Headsuit & Boots

‘Morning, StyleNation, from IPF Northern Division where the countdown to term’s end continues. But we’re not talking about term today; instead, we’re live from The Great White North with ridiculous headsuit photos and a non-presentation-day conference ensemble. First, in response to inexplicable popular demand (see the comments sections), the curled up version of my new(ish) headsuit:

Hair Today, (Pi)goon Tomorrow*

It’s perhaps difficult to see here, but my favourite part of this haircut is the longer dangly wisps by my chin on each side of my face. I also enjoy that only the top layers are highlighted while the bottom and back are dyed a few shades darker than my natural colour.

Now that winter is here in earnest (it snowed ALL weekend, and snow continues to dump down today), the smoother version of this ‘do will probably be a better choice. Because then I can wear hats, not hoods. Hoods create static and fuzz.

* so titled in honour of the author featured at the event for which this ‘do was styled last night


Conference Outfit, Not Presenting

I wore this outfit to a conference in October the day after I delivered my paper. When I present, I dress more formally. On days when I’m just attending others’ panels, I dress more casually but avoid jeans. To my mind, I’m still too junior a scholar to relax entirely at professional conferences.

Poly-blend Dress: Chapter One (via Winners)
Cardigan: Nygard (remixed)
Jersey scarf: Gap (old; it came with a matching tunic that I rarely wear)
Leggings: (label’s rubbed off)
OTK boots: (via Shoe Heaven, remixed)
Wine: key element of conference evenings

Comfortable footwear is often key to good conference experience, don’t you think? It can be a bit of a hike between panel venues, or to the restaurant/pub for dinner, or from your hotel to the conference.

The conference I attended was in my home city, so I came home for cocktails with the A-Dubs-Hubs before heading out for an evening book launch/pub-based hobnobbing thingy.

I’ll remix the dress, again, soon. For now, you’ll have to trust me when I tell you that it’s best under this kind of sweater.

I’m off to meet with panicked students and to power through a pile of papers that MUST be returned tomorrow. Everything seems soooo dire at this time of the term.

What’s your week look like? And will you be dressing up or down for your stuff this week?

19 thoughts on “Headsuit & Boots

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing ability has inspired me. Really the article is spreading its wings rapidly. Kobe Shoes

  2. I LOVE THIS HAIRCUT… very very cute.. very stylish!!! and great outfits on here.. I have visited before and have become a follower now, i am also doing the 30 for 30 challenge so like to see what others are doing for their mixes!!I will be back to see what you have up your sleeves for the next few weeks!!cheers,j

  3. Holy Crap! That's you! Ok, now I have to add your profile to the A-Dubs image I have created in my mind. I didn't expect your hair to be that light. I know, it's the new highlights. I know this is suppose to be about what your wearing (which rocks) but are you going to try more photos like this? I'm would like to repeat what Cynthia wrote, I used to think I what not photogenic. I still may or may not be, but now I'm used to seeing my privacy sunglassed face on the screen. Keep the glasses and the beverage prop and try some more, please, for fun.

  4. Thanks, All. And I will take your advice re: heads-in-shots under advisement. I may try to some more peek-a-boos, like D-Med does. But I really can't see putting heads in photos regularly. Yet.

  5. Holy Crap! That's you! Ok, now I have to add your profile to the A-Dubs image I have created in my mind. I didn't expect your hair to be that light. I know, it's the new highlights. I know this is suppose to be about what your wearing (which rocks) but are you going to try more photos like this? I'm would like to repeat what Cynthia wrote, I used to think I what not photogenic. I still may or may not be, but now I'm used to seeing my privacy sunglassed face on the screen. Keep the glasses and the beverage prop and try some more, please, for fun.

  6. I LOVE THIS HAIRCUT… very very cute.. very stylish!!! and great outfits on here.. I have visited before and have become a follower now, i am also doing the 30 for 30 challenge so like to see what others are doing for their mixes!!I will be back to see what you have up your sleeves for the next few weeks!!cheers,j

  7. Your hair looks great! I love the curled version, and I think I can imagine the straight one. Your headsuit curls up cute, lady.Excellent conference outfit. I agree with you that jeans are too casual for conferencing.

  8. Cynthia is so right – I've never found a wineglass to be judgemental of my picture taking. Even the wine cube (which you can see Jude eying in yesterday's post) keeps to itself when I'm smiling, or trying not to looking like I'm smiling at the camera. That's where shots with your head in them get kind of tricky. There's only so many ways to pose your face without looking too ridiculous.Blurgh! How did I not catch headsuit as a 30 Rock reference? To be fair, my last 3-season 30 Rock marathon was in January, so I'm a little rusty. Thankfully winter is coming so I'll have time to re-watch everything thorougly.

  9. So, I always thought I was unphotogenic too. But, am I really? I totally like my own face in real life. The funny things that happen with my face in spontaneous photos are all really a matter of lack of practice — someone points a camera at you? You stop talking, look directly at it, put your head at its best angle, smile.Of course, if you really did that in the company of all cameras, your friends would probably think you're a self-obsessed airhead. But in the company of a wineglass and your tripod, you're allowed to practice your best camera face all you want.

  10. E-Jo: Thanks! The curled up version happened because it's less work than the smooth one. I need a better straightening iron. I know this is old news. Also, ha! I knew you'd catch the canlit reference. And yeah, she's been here a LOT. But she was wittier last time. Finally, seriously?! A week off? American Thanksgiving is giving you a giant prezzie.Anne: Ha! It's a 30 Rock reference. Check it here:http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1001591/quotes. Also, I'll try for a smooth version, too. But it's sooooo much more work than I'm usually prepared to do this time of the term! Also, seriously? Canada really needs to look into this whole Thanksgiving-on-a-Thursday thingy. (It's Thursday, right?) Have a great holiday!Cynthia: Thanks. You might be right about the head-having. Except for the whole "I'm ridiculously unphotogenic from the neck up" thing. Also, looking forward to the ensemble outlined and all others. p.s. I really enjoy the word "suitycase."

  11. I think our curiosity about the headsuit is totally justified by how awesome it turned out to be. Seriously. Y'all ought to try having heads more often, you might find it addictive. :)I will be dressing down, down, down for the next few days. Actually if I had down I'd be wearing it — Wisconsin is cold. But I've already packed my suitycase, and it contains only jeans for my bottom half, and a variety of sweaters and t-shirts and jackets that can be layered in various combinations. You'll get to see how I layer up a tee with a crewneck wool sweater AND a velveteen jacket at the same time…and that's before I put on the winter coat!

  12. Yay for your new headsuit (that's such a fun term, although I've never heard it before you ladies of IPF dropped it). I'm jealous of your ability to have cute, curly hair period. I can never get mine to look like that. No matter how much time I spend on it. Mine only comes in "smooth-ish" and "hat day." I'd love to see the smooth, non-curled version too, but this gives us a pretty good idea. I like the coloring in the back.I'll be doing some dressing down this week too, since I only have one more day of work and all. Though I might dress up for Thanksgiving, we'll see.

  13. That headsuit is looking mighty good. I'm jealous of your ability to work both a curly and smooth version. Mine only comes in smooth and slightly less smooth. Also, there seems to be a lot of Atwood-action in your neck of the woods — didn't you see her there last year? In a bout of serendipity, I totally just read that book last week. Good timing on my part, or I would have missed your CanLit cleverness. It's like you're a doctor of Canadianness or something…I'll be dressing down hardcore — after today, I've got a week off teaching and then only one full week of classes after that!!

Leave a Reply

