Guest Lecture: Steig Larsson Styles

From time to time, IPF friend, fashion consultant and rogue academic, Kelly Bean, drops in to do a guest post.  This is one of those times.


Many of StyleNation’s academics are counting down the semester’s remaining classroom days. What better time for a little fantasy professorial fashion? Over in the rogue sector of academia, where the dress code is hazy at best, I’ve been doing some archival closet research in pursuit of an unlikely classroom style that’s just perfect for end-of-term.
Lizbeth Salander Teaches a First-Year Survey Course.

 

black leather moto jacket (nicknamed the “sexy bitch jacket” before I even bought it): Le Chateau, c. 2002
black and burgundy striped blouse: Insight via Filene’s, c. 2009
navy tunic: American Apparel, c. 2010
big bad beloved black boots: Fluevog Cece, c. 1998
chunky ring: bought in Mexico and gifted by my parents, who are much nicer than Lisbeth’s, c. 2008
black and grey bead necklace: Aldo Accessories, c. 1996
not pictured: heavy black eyeliner, high-tech classroom setup, death glare
You. Where is your essay? Technological difficulties are not valid excuses in my class. I am the best hacker in the entire university.”
 “I keep a laser pointer and a switchblade in my boot at all times.”
(Aside: I can no longer wear these much-loved boots without them eating my feet. This makes me sad.)
What would Lisbeth do?
“We’ll be doing exam review next class, so be sure to bring any questions you might have. 









And don’t make me use this bike lock.”







What do you wish you could wear during the last week of classes?

19 thoughts on “Guest Lecture: Steig Larsson Styles

  1. “I keep a laser pointer and a switchblade in my boot at all times.”HA! Love it. And you know I'm a sucker for any badass bitch in black.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.comtwitter: @gritandglamour

  2. @TIoBM: Pajamas are truly the end-of-term fantasy outfit. Also, having written my fair share of graduate admissions applications, you have my sympathies for having to read them!@Anne: Can't hurt, right? Unless they want it it…@Kelly: No one messes with the mommy holding the bike lock!@TJ: I'm not sure if you want to conspire with me or with D-Med, but I'll fling you an email post-haste.

  3. I LOVE this post K. Bean! I have my annual performance review at work tomorrow – do you think I'd get a better review if I wore something this hot and intimidating?

  4. Pajamas? The end of class for you fab-profs is just the beginning of admissions for grad students for me. It means a lot of sitting, a lot of staring at my computer, and a lot of mind numbing stuff. But day-yam! Those boots are kick-ass. I doubt anybody would mess with teacher if she walked in wearing those!

  5. Thanks, D-Med, for posting this!I'm quite tickled to be considered BA. I think I used to dress a little bit more like Lisbeth than I do now. Note to self: bring the BA to the playground more often.@Rad: I look forward to seeing your last-day choice!@Charlotte: I'd have trouble not wearing such a sweater, to be honest.@LHdM: My Ceces would be delighted. (n.b. I seriously covet Bondgirls.)@Cynthia: Is there a way to connect Talk Like a Pirate Day to lecture material? A tall order, I know.@BBSM: Thanks! As noted above, I really need to dress more like Lisbeth more often.@Sheila: I'm sorry your Angels turned on you, but I'm comforted by the fact that it's not just my beloved Ceces. It's a Fluevog thing. Excuse to buy more?@G&G: A girl's gotta be prepared, right?@A-Dubs: Invigilation is a great venue for Bada$$ery. Also, as the former social convener for these boots, will you be my enabler when I'm ready to replace them? @Terri: An accurately-snapped whip would be the perfect tool for dealing with classroom snoozers, chatters, and facebookers.@SU: Awww, now I'm blushing!

  6. 'So very, very Bada$$ and awesome. 'Am considering channelling some Salander-via-KellyBean to administer my exam this Saturday. I anticipate that the booted switchblade and laser pointer will simultaneously target cheaters and ward off the seemingly inevitable mid-exam boredom.

  7. “I keep a laser pointer and a switchblade in my boot at all times.”HA! Love it. And you know I'm a sucker for any badass bitch in black.♥ Vhttp://www.gritandglamour.comtwitter: @gritandglamour

  8. Ha! How much do I love this post, this look, the dialogue?? Love! Those boots are killer – but why do Fluevogs turn on us after 10 years?? My Angels did the same thing. 😦

  9. I'm not sure about the last day of class, but I've always wanted to celebrate Talk Like a Pirate Day in lecture. Fortunately for my students, that just hasn't worked out.And also, I am digging your Lizbeth Salander costume. BA indeed.

  10. Too funny, D.M. But you do look formidable. I'd certainly think twice about whining in your presence.I have a "last class" in about 3 hours & have no clue what I'm wearing. I'm sure it won't be anything nearly so cool or so awe-inspiring. You may have persuaded me to ditch the soft gray angora sweater I was planning…

  11. This is an amazing, B.A. outfit. I bet no one would give you a whiney dance about why their paper isn't completed with this ensemble. Those boots just demand respect. I wish I were cool enough to dress like Lizbeth. Awesome. I'm trying to figure out if I want to pick out a fun, end with a bang outfit for my last day (sadly still about 6 days away) or to go with what's worked thus far. Will report on this soon.

Leave a Reply

