help alleviate the dreariness. But my undergrads were (surprisingly) adept at connecting election ads & coverage with Walter Benjamin’s “The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction” this morning, which warmed my heart in this reddest of red states.
In an attempt to celebrate the cooler weather & simultaneously brighten my day a little, I put together a long unused turtleneck and a bright, summery dress that I got right at the end of August. I haven’t really had a chance to wear the dress yet as it’s not really teaching appropriate without layering so that was mildly exciting. I have to say, though, I felt like the end result didn’t quite work for me. I’m not really sure why. Maybe it was the concentration of brown (eagle-eyed readers will notice that the ends of my hair more or less blend into my shirt)? I normally love brown though. I also don’t love the silver necklace with this combination either but at 6:30 in the morning it seemed like the only tenable option. Also, yes, my legs were freezing but the only tights I seem to have currently are black which didn’t seem like the right choice.
Dress: Old Navy super clearance sale (seriously, I paid $5 for it)
Turtleneck: Eddie Bauer Outlet
Brown suede flats: Joe Fresh, formerly had a little plastic squiggle on the toe but the mini-FR decided to eat both of them. Fortunately he left the suede-y goodness alone.
Anyone got tips for bolder layering options? How are you making it through this dreary month so far (God help us, it’s only the 3rd)?

20 thoughts on “Someone’s Got a Case of the Novembers

  1. Pseu: Thanks! I was totally going to wear it with my 70s-ish wedges but wanted something with a closed toe. If I decide to play up the 60s/70s vibe to it, I'll totally have to go with them!A-Dubs: Dude, clearly you're on top of this. I think all of these sound like good suggestions. I've got my eye on some brown boot action but it depends on how much I can keep to a budget this month. Ack. Also, for the most part, the mini-FR leaves the shoes alone (though they have been moved out of his mouth-range now), this was just a weird-and irritating-exception. SFE: Slips are a good idea. I should totally look into those. I would typically wear this with a cami underneath but there's something about the ruffle sleeves that make it seem less covered to me. I realize now that the sleeve ruffles aren't super clear in these pictures.LHdM: Unfortunately, I LOVE a turtleneck under a v-cut dress typically so you'll see a lot more of this genre of layering! Cynthia: An E-Jo copycat outfit?? What an honor! I really like this dress too but I feel like I need to tinker with it more in terms of styling. A wide scoop neck might do just the trick. I'm also thinking about a turtleneck with more of a cowl neck.

  2. I'm on Team Boots too! I was totally going to say boots or tights or boots and tights because a turtleneck with bare legs seems somehow counterintuitive to me, but Style Underdog and KellyBean beat me to it. I like Cynthia's suggestion of a scoopier neckline, and maybe a three-quarter sleeve; then the flats and bare rippling calves would work better.Still, I love these colours on you. Also, brown boots!

  3. I actually don't mind the silver beads on top of the brown and pink palette. I think you're layering works just fine, but if you want to try something different have you thought aboutinvesting in a few slips? If you're worried about the decollatage, slips are a great way to provide another inch or two of coverage underneath and then you can wear a cardi over. I wear a slip at least once a week (This is my favorite one: www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=322356&CategoryID=40579#fn=sp%3D1%26spc%3D8). That black material that peaks out from underneath my dresses on FA? It's usually a slip. I can't tell you how much I love them–they add a layer without bulk and, unlike layering a shirt under a dress, they never bunch up around the waist/hips.And props on getting the students to use criticism to think through their world.

  4. I think I should write turtleneck = boots on the wall over my mirror. I actually like the turtleneck and v-neck combination but agree that some leg coverage would balance this out a bit more. Not that your legs don't look great! TIghts may provide cheaper options.As for accessories, what about a longish largish seventies-vibe pendant?

  5. fwiw: boots was my 1st thot. also, something over – cardi, jean jacket, blazer (the last could be hardest to pulloff due to the colors/feminine nature of dress. but it'll hide the ruffles, which will make it easier…).i really like all those colors together on you, esp. with the silver accent. steph

  6. I agree with Rosie that I'd opt for a sweater over the dress rather than under. And boots, or brown tights, would be nice.I love November. It's not a problem to get through. What I have trouble with is July.

  7. I quite like this look, but you might what to try putting something over the dress. Sometimes a sweater under the dress feels a bit school girl-ish. I highly recommend a post by Sal of Already Pretty on the subject, it's from a while back but very useful.I'm afraid I can't find it right now, but it's somewhere on her blog.

  8. I'm on Team Boots too! I was totally going to say boots or tights or boots and tights because a turtleneck with bare legs seems somehow counterintuitive to me, but Style Underdog and KellyBean beat me to it. I like Cynthia's suggestion of a scoopier neckline, and maybe a three-quarter sleeve; then the flats and bare rippling calves would work better.Still, I love these colours on you. Also, brown boots!

  9. I think I should write turtleneck = boots on the wall over my mirror. I actually like the turtleneck and v-neck combination but agree that some leg coverage would balance this out a bit more. Not that your legs don't look great! TIghts may provide cheaper options.As for accessories, what about a longish largish seventies-vibe pendant?

  10. I have this exact same dress! But something about the colors didn't work right for me, so it's been hiding in the basement with all my other extra clothes. I'm so jealous that it looks so awesome on you.If you did end up with some brown boots, I think they'd be perfect with this dress. And maybe some off-white tights?And I love that mini-FR left the shoes in-tact but at the decorations. Jude's a fan of eating accessories too. They have so much in common. Maybe they can hang out while we all go to Vegas.

  11. Boots. Brown or cognac colored boots to balance out the lack of skin on top. Yes, turtleneck=boots. As for November, I LOVE November! It's my birthday month therefore I'm very biased.Ok, looked at the photo again, boots.

  12. I think it's very cute, but something about all the brown on top is a little overpowering (maybe because the straps are then and the bust is cut low?) While the outfit is cute, and I do like the contrast of the silver, a cami under the dress and a blazer over it might up the awesomeness just a bit. I also agree that your legs are looking great.Yeay for your students being cute and smart today.

  13. Pseu: Thanks! I was totally going to wear it with my 70s-ish wedges but wanted something with a closed toe. If I decide to play up the 60s/70s vibe to it, I'll totally have to go with them!A-Dubs: Dude, clearly you're on top of this. I think all of these sound like good suggestions. I've got my eye on some brown boot action but it depends on how much I can keep to a budget this month. Ack. Also, for the most part, the mini-FR leaves the shoes alone (though they have been moved out of his mouth-range now), this was just a weird-and irritating-exception. SFE: Slips are a good idea. I should totally look into those. I would typically wear this with a cami underneath but there's something about the ruffle sleeves that make it seem less covered to me. I realize now that the sleeve ruffles aren't super clear in these pictures.LHdM: Unfortunately, I LOVE a turtleneck under a v-cut dress typically so you'll see a lot more of this genre of layering! Cynthia: An E-Jo copycat outfit?? What an honor! I really like this dress too but I feel like I need to tinker with it more in terms of styling. A wide scoop neck might do just the trick. I'm also thinking about a turtleneck with more of a cowl neck.

  14. The dress length and the shape of the skirt are great on you, and I love the pattern and colors. I'm super conservative about deep Vs and bra showage (or going without) so I rarely wear dresses like that, but seeing how good the layering looks here make me wonder if I could pull it off. In fact…hmmm, I think I just thought of an E-Jo copycat outfit! Try a wide scoop neck under there and see what happens. You're right about the hair blending into your turtleneck. Overall though I think it was a good look on you and the brown top made the summer dress all autumn-y.

  15. I actually don't mind the silver beads on top of the brown and pink palette. I think you're layering works just fine, but if you want to try something different have you thought aboutinvesting in a few slips? If you're worried about the decollatage, slips are a great way to provide another inch or two of coverage underneath and then you can wear a cardi over. I wear a slip at least once a week (This is my favorite one: www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=322356&CategoryID=40579#fn=sp%3D1%26spc%3D8). That black material that peaks out from underneath my dresses on FA? It's usually a slip. I can't tell you how much I love them–they add a layer without bulk and, unlike layering a shirt under a dress, they never bunch up around the waist/hips.And props on getting the students to use criticism to think through their world.

  16. I'm with Pseu: I like this. I like it A LOT. You look awesome. And I think the silver necklace brings it all together and makes it totally current. In other news, your legs are looking super shapely and awesome, too. In still other news, it's both hilarious and frustrating that the Mini-FR is into shoe nibbling. I'm impressed that he left the leather alone in favour of the shoe accessories. What a wiener he is. In terms of other options, what if you did the black? As in, black t, black tights, etc? Or what if you wore a cami in whatever colour, added a chain-link long necklace, then layered a denim blazer – or maybe a black or navy wrap cardigan – over top? Also, some nearly-knee-high brown bootage – possibly in suede, like the shoes pictured here – would be awesome with this dress on you, I think. In short and to sum up: I love this dress. It looks awesome as you've styled it. It's fun for me to imagine other combinations instead of writing tomorrow's lectures.

Leave a Reply

