30 for 30 Week 2

Wow, what a lame title for today’s post. My apologies, Style Nation. I’ll try to do better next time. I offer pictures that include the mini-FR as penance.
Today’s post is a little later than I had planned as, inspired by Anne and Karl Weathers (I tried to find clips from him on Arrested Development where he talks about making a stew. No dice), I decided that today was just cold enough to make stew. So while that’s bubbling away, here’s what I’ve been wearing the last couple of days.
Sweater: Gap
Striped tank: Addition-Elle
Skirt: Old Navy
Ubiquitous Gold Flats: Nine West
Tights: Target

I really loved this outfit — though it was a bit warm for a full teaching day. I haven’t worn patterned tights since I was a child but I like them a lot as a way of broadening my horizons beyond basic black. I had big plans to not wear flats; however, I realized that morning how much my heels need the pads in them to limit toe-slippage. Once that’s taken care of, heels will be back in the 30 for 30 rotation.

Striped top: Target
Dress: Old Navy
Even more ubiquitous purple flats: Joe

This outfit was for a non-teaching day and was, more or less, a dry run for layering this dress in different ways. Next time, I’m going to throw on black tights and belt this sucker to make the darkness of the shirt less glaring against the lightness of the dress. So this wasn’t entirely successful in other words but it gave me some good ideas about where to go.

Striped turtleneck: Target
Grey pinstripe pants: Target
Bronze wedges: Etienne Aigner
Red & gold necklace: Gifted from my sister (though I’m pretty sure she got it at the Bay)

I’ve been finding this turtleneck difficult to style all of a sudden. I wore it a ton before the 30 for 30 challenge begun so it was a no-brainer to include. But since I’ve started this, I’ve planned to wear it on four or five different occasions only to change at the last minute. Hopefully, this wearing is the start of an upswing with it. Also, I’m wearing black and red in solidarity with A-Dubs (a combination I don’t wear that frequently — for instance, I love this necklace but have worn it only a handful of times).

Sweater: Joe
Tank: Hanes
Jeans: Old Navy
Gold flats: Nine West
Necklace: gifted from brother-in-law-to-be

And here’s today’s outfit. Perfect for stew-making and errand-running; not as perfect for the work I should be doing but is gathering dust instead. I’m justifying it by having worked straight through each of the previous three weekends. That’s how it works, right?

What articles of clothing are misbehaving for you? How do you get them back in line?

11 thoughts on “30 for 30 Week 2

  1. I agree with Anne- days 6, 8, and 9 are real winners. Day 7 is cute too- I like the bits of purple. But the other three outfits are knocking my socks off. Day 6 has a modern/retro "9 to 5" thing going on. Outfit 8 is quite Parisian, and outfit 9 is very IPF classic. Also, mini-FR is so cute, I made Blokey come and look (he agrees that they are very cute).Yes, spill the beans on the soup. Was a beef? Beany? I make a lot of beany soups this time of year. Split pea, dal, black bean chili, sometimes white bean cabbage. I hope that FR was excited as I am.

  2. The Mini-FR is the greatest accessory ever! Are you going to get one of those purses dogs can fit in so you can carry him around with you all of the time like you are a celebrity? Because that would be awesome.These outfits are great. My favourite is the stripy turtleneck with the 3/4 sleeves. how do you manage to not encircle your boob with that excellent necklace?

  3. Ack! I typed a comment and hit post and it just disappeared! Anyway, The gray and stripes is so chic and classy, reminds me of Audrey Hepburn. And you look fabulous in it.The last outfit is so great. I'm such a jeans girl but I really need to remember that jeans does not mean t-shirt and sneakers. It can be a cardi and chunky necklace and cute flats. It looks so great on you.

  4. A-Dubs: He's totally doing jazz paws. He's a very lyrical dog. Also, sometimes I include phrases that I now you'll particularly appreciate; "belt this sucker" was one such phrase. Glad to hear it hit its mark!Anne: I was "tempted" by hot ham water but went with a beef stew (very similar to the recipe you linked to). I feel sort of indifferent about Day 7 too — though I think I might be able to salvage it — but given that I need to come up with multiple ways to style that dress I was forced to break out of my typical routine.BBSM: Those shirts are super comfortable — I've got two, though only one included in this challenge. I'm impressed by the pet hermit crab though! Very creative!Rad: "9 to 5" AND Parisian!! Thanks — I feel unworthy! I'm glad the mini-FR love is spreading beyond the immediate boundaries of Style Nation! It wasn't beany though your list of soups is making me want to make more stew/soup things soon! The mini-FR did love the smell of braising beef.

  5. I agree with Anne- days 6, 8, and 9 are real winners. Day 7 is cute too- I like the bits of purple. But the other three outfits are knocking my socks off. Day 6 has a modern/retro "9 to 5" thing going on. Outfit 8 is quite Parisian, and outfit 9 is very IPF classic. Also, mini-FR is so cute, I made Blokey come and look (he agrees that they are very cute).Yes, spill the beans on the soup. Was a beef? Beany? I make a lot of beany soups this time of year. Split pea, dal, black bean chili, sometimes white bean cabbage. I hope that FR was excited as I am.

  6. so cute. I love that black bow on your Gap sweater and all three pairs of shoes. Just like you, I have several stirped tops from Target. Once I bought one, I was hooked and had to get more. Don't they feel baby blanket soft?Great styling on all but the first picture is my fav. And your puppy is the cutest thing ever. Too bad my hubby is allergic to most animals. Our only pet is Hermit the hermit crab. He is no fun at all. He has tricked me several times already when I thought he was dead.

  7. Did you make stew, or hot ham water? I'd go to Craft Service, get some raw veggies, bacon, Cup-A-Soup… baby, I got a stew going. (but seriously, what'd you make?)Also – mini-FR!!!I like all of your outfits, but Days 6, 8 and 9 are awesome (nothing against Day 7 really, just not my style). Day 6, wow, that cardigan is a great color for you! And it looks nice with mini-FR too. Day 8 – I have that Target striped top and a pair of gray pants, so I'm going to have to copy-cat that once the challenge is over and I'm allowed to wear said top again. And actually, Day 9 I could totally recreate too. I like how comfy Day 9 looks, but the necklace dresses it up.A-Dubs: Why can't stew-making involve drinks too? I mean, mine does.

  8. Yowza! A four-outfit post! It's a veritable feast for the eyes: coolly-styled stripes, multiple pairs of sweet and sparkly shoes, covetable necklaces (except I'm not allowed to have the black and red right now – but I enjoy our solidarity), and two ridiculously cute appearances by the Fuzzy Roommate (is he doing "jazz paws" against your coral sweater in that first pic?). Also, you managed to incorporate the awesome phrase "belt this sucker." And I agree: you should belt that sucker and show us how it goes. (I'm going to work that into some conversations this eve, too.) I can't decide which outfit I like best, but I feel compelled to choose and so I will: I choose teachy outfit 6, and relaxo outfit 9. I will also note that your stew-making ensemble is more put together than most of my "drinks with friends" outfits.

Leave a Reply

