Copycat Outfit: Style Underdog Redux

The most excellent, edgy, and Forbes Magazinerecommended (go to page 2) Style Underdog recently did a series of Bada$$ copycat outfits. She then invited us, her faithful followers, to do some copycats of our own. I’m a little late to the party, but it’s too awesome a challenge to pass up. So, here goes.

In the final minutes of October, SU created this great look. And I thought, “Hang on, I’ve got a LOT of those things, too.” Then, this happened – on one of the last days before daylight savings gave us back the morning light:

Slightly clearer photos coming up. This one’s included because I couldn’t get the collar area into the indoor shots.

Blouse: Jacob (remixed)
Wrap wool sweater: Banana Republic (very old)
Jade & gold necklace: gifted from A-Dubs-Hubs
Pencil skirt: Jacob (remixed; purchased on shopping trip with Janey Emm)
Hose: Hue
Outdoor shoes: Liz Claiborne (remixed, then switched out because they were pinching)
Indoor shoes: Clarks Artisan (remixed)

‘Slightly better view of the necklace in this shot.

Sadly, I’ve no crazy-cool peep-toe booties; so my ensemble scales SU’s edge back significantly. That said, I’m not sure the booties would work for me in the classroom. But I want some. And I could be convinced on this point (the wearing to teach, not the wanting – the wanting I’ve got already).

‘Your thoughts, StyleNation?

Whose style are you channelling of late? Or are you making it up as you go along?

24 thoughts on “Copycat Outfit: Style Underdog Redux

  1. There's something very old school glam about the below the knee skirt and the cute heels. I dig this. You are bringing it, sartorially. Also, I picked up a polka dot purple blouse last winter but I took it back (along with a very short dress that Style Nation said I shouldn't keep). Now I am kinda kicking myself. Also, I am on team peep toe booties. Some of my students have been wearing them (along with great flat lace up boots that are all over NY) and I have great lust.Are the shoes slightly different in the inside and outside pictures?

  2. Oooh, I really like this! I'm normally a fan of red with black and white (that's actually what I'm wearing right this second, which I'll post eventually) but I like the indoor black shoes so much better. Of course I'll vote for the booties, but remember I'm on a 30 day shopping ban right now, so I might just be enabling.

  3. I totally love this! I think the shoes are perfect, really, everything works so well! Speaking to the sex-ayness of the outfit, I think a black pencil skirt connotes The Vamp. A white pencil skirt has an unexpected freshness, especially when it's the perfect pencil length and shape.

  4. Ha! One vote for peep-toe booties! Excellent news. Also, I know the skirt needs some tailoring. It used to fit better, then last year happened and it no longer sits as close to my waist, so it has to be worn with heels or things get bad.

  5. This is gorgeous and very professorial. I don't usually like dark-on-the-top-light-on-the-bottom but you (and SU) are changing my mind. I like both pairs of shoes with this, though I'm partial to the pop of red if not the pinchiness.I don't wear peep-toes in the classroom, not even with tights. I think it might be a holdover from working in restaurants but I just don't feel like peep-toes, or sleevelessness, are appropriate on me for the classroom. I'm sort of a fancy lady that way.

  6. This is gorgeous and very professorial. I don't usually like dark-on-the-top-light-on-the-bottom but you (and SU) are changing my mind. I like both pairs of shoes with this, though I'm partial to the pop of red if not the pinchiness.I don't wear peep-toes in the classroom, not even with tights. I think it might be a holdover from working in restaurants but I just don't feel like peep-toes, or sleevelessness, are appropriate on me for the classroom. I'm sort of a fancy lady that way.

  7. I know, I'm late, but really, you are doubting yourself and the wearing of peep toe booties? Really!?! Those that pull them off are those that wear them. It's that easy. If you were to walk into my classroom with said booties I would sit up straight and pay attention. Yes I would. As for the rest of the outfit, I love it, especially the untucked factor.

  8. Shoe LOVE!!! Shoe LOVE!!! I didn't even read the whole post cuz I got to the shoes and fell in love. You had me at Shoes! Did you see her blue suede shoes – to die for!I make up style as I go. I'm not style maven. I love what I see in the stores – favorites being White House Black Market and ModCloth. I know, two total polar opposites.Honestly, I love classic styles like Katherine Hepburn's feminized men's trousers and 50's frocks.

  9. I totally love this! I think the shoes are perfect, really, everything works so well! Speaking to the sex-ayness of the outfit, I think a black pencil skirt connotes The Vamp. A white pencil skirt has an unexpected freshness, especially when it's the perfect pencil length and shape.

  10. *Katie: Really?! That's freaking awesome! Thanks for your comment!*Anne: Enabling or no, I'm counting your vote. And I like the black shoes better, too. I'd avoided them initially as they seemed too matchy-matchy. But now I'm glad I went with 'em. Also, your black and white ensemble-plus-Jude-with-ball was awesome yesterday.*KiB: Thanks! And also, yes! Another vote for the booties!*C: OK, that's alarming. Maybe we should have a very specific talk about what you ARE still willing to eat. *RiB: Thanks, woman! And yes, the shoes are different. The red ones suddenly pinch, so I rarely make it out the door in them anymore. Also, laced boots everywhere, huh? 'Interesting news. Obviously, my future peep-toe booties will be laced, then. *BBSM: Your outfit was awesome – I'm glad you like mine, too! Thanks for stopping by.*LHdM: Thanks! Also, I'm good with peep toes, sleevelessness, and bare legs in the classroom. I didn't even know the miniskirt or sweatpants teams existed. (I tend to think of shorter skirts as different from miniskirts which are, you know, "MINI". i.e. itty-bitty, teensy, wee, etc.) My concern about the booties was less about the peep toes and more about the trendy-cool factor: are they just too cool for the classroom (and me), or could I really pull them off?*Sh: I agree about the black shoes and the "visual weight" (I'm filing that phrase away for future postings). Also wooHOO! I am so rarely referred to as sexy, let along "sex-ay" that I am over-the-top thrilled to be described as such – thanks!

  11. I think this outfit is full of win!So are peep toe booties. Are you anti-open toed shoes in the classroom in general? I know some people are. I am not one of them. I'm on team open toed and team sleeveless, but I am not on team miniskirt or team sweatpants.

  12. love that on you! pencil skirts are so elegant. and especially with those shoes (both pairs are so cute). thanks for your comment on my blog. i'm honored it made made you want to bookmark for later. thanks a lot.

  13. There's something very old school glam about the below the knee skirt and the cute heels. I dig this. You are bringing it, sartorially. Also, I picked up a polka dot purple blouse last winter but I took it back (along with a very short dress that Style Nation said I shouldn't keep). Now I am kinda kicking myself. Also, I am on team peep toe booties. Some of my students have been wearing them (along with great flat lace up boots that are all over NY) and I have great lust.Are the shoes slightly different in the inside and outside pictures?

  14. Heh. I'm still in Biloxi. Thankfully, with no mucous, because if I had that I would be terrified that I had caught a Vibrio infection and my spleen and kidneys were liquifying. Seriously. One side effect of attending this conference? I am never swimming in warm coastal waters again. Or eating raw shellfish. Or farmed fish of any kind. Yikes.

  15. This? Is awesome. I like everything about it: the colors, the silhouette, the layering, the accessories. Ditto what Anne said re: the black shoes.Another vote for the peep-toe booties, if worn with same-color tights.

  16. Oooh, I really like this! I'm normally a fan of red with black and white (that's actually what I'm wearing right this second, which I'll post eventually) but I like the indoor black shoes so much better. Of course I'll vote for the booties, but remember I'm on a 30 day shopping ban right now, so I might just be enabling.

  17. C: Thanks! Also, check out how we posted comments at EXACTLY the same time. We are like this (I'm doing the fingers-to-eyes thing). Especially if you are also at home with a splitting headache and mucous for days.

  18. Ha! One vote for peep-toe booties! Excellent news. Also, I know the skirt needs some tailoring. It used to fit better, then last year happened and it no longer sits as close to my waist, so it has to be worn with heels or things get bad.

  19. First stop on my post-30 for 30 lifting of the shopping ban? Polka dots. Between you, SU, Kendi and a style-y colleague, polka-dot inspired wanting is pretty hardcore here in IPF South. I think you could teach in peep-toe booties. Probably not on the first day of class, but I think they give an outfit a bit of edge that says "don't mess with me." And with black tights, the peep-toe-ness of them would be mitigated. I know there are some people who are pretty anti-peeptoes-in-the-classroom. I am not one of them though (within reason though, obvy).I wonder if this outfit might be even more bada$$ if you hemmed/ hiked up that skirt a smidge to show some knee (or hint of knee)? You're tall enough that you don't look stumpy as-is though.

Leave a Reply

