Not Red and Black, II

Today, I am breaking my unofficial red-and-black-ensemble ban. But let’s not talk about such rule-breakiness on this most wonderful of days. On this, my last lecture day of the term, let’s focus on success. (This weekend’s marking will bring failures enough, I suspect.)

Let’s speak instead about my Tuesday ensemble. On Tuesday, I played by the rules. On Tuesday, I wore this to teach twice, then attend an evening event on campus:

Velveteen jacket (it’s actually teal, not blue): Rubber Ducky (thrifted)
Brooch: Blue in the Face (craft show, old)
Black shell: H&M
Clown pants: Tahari (remixed – note that I’ve not yet taken D-Med’s advice to put black ink on the pulled thread on the right pocket)
Shoes: Hilary Radley (remixed)
Trouser Socks: Hue (via Winners)

Now that I see the photos on this larger screen, I don’t love the pant-belt matchiness. I chose this belt so that there wouldn’t be too much going on in front, accessory-wise. But things just didn’t blend the way I imagined they would. Next time, I think I might skip the brooch and wear either a thin grey or black belt. (I have to belt; the pants are too big otherwise. But I like them this size. I think.)

When this jacket first joined my wardrobe this fall, it had fru-fru plastic sparkly buttons in a matching shade of teal. I switched those out for the pewter ones. Here’s a closer look at the buttons and brooch.

I used to love this brooch, but now it bothers me, despite its sparkle. It doesn’t seem like the best idea to pin the face of a much more glamorous woman next to one’s own visage. Especially when one is sickly and pale (as I currently am).*

Obligatory shoe close-up:

And finally, this photo’s for D-Med, who hates monkeys. The FR’s no friend to the monkey either. Especially the sock monkey:

Style Nation, do you think non-black velvet and velvet-like jackets are inherently casual? 
Mine always seem to work better with denim. How do yours work?

* That’s why I haven’t been commenting the last week or so. But I’m on the mend and can’t wait to see what you’ve been wearing while I’ve been broken. 

19 thoughts on “Not Red and Black, II

  1. *Cynthia: Oh goddess, you are sooo right about the bootage. *E-Jo: 'Good thought re: contrasting brooch. It's hard to come up with something that works with the buttons. But maybe I'm just being fussy. Also, show me how you style your jacket. Show me now!

  2. I think that velvet is less formal than say, woven wools, but it's can be dressed up or down. Velvet can be polished, but probably not considered business formal. This outfit is definitely smart, sassy, and very classroom appropriate.I agree with the Annie Hall assessment. You are looking long, leggy, and relaxed yet polished, if that makes sense.Go FR! Show that sock monkey who is boss!Can't wait to see the new red and black combos.

  3. I was wearing velvet dresses! I'll try to find some pictures when I visit my parents next week. I was pretty adorable.However, I think velvet is a timeless fabric. I wasn't implying your jacket reminded me of the 80's. Just that, in general, I associate velvet with the holidays and fancy things, since that's where I usually wear it. And I haven't had much of it since I was a kid, which is a shame.

  4. You are so rocking a contemporary Princess Diana look. Seriously, no joking or offense intended, I just remember her in a similar outfit and loved it then too. The pants – the pants are fab! I looked at some Katherine Hepburn pants like yours recently but alas my very short legs do not make the pants look good on me at all. However, they look awesome and all Katherine Hepburn on you!

  5. I was wearing velvet dresses! I'll try to find some pictures when I visit my parents next week. I was pretty adorable.However, I think velvet is a timeless fabric. I wasn't implying your jacket reminded me of the 80's. Just that, in general, I associate velvet with the holidays and fancy things, since that's where I usually wear it. And I haven't had much of it since I was a kid, which is a shame.

  6. *Allison: Memo sent. Also, I enjoy the combination of velvet and plaid!*D-Med: I agree that velvet classes up the jeans. And as you know, I can always use even a smidge more class. Also, I read a poem once about someone loving someone in her banana yellow pants. Your comment reminded me of it. How's that for citation? My intro course is teaching me about research.* LHdM: Ha! I enjoy that you're marking my ensemble. It's awesome, isn't it, how everything gets graded this time of year? Also, while you're stealing this jacket, I'll be grabbing me a pair or three of your 'vogs.*Rad: Thanks, woman. Also, you've hit the nail on the head here, I think. Velvet's just not business formal. Probably this means my office blazer should not be velvet.*FoF: Your skirt sounds lovely. And I think you're right. The cotton velvet is what makes this jacket seem casual to me. Also, I'm adding "swooping elegance" to my list of sartorial blogging phrases!*Anne: Given the many sartorial horrors of the 80s, it's difficult to believe they're back. Even though I kind of love lace and big hair. What exactly were you doing with velvet in the 80s? *KB: Thanks for your endorsement. And I'll totes try a contrasting belt. Also, I, too, am surprised about the monkey face. In fact, FR's entire approach to this toy has been out of character: first he lovingly removed both ears and pulled out some stuffing. But then things slowed down considerably and got kind of weird. Now, he'll start off savaging the thing, then quickly settle down to gently lick the monkey all over. Like he's giving it a bath. I spend too much time psychoanalyzing my dog. *Charlotte: The stretchy velvet-that's-not-velvet is possibly the most comfortable fabric (outside of flannel) on the face of the earth. I just thrifted a black dress in that very fabric which I, too, hope to accessorize with cat hair at my parents' place later this month. *V: 'Just had to look up "tenacity." Thanks for your lovely vocabulary.

  7. Velvet…it's been a while since I wore anything but the stretchy velvet that's really not velvet. I wear it with all kinds of stuff, usually decorated lavishly with cat hair.

  8. Like E-Jo, I am shocked that the sock monkey still has a face.I think velvet is versatile and can be dressed up or down.LOVE these wide-leg too-big trousers on you! As for the belt, I think this one works well but a belt with more contrast would work too. Great outfit, A-Dubs Hall, and I'm glad to hear you're feeling better.

  9. Velvet is far from casual for me – I always associate it with all the frilly velvet and lace dresses I had for Christmas in the 80's. Ah, what a decade sartorially!Also, can we arrange an e-playdate for Jude and FR to destroy some stuffed toys together? That's Jude's favorite thing to do. Ever.So since I've collected a ton of sparkly brooches lately, maybe you need a nice contrasting color. I have a yellow brooch that would look great on your fabulous jacket! I'll send it with the shoes.Hope you're feeling better!

  10. I always thought velvet was DRESSY!(?) I guess maybe it depends on what fabric the velvet is. I have a brown rayon velvet skirt–very elegant. The jacket, which is adorable btw, looks cotton velvet? Maybe more cazh; but the pants certainly add a sense of swooping elegance. :~)

  11. I think that velvet is less formal than say, woven wools, but it's can be dressed up or down. Velvet can be polished, but probably not considered business formal. This outfit is definitely smart, sassy, and very classroom appropriate.I agree with the Annie Hall assessment. You are looking long, leggy, and relaxed yet polished, if that makes sense.Go FR! Show that sock monkey who is boss!Can't wait to see the new red and black combos.

  12. I totally thought the belt was built into the pants. Even if you don't love the belt with it, I have to tell you this outfit gets an A+ from me. I am planning on stealing that velvet jacket from you and you are rockin' those pants!

  13. And thanks to the FR (regular-size). The destruction of that monkey is warming my heart. Plus he looks adorbs.Also, I love you in these ginormous pants, A-Dubs. This outfit is very upscale and updated Annie Hall.

  14. I love a velvet jacket too but I don't think of them as especially casual. I think they class up the joint with a pair of jeans and add some richness to less casual ensembles. The only thing I don't like about a velvet jacket is the inevitable wear. I had a gorgeous deep orange jacket that I wore to the point of baldness. There is nothing to be done for a balding velvet jacket.

  15. I love your jacket! I wore a black velvet jacket today. Send a memo, it is apparently velvet jacket day. I wore mine with jeans and a plaid shirt, I'm not sure how well it worked, but I felt pretty good 🙂

  16. *Cynthia: Oh goddess, you are sooo right about the bootage. *E-Jo: 'Good thought re: contrasting brooch. It's hard to come up with something that works with the buttons. But maybe I'm just being fussy. Also, show me how you style your jacket. Show me now!

  17. Yay! Fuzzy Roommate! Though I'm astonished that that sock monkey has been allowed to keep his/her/its face. Also, I hope the joy of it being the last teaching day will make you feel better!I love a velvet jacket. I've got a blue one very similar to the color of this one in the pictures which I'm looking forward to wearing in a week or two. I'm actually not sure I like mine entirely with denim — it seems like too much blue. I don't know if I think it's a casual item particularly — not fancy, but it definitely skews dressy to me. Also, I don't think that the belt & brooch would have been too much accessory-wise. I might actually go with a constrasting color in either the brooch in the belt but then you know my love of bright colors…

Leave a Reply

