Pre-term Blahs

Unlike my co-bloggers, I have nothing remotely fancy to offer you. That I have outfits at all is astonishing, since for most of the last two weeks I’ve been in some variation of sloppy t-shirt and yoga pants. My term doesn’t start for another week here and, while I’m glad to have the time away from teaching, I desperately need to get back to schedule-land. I’m really useless at managing my time over such a (relatively) short break (the two & a half, post-New Year’s weeks) even though I have a ton of stuff that needs to be done. Over the summer, I end up getting into a groove — though that takes me an inordinately long time — but I can’t seem to do it at this time of year (or at spring break). I’ve tried dressing up to work at home but that doesn’t seem to do the trick– and then I’m neither getting work done nor am I as comfortable as I could be.

Anyhow, here are the two outfits worthy of photography from the previous two weeks:
Sweater: Gap
Ruffle blouse & jeans: Old Navy
Patent flats (now fully deceased after the mini-FR got a hold of them): Target
Blur behind my leg: the mini-FR trying to get into the picture or climb my back.

I wore this out to dinner with a friend. The sweater is a new purchase — the Gap in the crappy mall in my town is closing so all their sale items were 50% off, making this light wool cardi a superb deal. I haven’t gotten as much use out of this blouse (which I love) as I anticipated as it’s just slightly too small in the chestal arena. It fits well everywhere else though so I just need to layer it more than I have been.


Purple turtleneck & jeans: Old Navy
Black wrap tank: Joe
Shoes: Chucks
Necklace: LOFT Outlet (it’s silver, though it reads slightly gold here)
The mini-FR: revealing his jumpy self to the world in this series of pictures. Half a second later, he was at my waist. Dude’s got game; I should have named him Air Bud.

Not much to say about this outfit other than that I wore it to go to the office only to find that the file I needed to work on that I thought I had saved on my cloud storage was only on my laptop. Saving fail. I did some fussing with my syllabi and I’m back at home now. Great story, no?

How do you avoid the January blahs?

24 thoughts on “Pre-term Blahs

  1. Weathering: I'm trying the change of location tomorrow. Coffee shop here I come! I'm right there with you on the list full of "Top Priority" items. Cynthia: Icemageddon: Trapped in the House! Ha! Clearly, you need to spend this time away from teaching perfecting the screenplay to this. Some sort of "Ice monster" is calling from inside the house!LHdM: Totally reasonable to be counting down to May! Also, I'm all for "chestal arena" being the it jargon term for 2011. Let's make this a reality!Rad: I use Dropbox too and generally love it. The problem this time was I was doing revisions on an emailed document that I thought was a different document, saved on Dropbox. Instead it was just on my laptop. Grrr. And I totally agree about the non-linearity of academic productivity. Allison: Outside is a good idea — at the very least, the mini-FR would be happy! Dog park tomorrow, after the coffee shop! Seriously, he's hilarious at the dog park.D-Med: Oh god. No perm here. Fair enough on the pounding. I can't believe I'm complaining about it. Though it's not so much the break that's the problem but my total inability to make the break useful for anything other than catching up on TV, which is enjoyable but useless for my (also upcoming) annual report deadline.

  2. I'm in the middle of January blahs right now. I try to spend as much time outside as possible, which is difficult during the week. I love your ruffly blouse 🙂

  3. D-Med: I would totally buy that shirt. Once again, Shakespeare needs to get out of my head. Little known fact, it was ME that wrote the plays, not Francis Bacon or Marlowe. I also time travel.Anne: They are the same jeans. I'd like to think that, in general, they look more like picture #1 but they're probably somewhere in between the two. They're definitely not as light as picture #2 makes them look — stupid flash. It was definitely too bad mini-FR tore up those flats — though at least I only paid $3 for them. They were also super plastic-y and a little big so at least he destroyed a pair that wasn't my fav!

  4. Oh, A-Dubs' comment on our blog about Target coming to Canada reminds me that I read last night that Joe Fresh is coming to the US this year! That's where a lot of your cute shoes come from, right?

  5. Um, January blahs? It has been in the high 70s low 80s blue sky beautiful here so no blahs, only yahs, not to mention I've watched some really great movies. Now about the first pair of jeans you posted…A.M.A.Z.I.N.G on you. Like, made for you. The entire outfit is fantastic. You should wear those jeans more…and kudos to you for not wearing yoga pants to the office for a quickie (heehee).

  6. That first outfit is just wow! I really think it gives you some curves, some sexy teacher thing going on for you! Rock it, gurl!I hear you about the being off the schedule thing. Even though I'm not so thrilled with my current onslaught of students applying for our graduate program. I'm thrilled with meeting the students and having a schedule again, though. I feel good, feel like I have a purpose LOL.

  7. A-Dubs: I'll see about adding a detail shot — the shirt's SFW, just pulls a little. Also, YOU are a ween.K.B: I agree, the mini-FR was trying, in his non-verbal way, to teach me about quality over quantity. I'm with you on the problem that a lack of clearly defined deadlines causes. This is my problem right now — no immediately pressing deadlines that aren't self-set. Anne: It is! That's exciting news about Joe Fresh — though I'm confident that it won't be coming anywhere near where I live.Sheila: Thanks! I love a ruffle!

  8. Oh, A-Dubs' comment on our blog about Target coming to Canada reminds me that I read last night that Joe Fresh is coming to the US this year! That's where a lot of your cute shoes come from, right?

  9. I like everything about the first outfit, and I'm going to interpret FR's shoe destruction as an instruction for you to get better-fitting less-plastic-y patent flats. Excellent layering in the second outfit.My non-semestered so-called life means that I always feel like I should be getting more done, as there are no real deadlines for most of my enormous Shit To Do list. Hmmm, possibly that's not something to whine about, BUT it does mean that in order to get anything done I absolutely have to plan and schedule. In other words, I hear ya. Yet I think A-Dubs has an important point: if you need a break, take it, as there's more than enough time to stress about work.

  10. I feel like we need a close-up of the ruffly shirt. Without your chestal arena hanging out of it, of course. Not that I don't think your chestal arena is worthy of a blog appearance. It totally is – I imagine. Crap. Let's start again: show me more of the awesome shirt. Also, Mini-FR = awesome, and You = ween. Enjoy the extra TV time. The coming term will give you opportunities enough to get all anxious about work to be done.

  11. D-Med: I would totally buy that shirt. Once again, Shakespeare needs to get out of my head. Little known fact, it was ME that wrote the plays, not Francis Bacon or Marlowe. I also time travel.Anne: They are the same jeans. I'd like to think that, in general, they look more like picture #1 but they're probably somewhere in between the two. They're definitely not as light as picture #2 makes them look — stupid flash. It was definitely too bad mini-FR tore up those flats — though at least I only paid $3 for them. They were also super plastic-y and a little big so at least he destroyed a pair that wasn't my fav!

  12. I don't think I'm capable of fully avoiding the January blahs. But having a schedule and places to be definitely does help. And that leads to me having to get dressed in cute clothes, which cheers me up.Are you wearing the same jeans in both pictures? I can't tell because of the lighting, but they look slightly different. The jeans you have on in the first outfit look SO good! It's a shame mini-FR tore up those patent flats, they're really cute.

  13. Weathering: I'm trying the change of location tomorrow. Coffee shop here I come! I'm right there with you on the list full of "Top Priority" items. Cynthia: Icemageddon: Trapped in the House! Ha! Clearly, you need to spend this time away from teaching perfecting the screenplay to this. Some sort of "Ice monster" is calling from inside the house!LHdM: Totally reasonable to be counting down to May! Also, I'm all for "chestal arena" being the it jargon term for 2011. Let's make this a reality!Rad: I use Dropbox too and generally love it. The problem this time was I was doing revisions on an emailed document that I thought was a different document, saved on Dropbox. Instead it was just on my laptop. Grrr. And I totally agree about the non-linearity of academic productivity. Allison: Outside is a good idea — at the very least, the mini-FR would be happy! Dog park tomorrow, after the coffee shop! Seriously, he's hilarious at the dog park.D-Med: Oh god. No perm here. Fair enough on the pounding. I can't believe I'm complaining about it. Though it's not so much the break that's the problem but my total inability to make the break useful for anything other than catching up on TV, which is enjoyable but useless for my (also upcoming) annual report deadline.

  14. I keep reading the title of this post as "Perm Blahs" and thinking "Oh God No." You didn't perm your hair did you?Also, these casual outfits are awesome and I want to pound you since I am two weeks into the term and already behind on everything. I really needed more time. I know I have it back at the end of term but time off teaching in January is better lead time to the annual report deadline. Uh oh. Must stop blogging. Must start working.

  15. I'm in the middle of January blahs right now. I try to spend as much time outside as possible, which is difficult during the week. I love your ruffly blouse 🙂

  16. January blahs stink! I also have a pressing deadline, like LHdM, and it makes me work pretty hard, but once all my deadlines are done (mid March), I'm gonna become Spring Blah, in terms of my work efforts (academic productivity is not a linear thing. I don't care how many books claim otherwise). Dig the ruffles (layering is the best when it comes to blouse fit issues) and the vest. I need more vests.What kind of cloud computing do you use? I'm a Dropbox fan, myself. Certain things are only stored on Dropbox now, to avoid getting to school and not having the file (that happened 3 times to me last semester and Blokey insisted I start to DB. Yep, it's a verb).

  17. Only a pressing deadline kept me from turning into a complete shiftless layabout over the break. And now the semester is underway and I really just wish I had one more week to prep and catch my breath. Would it be wrong to start counting down to May already?In other news, I applaud that ruffle front blouse and another excellent usage of the "chestal arena." Could we turn it into the new it jargon term of 2011? Please.

  18. Three extra days of University Closed plus Icemaggedon: Trapped In The House! did not help with my January blahs. I'm not sure how the M-W classes who missed a whole week are going to catch up. At least I'm only missing one teaching day.

  19. I'm in exactly your boat, and I have no idea how to avoid the January blahs. There's a pretty long list of Top Priority items on my to-do list, but all I can seem to get up any energy for is making tea and sleeping.Normally I'd try a change of location to see if it would wake me up (the public library's always good when my office is too echoingly quiet), but there's about a foot of snow on the ground that makes that more trouble than it's worth.

Leave a Reply

