No Repeats – Still Going

As a result of my previously-acknowledged punking out on the No Repeats challenge, I’ve made an executive decision to (a) extend my participation in No Repeats, and (b) extend it only until the end of this week. I’ve made this decision because it is the dark month of January, I only teach on Tuesdays and Thursdays, I’ve very few meetings this month, and I thus anticipate that I’ll want to repeat a LOT on non-teaching days.

In other news, I was recently reminded that way back in September, I agreed to participate in a New Faculty Speakers Series. This means that in addition to getting my next research project off the ground, putting the final touches on The Project That Will Not End, submitting yet another grant proposal, hosting my very own set of guest speakers, and teaching this term, I also have to prep and deliver a 40-minute talk on my research for a (probably very small) group of faculty. Let the crazy begin.

But enough griping about work. Here are some outfit shots from the last week or so:

1. This is last week’s casual Monday outfit in which I introduce the second pair of boots I picked up for a song at Shoe Heaven in December. The boots are low-heeled, warm, and comfortable enough for my regular hikes across campus on teaching days. Plus, they’re Frye-reminiscent, or so I choose to believe.

 

Tunic/Dress: Chapter One (via Winners, usually I wear it as a beach cover)
Long-sleeve gray T: H&M
Ribbon & faux-pearl necklace: came attached to a summer t-shirt (Winners)
Leggings: Groggy (remixed)
Lined leather boots: Rieker (via Shoe Heaven)

2. This is another non-teaching ensemble from last week, worn on a day when a colleague and I had a brief morning meeting with a group of students we jointly supervise. Like Anne, I’m trying to use colour to improve my mood. However, my camera’s refusal to capture the real shade of coral in the top and cardigan is sabotaging the whole mood-elevation initiative.

Coral cardigan: M.A.K. (remixed, gifted from D-Med)
Silk knit coral shell: Anne Klein (? – I’ll check & confirm) (via The Bay)
Silver necklace: January sale (The Bay)
Belt: Winners
Trouser jeans: Joe Fresh (remixed)
Socks: (I forget. Do we care?)
Shoes: (Fugitive de Franceso Rossi, remixed)

3. I wore this dress, the colour and style of which make me miss my maternal grandmother even more, to teach last week. Morning photos confirmed what the mirror made me suspect: the dressmaker who shortened the skirt and sleeves of this wool knit dress last summer did so unevenly. Clearly I need to find a better tailoring service.

Dress: Ports International (thrifted)
Necklace: August sale (The Bay)
Cream & silver metallic bangle: awesome end-of-summer gift-in-the-mail from Kelly Bean
Tights: Hue
Boots: Rieker (as above)

4. I hate this suit because it’s boring, makes me look like a long black rectangle, and I can never think what to pair with it. But I had to appear before a Parliamentary Committee, a setting I think calls for more formal business attire than I generally wear. When I wore this suit for an interview a couple of years ago, I added a long silvery-black necklace and wore the jacket open. I learned then that the necklace bangs on tables when I lean forward while sitting, so it didn’t make the cut this time. Also, it was cold in the meeting room, so the jacket stayed closed.

Poly-blend knit suit: Mexx
Silk shell: (I forget-I’ll update later) (via Winners)
Necessary winter boots: Feet First (remixed)

I actually like this silk shell when it’s mixed with other things. However, I think it looked better on me when I had dark auburn-ish hair. Either way, it’s my go-to piece with this suit right now. But I’m taking suggestions.

That’s all from IPF, Northern Division today. 
Except for the part where I ask what you do to make suits more interesting. 
What do you do?

31 thoughts on “No Repeats – Still Going

  1. Pingback: Black Month, Black Things, ‘Tocks of Pup | In Professorial Fashion

  2. Pingback: Idealistic Decisions and Office Pyjamas | In Professorial Fashion

  3. *MissB: I know, right? That's why I got it to begin with! Suit days, in my experience, are often long, sweaty, and stressful; so the comfort of knit seemed sooooo appropriate. Also, you're right: I should try more colour in all non-suit arenas. I am on it.*Thanks, but I am craning around to create any sort of shape/waist in this photo! Also, if Rinty the Crusher can rock the trouser jeans (and she can), you can do it, too. But probably you'll have to be OK with cutting some length from the leggal areas. But you're good with the repurposing of cloth – so it wouldn't be a problem, right?*D-Med: If I had another suit day tomorrow – or anytime soon – I would break the moratorium just to try the chunky red beads styling suggestion. Also, didn't you wear bright pink shoes with the nun suit? And didn't your audience luuuuurrrve the pink shoes? *K.Bean: Coral and red = genius. Also, see above re: trouser jeans working on Rinty. *AWtK: Thanks, woman! Also, really? You never wear pants? Does this mean you are amassing an extensive tights collection? *janey: I knew you'd have the goods on suit wearing. And I can do it; I can totally embrace the rectangle. Maybe I'll try it tomorrow, 'cause it seems to happen with jackets and pants, or even any jacket and skirt on me anyway. And I want to wear the jackets. Also, I feel a guest post (by you) coming on. Teach us the suit styling, won't you? We can talk more in person at the end of this month!

  4. Those boots look comfortable *and* chic! As for suits, I do not own any so I don't think I'm qualified to give advice – but I would try to jazz it up with some jewel-toned shells. I liked the pattern and the texture of the silk shell a lot, too!

  5. Those boots look comfortable *and* chic! As for suits, I do not own any so I don't think I'm qualified to give advice – but I would try to jazz it up with some jewel-toned shells. I liked the pattern and the texture of the silk shell a lot, too!

  6. Geez, a million comments here. Comment build up or what? I believe your followers need to see more post from you to relieve their comments on a regular basis.I gasped when I saw the first photo. The power suit is awesome. I do not see the uneven hem Ms. Perfectionist, and you trouser jeans are all that and a bag of chips. Whew, done. I feel much better thank you.

  7. Also, one of the freezing times on Party Island, we saw teenage boys push over an upright but dead tree to start a bonfire. And, when A-Dubs says too old, she means probably ten+ years older than the average age.

  8. *E-Jo: See above re: contorting to create waist in photo. Also, ha! I'd forgotten about the party island incarnation of this beach dress. StyleNation, E-Jo, D-Med, and I engaged, during grad school, in an ill-advised trip "down a river" in May with Rinty the Crusher (and hundreds of much younger people) in her hometown. Said trip regularly involved a stop at "party island" where much beer would be consumed, and we'd all watch in fascination as the young 'uns failed to hold their drink. Every year except one, it snowed during the trip down the river. Every year except one, we collected "river beers" (i.e. cans of beer lost by others who'd dumped their canoes). Every year except one, we dumped our canoes and thus contributed to the "river beer" supply for others. *Terri: "Honeysuckle,"hmm? I like it. It's a word that almost makes me believe spring – and then summer – will come, again. *Sheila: Oh! I remember the beautiful bigass suit styling to which you refer! Why couldn't I think of it when I styled up this black behemoth?*Baxter: Thanks – but please see above re: contorting to create a waist. Also, trouser jeans are like the magic closet ingredient. Because they are jeans, have stretch, and yet they are work appropriate. This is my second rendition, and I am committed to an unending number of future renditions. 'Looking forward to seeing your trouser jeans style in your future outfit shots. . .*Rad: Thanks! I will watch to see how you style up your suit when you head off to kick butt and take names at your conference. Also, you, D-Med, and Style Underdog have taught me that brown and camel look great with black. So, thanks for that.

  9. *MissB: I know, right? That's why I got it to begin with! Suit days, in my experience, are often long, sweaty, and stressful; so the comfort of knit seemed sooooo appropriate. Also, you're right: I should try more colour in all non-suit arenas. I am on it.*Thanks, but I am craning around to create any sort of shape/waist in this photo! Also, if Rinty the Crusher can rock the trouser jeans (and she can), you can do it, too. But probably you'll have to be OK with cutting some length from the leggal areas. But you're good with the repurposing of cloth – so it wouldn't be a problem, right?*D-Med: If I had another suit day tomorrow – or anytime soon – I would break the moratorium just to try the chunky red beads styling suggestion. Also, didn't you wear bright pink shoes with the nun suit? And didn't your audience luuuuurrrve the pink shoes? *K.Bean: Coral and red = genius. Also, see above re: trouser jeans working on Rinty. *AWtK: Thanks, woman! Also, really? You never wear pants? Does this mean you are amassing an extensive tights collection? *janey: I knew you'd have the goods on suit wearing. And I can do it; I can totally embrace the rectangle. Maybe I'll try it tomorrow, 'cause it seems to happen with jackets and pants, or even any jacket and skirt on me anyway. And I want to wear the jackets. Also, I feel a guest post (by you) coming on. Teach us the suit styling, won't you? We can talk more in person at the end of this month!

  10. *Allison: Plus you fancy it up with scarves. I especially like the way you tie up the scarf in your most recent video. Also, thanks! I like the boots. A LOT.*Rebecca: Thanks! The dress is the exact colour my grandmother used to wear because it matched her eyes. Plus the label suggests it's a relatively old item, so I imagine it was another older woman's go-to dress that she kept immaculate for years before finally tiring of it and donating to Goodwill.*Cynthia: Thanks for keeping it on the down-low. Also, thanks for being so encouraging. I may have posted more outfit shots during No Repeats than in the entire time before this challenge.*Katie: Oh, I'll be watching to see what magic you work with your new pencil skirt! I anticipate supreme awesomeness.*Anne: If corporate America doesn't make you wear a suit for your corporate job, then no, I don't think it's a fail if you don't have suggestions for suit stylings. That said, I'm taking that brooch suggestion to heart! Also, thanks for keeping on keeping on with the colourful posts this month. You are helping me to keep going, too.

  11. I hate suits, but this one is pretty awesome on you. It's knit? I've heard/seen some folks use a tiny leather belt over their blazers to add some "interest" to their suits. Or maybe add a scarf, wrapped around once and then the ends tucked into the blazer? But I think this looks great. When it's warmer out, the open jacket will help. Also, good note on the long necklace banging on tables. I'll have to style my suit soon. Conference nonsense.The blue dress looks awesome. I bet no one notices the unevenness but you.Every time I see those trouser jeans, I feel like I must break GAAD.And I love everything about the black tunic/necklace/camel boots in the first outfit. Black and camel/caramel brown are an awesome color combo.

  12. The suit is fabulous and notable for the complete lack of rectangularity it brings you. On the contrary – I think it makes you svelte and masterful. No way would I pick a fight with you while you're wearing this suit. Also, the boots are great. If you weren't wearing your suit I might fight you for them. Most of all I love the trouser jeans. Seeing them here has convinced me that my wardrobe will be a better place if I have some trouser jeans of my own. Great shots, great style.

  13. These are some great outfits, A-Dubs! I love that coral-coloured top (it comes out perfectly coral on my monitor).With suits, I almost always split them up. I can't even remember if I've worn my black pantsuit on the blog! I'd wear it for the same type of occasion, or possibly a very conservative job interview. Oh, I wore my black skirt suit some time back with a cami, a silky shirt and a vest underneath, plus some bigass shoes and a bigass rose pinned to the lapel. Nothing softens a suit like bigass, I say!

  14. As someone who doesn't actually own a suit, I don't have any "real life" advice to offer. That said, you don't look rectangular AT ALL. I love the shell underneath. I think I'd try to add some more color in — but that's just how I roll. I particularly love the first outfit. I'm astounded by how versatile that bather-cover-up is as this is decidedly more professional than the dockside and Party Island remixes I've seen of it. Yet you'd never be able to tell from this outfit. Clearly, you're some sort of remixing superstar.

  15. Lady, if you want telling about suits, I can tells ya about suits. My secret is cleavage.I kid; I kid. My actual secret is to Embrace The Rectangle. Yes, you will look oblongular. Yes, you will feel like a middle-aged banker. But dammit, you're a Lady in a Suit. You can wear excellent tights, shoe it up like nobody's business, pick big earrings, and do good work. Or you can just revel in the glorious Easy that is not having to think so dang hard about your outfit.Also, regarding Outfit 2: WHERE DID YOU GET YOUR SOCKS? I care intensely and the suspense is killing me.

  16. A-Dubs, so many fabulous outfits. So many fabulous outfits made more fabulous by the boots!D-Med, I am so foiled by pants that I have stopped wearing them, except for jeans and yoga pants. And I do not leave the house in the yoga pants except to walk the dog.

  17. The coral silk shell AND some chunky red beads with this suit?D-Med, talk me down from the trouser jeans fascination. They will not work on me, but I can't stop wanting them.

  18. Well, I'm not sure I know what I'm talking about because the last time I wore a suit I resembled a nun on outreach, but I like what this suit has going on. The littler jacket with the shell peaking out from underneath saves it from being one long column of black and makes you look totally hip and not at all like a nun. I bet this would look great with some chunky red beads (when the red&black moratorium is over). Plus the coral silk shell would also look good with this suit.I agree with KB that those trouser jeans make me covet them every time I see you in them. You will recall that Early Modern Cool Kid instructed me to get a pair based on your ability to rock them. You will also recall that they were disastrous on me. Pants. Foiled by pants again.

  19. More cute boots!Every time I see you in those trouser jeans, I want some. You make me forget my lack of leg length.Gorgeous blue dress.I really don't think you look like a rectangle in your suit, and I think the silk shell looks great with it. I have no suit styling suggestions.

  20. Those boots are pretty sweet! And I always like your coral cardigan – it still looks pretty bright 🙂 And I like the blue dress too, the color is really pretty.Obviously I would add a brooch to liven up a suit. But in general, I have no suit tips since I haven't had to wear one in about 4 years now, since that's the last time I interviewed for anything. I feel like I'm failing here as a member of Stylenation's very small corporate population (that I know of), because we corporate folks should know about suits, right?

  21. I love the suit with the silk shell! I'm just beginning to venture into suit-land (I ordered my first pencil skirt from Loft on Saturday) so I don't know anything about styling those yet. However, I'm going to be taking some tips from you because I like what you're doing here, lady!

  22. I am enjoying seeing more of your style! All of these outfits kind of rule, even your rectangle-y suit, and the new boots look great. I won't tell anyone they're not Fryes.

  23. Well first of all, I'm digging those new boots. I think your silk shell adds quite a bit of interest to your suit. As for me, I don't wear suits, mostly because my job is so casual. I occasionally have to fancy it up a little, which I do with a dress or a jacket 🙂

Leave a Reply

