Legs Eleven

The other day, A-Dubs debuted some excellent superhero blue tights with matching wedges, but queried the quirk of her sartorial choice.  I often match my shoes to my tights and I wonder what makes it work and, more importantly, what makes it wonky.

Tights are a staple of my F/W wardrobe.  That means now.  I know that the rest of StyleNation is experiencing unseasonably bare leg weather, but here at IPF, Eastern Division it has been raining for over a week and now that the sun has mercifully returned, it is cold.  Puffy coat weather cold.  So I swaddle my gams and bring it.

This is what I wore the very same day that A-Dubs posted about her blue legs:

Skirt: All Saints
Purple Argyle Tights: Marks & Spencer
Purple Flats: Frye
Ladypose: Kicky

My mother always told me not to wear black tights with black shoes.  I don’t know why because this very advice led to an unfortunate incident in my early twenties when I wore a black velvet dress, white lace tights, and black patent leather heels to an important awards ceremony.

I can’t believe I just told you that.  I’m totally losing my credibility as a Style Icon.

 


                                                                   

Skirt: All Saints  Black Chevron Tights: Marks & Spencer  Black Illusion Shoes: United Nude.

This outfit is a lower-half staple.  The skirt is supposed to be bunched up like that but inevitably some kind soul informs me that I am experiencing static cling.
Why doesn’t anyone realise that I am a Style Icon?
Skirt: Closet (from Joy)
Brown Wooly Tights: Warm Legwear
Brown Shoes: Zinda

Here are some other ways I wear tights:

Skirt: All Saints
Grey Tights: can’t remember but I wore them for my campus visit two years ago so now they are my Lucky Tights
Blue Suede Shoes: vintage

One pair of tights, two ways:
Skirt: Comrags
Lacy Black Tights: Marks & Spencer
Leopard Print Flats: Topshop
Wellies: Hunter

The picture on the left is what I meant to wear.  The picture on the right is what I did wear when I forgot to pack my shoes.  Nothing says professional like wearing wellies to teach in.  Especially if they are wet and punctuate your lecture with aptly-timed squelches.  
Style. Icon.
Here are some ways I wish I could wear tights but have not done so outside of this photo shoot:


Skirt: Joe Fresh (grocery store)
Multi-Coloured Stripy Wooly Tights: bought them in Madrid
Red Booties: Fly London


Too Willy Wonka?
Yes, too Willy Wonka.







Skirt: Joe Fresh
Grey Wooly Tights: Warm Legwear
Peep-toe Sandals: Swedish Has-Beens


I’m still not comfortable wearing peep-toes in the classroom.  Even if I go all Prada 2006, it’s just not how I roll.  But I sort of like this.

 

I love tights.  I love how cozy they are.  I love how they can add sass or class to any outfit.

And I especially love not having to shave my legs because I am wearing tights.
What about you, StyleNation?  Do you love tights?  
Do I love tights too much?  More importantly,  you think I’m a Style Icon, right?

26 thoughts on “Legs Eleven

  1. Pingback: Champagne Tastes: Wolford Marlene Tights | In Professorial Fashion

  2. Yes, you are indeed a style icon! And I love tights too. I like wearing skirts and dresses so much more in tights weather, probably because my legs on their own are blindingly white, regardless of how much sun exposure they get.I really like the multicolored striped tights, but I do tend to stick mostly to black, gray and more muted tones myself. It's probably weird that my legs are the one place I don't want a ton of bright colors.And I also recommend office shoes (you're right, Rad!). I have at least 4 or 5 pairs of black shoes in my bottom desk drawer that my co-workers like to make fun of me about. They're older, so now I just use them as back-up pairs if I forget to pack a pair or if my bag is too full of work-related stuff to fit shoes too.

  3. I also have blindingly white legs. I have what the Restoration poets would call alabaster skin, to quote Diane Chambers. My legs are so pale that I'm sort of self conscious wearing black shoes without tights in warmer weather because the contrast is, frankly, alarming.Those stripy tights I bought in Madrid in 2003 when everyone there had stripy and colourful tights and (seriously) leg warmers. I was caught up in the moment and bought a pair but I have never felt comfortable wearing them (I could have bought leg warmers). They are wooly and warm and I have worn them under pants to do things like snowshoe (seriously, it's not very hard) but I'm really at a loss for how to wear them otherwise. E-Jo is right about the tall boots except I hate how my legs look with tall boots and shorter skirts. Plus there is kind of a kindergarten teacher vibe about these tights that I am not 100% comfortable with. Oh Espana, you coy mistress who suckered me into unwearable tights!

  4. Of course you are a STYLE ICON, wein. Also, this is an awesome post from which, once again, I feel compelled to select a favourite. Except I can't because there are so many awesome shoes, tights, and excellent skirts. I sooo wish, however, that we wore the same size shoes because then I could steal the blue suede shoes. Also, I love your tights, but I don't love mine. I tend to think of tights as utilitarian, not treasured pieces, because I love shoes. And skirts and dresses. Tights make these other things work year round. Also, too many tights of my tights are squeezers. Possibly because buying them on sale and/or at Winners gets me the control tops.

  5. 1st… thanks for the scarf link. I learned stuff!! Learning is good.Also, the first skirt is pretty awesome. And yes, you have many tights… and I don't respect you any less for wearing white tights back in the day. I just laugh behind your back… no, no, I kid. We've all made mistakes!

  6. A style icon? You are THE style icon. If anyone were to disagree, and choose to argue the point in Court, the full bench of the Supreme Court would be reminding everyone of those M&S tights teamed with the leopard flats. Only THE style icon can do that, they'd say. Also, my legs are whiter than yours. I see you your alabaster and raise you marble-in-the-morgue white. Which is why I love tights in all hues and densities. Love your collection, love the photos, especially the stripey senor tights.

  7. Nope. No peep toes in the classroom. I like the peep style, just not in front of my students for some reason. Or at conferences. I don't know where I came up with that one but I think it might have something to do with working in restaurants for many years where peep-toes are also verboten. I know professing and waiting are two different things–one has to do with food safety and one does not–but somehow the sartorial rules have melded in my brain. Cynthia, I think you are right about the stripy tights. Peeking rather than glaring will do my legs some good. Yeesh that is an unflattering picture.TIOBM, there's nothing like a pair of fabulous grey tights to turn you into a minor felon. The ones in the final picture are pretty fabulous. They are charcoal grey, wool, cable-knit lovelies which I'm sure Irish village girls are wearing right now.

  8. You're totally a style icon. And I love tights. It's sad that I live in the south because of how short tights season is. I don't think you can love tights too much. I think your stripy Spanish tights would look great peeking out between a skirt and a fierce pair of boots.

  9. I love tights! The one and only time I was tempted to steal a part of my costume from a show I did in college was the time I played an Irish village girl and had to wear these fabulous gray tights! I LOVED them so much.I need more skirts. You make them look like so much fun!!

  10. I love tights, and I don't think it's possible to love them too much. Your tightstravaganza in this post is making me very happy, so I'm going to look at it again now.

  11. Of course you are a STYLE ICON, wein. Also, this is an awesome post from which, once again, I feel compelled to select a favourite. Except I can't because there are so many awesome shoes, tights, and excellent skirts. I sooo wish, however, that we wore the same size shoes because then I could steal the blue suede shoes. Also, I love your tights, but I don't love mine. I tend to think of tights as utilitarian, not treasured pieces, because I love shoes. And skirts and dresses. Tights make these other things work year round. Also, too many tights of my tights are squeezers. Possibly because buying them on sale and/or at Winners gets me the control tops.

  12. I also have blindingly white legs. I have what the Restoration poets would call alabaster skin, to quote Diane Chambers. My legs are so pale that I'm sort of self conscious wearing black shoes without tights in warmer weather because the contrast is, frankly, alarming.Those stripy tights I bought in Madrid in 2003 when everyone there had stripy and colourful tights and (seriously) leg warmers. I was caught up in the moment and bought a pair but I have never felt comfortable wearing them (I could have bought leg warmers). They are wooly and warm and I have worn them under pants to do things like snowshoe (seriously, it's not very hard) but I'm really at a loss for how to wear them otherwise. E-Jo is right about the tall boots except I hate how my legs look with tall boots and shorter skirts. Plus there is kind of a kindergarten teacher vibe about these tights that I am not 100% comfortable with. Oh Espana, you coy mistress who suckered me into unwearable tights!

  13. Yes, you are indeed a style icon! And I love tights too. I like wearing skirts and dresses so much more in tights weather, probably because my legs on their own are blindingly white, regardless of how much sun exposure they get.I really like the multicolored striped tights, but I do tend to stick mostly to black, gray and more muted tones myself. It's probably weird that my legs are the one place I don't want a ton of bright colors.And I also recommend office shoes (you're right, Rad!). I have at least 4 or 5 pairs of black shoes in my bottom desk drawer that my co-workers like to make fun of me about. They're older, so now I just use them as back-up pairs if I forget to pack a pair or if my bag is too full of work-related stuff to fit shoes too.

  14. Thanks BBSM. I knew you would understand, being a true fashionista yourself. And that is the All Saints skirt I bought this past summer–I love it more every time I wear it and it never ceases to turn heads.I do wear fishnets and, in fact, I have a pair of nude fishnets that I wear often in the spring. I love them; sort of staid and sort of sexy.

  15. LOL, I think you are a true fashionista to tell that story to the whole Style Nation b/c only true fashionistas understand that it's all about taking risks. I think I remember when you bought that gray skirt from All Saints. It's absolutely adorable.I have a question for you. Would you wear fishnets? I never have before last year when I had to have this fishnets I saw in nude color. They are really cute.

  16. I second Rad's suggestion about office shoes. I have a couple of pairs there too — which guarantees that I never really need them. This post is also fortuitously timed as I just stocked up on a bunch of Hue tights at Macy's where — for those of you who have access to one — they're on sale 2/ $15. So be prepared to see me copycat you and your tights repeatedly in coming weeks.I wonder if you might take those striped tights — which are awesome — out of the house if you wore them with a pair of tall boots in brown or black? They'd still be visible but just a shorter expanse of them. I'm still too timid to wear a brightly colored & patterned tight though. Give me time…

  17. It's true LHdM. I have long admired your peacock feather tights especially but I don't know if I could pull them off with your aplomb. I'm pretty certain you could rock my stripy tights too and not just because they are Spanish.Rad, you are so right about keeping shoes at the office. I think A-Dubs also does this. As for non-teaching days, I am always out of ideas and energy on the non-teaching, not-on-campus days and so, if I go out at all, I usually just throw on jeans and a pair of Blundstones and wear the top I slept in. Yup, I'm a Style Icon and classy. Though I do prefer to keep a low profile in my town. You know, because of the paparazzi.

  18. I love tights! Ditto on the shaving and the magic. And I think you're a Style Icon. Your shoes are really amazing. The purple flats, the oxfords with cut outs, and the magic illusion heels are all amazing, made even more so by your shapely legs.Also, have you considered your super style icon looks for non-teaching days? Or is it too much for your town?As for teaching in wellies, I think it's appropriate in a wet town. I have a cheap pair of black flats and a thrifted pair of black pumps that I keep in the office at all times in case 1) the shoes I wore to school are uncomfortable or 2) in case I wore wellies. Office blazer meets office shoes (I believe Anne does this too).Good to see you back on Style Nation.

Leave a Reply

