IPF, Montreal Edition

Hello Style Nation from snowy Montreal. Living in IPF South, I really don’t miss all that much the nearly six months of winter from my days in Steeltown grad school (though now I get nearly six months of 100 degree weather). That said, the lead up to the holidays seems weird without snow so I’m enjoying it here. Plus I get to hang out with my sisters and their respective beaus. Good times.
On me: Sweater: Gap
Polka dot blouse & jeans: Old Navy
Gross, snow ready boots: Rockport


On sister: Sweater: Old Navy
Skirt and tights: Joe
Boots: Target


In fact, the sister (the youngest edition) who I’m staying with got into the photo action so this will help break up the monotony of pictures of me. Plus, her giant fuzzy roommate is in the pictures as well! FYI, posing to show outfits with someone else is deceptively difficult. We met after work to do some Christmas shopping in advance of the arrival of the parents and we’re coincidentally coordinated (which isn’t that clear in the pictures). Coming up in a couple of days is her engagement party, so I’ll try to get pictures of all three sisters dressed up.


Also, Rad over at The Cohabitating Closet has tagged us here at IPF to provide seven things about ourselves. I don’t have access to either photos of me, or Rad’s BA past so I can’t be quite as awesome as her.
1. I love Christmas totally unironically.
2. I was born in England when my Dad was in grad school over there.
3. I am an AWFUL singer.
4. When I moved to IPF South, there was a mix up with my visa so it took my furniture a really long time to arrive. Also, I didn’t get paid until the end of my first month. So, until the end of September, I was broker than I’d been in grad school and only had a bed and two lawn chairs in my two bedroom bungalow.
5. I love brussel sprouts. A lot.
6. In general, breakfast is my least favorite meal but it’s one of my favorite meals to go out for.
7. Since getting the mini-FR, I’m finding that I’m far more of a dog person than I thought.
Any tips for group outfit pictures? How are your holidays going?

16 thoughts on “IPF, Montreal Edition

  1. I see that style and love of colors runs in the family. Also, cute giant FR.Ooh, do you have an English passport? We can still do karaoke someday, anyway.Brussels sprouts are indeed the bomb. I have 2 lbs coming tomorrow in our grocery delivery order (it's true).Thanks for sharing! Happy holidays to you and your fam!

  2. Yes. Yes, we're totally doing that.E-Jo, you and your sis (youngest edition) are totally rocking the brights. Are there some kind of drawstring on your ruffled tunic? Also, the Giant-FR is making an adorably grumpy face. And I canNOT wait for the engagement partay photos.

  3. Awww, pics of you and your sis! More please! A suggestion: take pictures after several Nogalyzers. This a Christmas version of the beloved Western Canadian Paralyzer. One part spiced rum, one part Kahlua, one part Coke, one part eggnog, poured in that order and sprinkled with cinnamon.Right now I'm at my IL's in Southern Ontario, watching a crime-investigation in Polish, so I have no idea what's going on. This would be more fun if I had a Nogalyzer.

  4. Awww, pics of you and your sis! More please! A suggestion: take pictures after several Nogalyzers. This a Christmas version of the beloved Western Canadian Paralyzer. One part spiced rum, one part Kahlua, one part Coke, one part eggnog, poured in that order and sprinkled with cinnamon.Right now I'm at my IL's in Southern Ontario, watching a crime-investigation in Polish, so I have no idea what's going on. This would be more fun if I had a Nogalyzer.

  5. I'm glad you got to see some snow around Christmas time. We had some in Tennessee a week ago but it did not last. I like colors of those sweaters on you and your sister as well. Congratulations to her on her engagement! How exciting!!I don't have any rain-boots but I think that large black and white hound-tooth looks really good with bright colors. And fussy roommate is adorable!xxmaya

  6. Rad: I do have an English (and hence EU) passport but it's expired and super expensive to renew. Is it weird that I'm really jealous of your 2 lbs of brussel sprouts? Probably but I'm still jealous.Anne: Having sisters is pretty rad… now. Mine are both pretty awesome so I lucked out. Having a brother would be good too. Also, name a date for that karaoke/ late-night breakfast meet-up!! (FYI, I don't really do karaoke either unless REALLY drunk).A-Dubs: There's some sort of weird tie sort of thing that I'm totally cutting off — I just haven't done so yet. Once I get my bridesmaid's dress tailored, I'll totally do a post. It's a pretty great bridesmaid's dress though…Allison: The giant FR is totally a pensive type. Much more reflective than the mini FR who is the jock to the giant's intellectual. I think we are in fact roasting the brussels — and adding a delicious honey-balsamic vinegar glaze. Yum.LHdM: I totally am a second generation academic — my Dad's an English prof and my Mom is currently finishing a Ph.D in English. Also, the FAs (and Style Nation as a whole) definitely should be in on this karaoke/ brekky plan.D-Med: Give us a few days and we probably will break out that song — we haven't watched "White Christmas" yet but it's in the pipeline. And, since we watch that movie every year, we've got a good handle on the lyrics. Now, if only we had giant feathery fans… Also, sad news about your jail time.

  7. Holidays? I do not understand this concept of "holidays". I'm still in marking jail and after that it is course prep jail and finish revisions jail. I do not have time for stupid Christmas.You two look merry and bright and I think you should definitely go all Rosemary Clooney–Vera-Ellen and bust out your rendition of "Sisters, sisters." Maybe sing it at the engagement party? And then report back. I will still be in jail.

  8. LHdM: Oh no! Of course FA are all welcome! All members of Stylenation anywhere are welcome for karaoke and breakfast! I didn't meant to be all exclusive like that. Seriously, I didn't.

  9. You both look lovely here and I'm a sucker for any dog. This one looks rather pensive.I hope you enjoy snowy Montreal. Brussel sprouts rock. I like roasting them in olive oil and then adding sea salt. Yum!

  10. Yes. Yes, we're totally doing that.E-Jo, you and your sis (youngest edition) are totally rocking the brights. Are there some kind of drawstring on your ruffled tunic? Also, the Giant-FR is making an adorably grumpy face. And I canNOT wait for the engagement partay photos.

  11. I love that you and your sister both rock the Joe clothes! I need to find myself a local grocery store that sells cute stuff. And a sister would be cool to have too. I don't think my brother would ever jump in an outfit photo, but I could be wrong.Thanks for sharing your 7 things! #4 reminds me of my first 1 bedroom apartment here in Chicago – I didn't own any furniture at the time other than my bed (which I scored for only $100 from a co-worker), so I had to sit on the floor for everything. I didn't like brussel sprouts until Rad made me try them this spring. They are pretty tasty. And I can't wait for some TCC/IPF meet-up where we do karaoke and then go out for late-night breakfast. Can we do that?

  12. I see that style and love of colors runs in the family. Also, cute giant FR.Ooh, do you have an English passport? We can still do karaoke someday, anyway.Brussels sprouts are indeed the bomb. I have 2 lbs coming tomorrow in our grocery delivery order (it's true).Thanks for sharing! Happy holidays to you and your fam!

Leave a Reply

