First Week Back

Well, I’ve survived the first week back! After a week where I couldn’t motivate myself to do anything productive, it’s nice to be back in the swing of things. I’m teaching my Modernism course this term which is old hat now so it’s pretty easy to get into but I’ve also got a new course I’m developing on post-1980s British literature which I’m really excited about. I’m sure in a few weeks the stress of the term will catch up but, for the time being, I’m enjoying being back in the classroom.
Here’s what I wore on the first day:
Dress: Lane Bryant (part of my 30×30 cheating)
Sweater: Gap
Tights: Hue
Gold flats: Nine West
Pink bracelet that you can’t really see in this picture: World Market


I love this dress. It’s a thick ponte jersey so it’s both super comfortable and professional. I think this dress is going to be a conference staple for me. It came with a ridiculous belt but I’ve got a belt that’ll work nicely when I don’t have a cardi on top.




These bracelets are both recent purchases. I haven’t worn the mother of pearl one yet but I’m pretty confident both are going to become staples (along with a black & white one my sister brought me back from Morocco).
Today, for my second day of classes and for surreptitiously trying to convince one of my grad students from last term that he wants to slightly tweak his project and get me to supervise it, I wore this:
Navy Cardi: Gap
White, ruffly top & purple flats: Joe
Grey pin-striped pants: Target
Amber-colored biga$$ cocktail ring: gifted, my sister (blurry closeup below)






By the way, this cardigan isn’t this see-through. It’s just the stupid flash. I’m trying to take pictures without it (see the outfit above) but my non-flash pictures weren’t working today and I refuse to take more than 3 pictures. Anyhow, this white shirt is weirdly a closet orphan for me. I have the exact same shirt in black which I have to actively prevent myself from wearing everyday. This white version, however? I think this might be only my 3rd wearing of it over the last year. Part of the problem is that it’s pretty sheer — though today when I put it on, it didn’t seem so bad. However, inspired by A-Dubs, Cynthia, Rad and Anne, I’m determined to make this orphan work for me.


Anyone else have this problem of owning duplicates of an item where one is a closet workhorse and the other a closet orphan?
Any tricks for flash-less photos?

26 thoughts on “First Week Back

  1. I love that mother of pearl bangle. Such a great accent piece that will go with any outfit. And I love that it has a chunkier feel to it, to contrast the more delicate feeling of the pearl.

  2. Miss B: Thanks! I grew up on the other side of Edmonton — but it's crazy what a small world it is!SFE: It's tricky working without a flash when you don't want to take photos outside. So I totally understand any problems you're having! I just end up using the flash and trying to blur out any exceedingly glaring problems.Charlotte: Thanks! I actually almost wore a coral sweater instead but I switched up the outfit at the last moment.

  3. I love that mother of pearl bangle. Such a great accent piece that will go with any outfit. And I love that it has a chunkier feel to it, to contrast the more delicate feeling of the pearl.

  4. Miss B: Thanks! I grew up on the other side of Edmonton — but it's crazy what a small world it is!SFE: It's tricky working without a flash when you don't want to take photos outside. So I totally understand any problems you're having! I just end up using the flash and trying to blur out any exceedingly glaring problems.Charlotte: Thanks! I actually almost wore a coral sweater instead but I switched up the outfit at the last moment.

  5. Nice first day outfit you have there. Ponte knit is nice–it even feels good to wear. I had a pair of black ponte pants once that I wore until they fell apart. If you want the young scholar to revise with you, try a nice reddish coral sweater instead of the navy. Those warm tones are very persuasive colors.

  6. Outfit #1 has to be almost perfect.Regarding our Edmonton connection. 1) How strange 2) I really really would like to get my PhD in AB, but I need to do a lot more research on school in that area. I lived in Hinton for a short period of time at a small working ranch.

  7. Cynthia: "Bad" and "Good" twins is absolutely how I'll be thinking of these shirts now! Every once in a while duplicates work for me so I keep buying them but I think I probably should be more judicious with them.Courtney: You're right, I probably need to be doing more trial and error with different locations. I've got a conference in April that this dress has already made the list for!K.Bean: Things I love about your comment? "Zazzing" & "ladymag." But you're totally right on the buying of multiples as a ladymag tip. Rad: Thanks! I don't know that I've convinced the student yet but I'm doing my best!IoBM: Thanks! I love purple too! I agree that it's a totally fabulous color.Sheila: Hmm, I'll have to check out my camera more thoroughly. I totally thought of you with these accessories!A-Dubs: No new supervised. Yet. The giant ring is all sorts of awesome. I'm not typically a ring person but I love this one. Terri: The post-1980s Britain course is reading stuff by Caryl Phillips, Andrea Levy, Gautam Malkani, Alan Moore & Kazuo Ishiguro, plus some poetry and films. Good point, also, about multiples that are designed for different usages.Allison: Thanks! I felt pretty awesome with that ring all day.Anne: Looking forward to the E-Jo related necklace! I got these bracelets at World Market — which actually had a bunch of cute ones. C&B: Thanks! LHdM: Thanks! I hope the class is exciting! I'm really excited for it — the students perhaps slightly less so!!

  8. Your first day outfit looks so great! I love that dress, and I like all of the brown and white with the gold accent. Like Rad, I'm a fan of ponte knit – it's so comfy, and always seems to look flattering because of its weight. And those bracelets! I was browsing jewelry tonight looking for cute new bracelets, but didn't see any I liked. I did, however, buy a necklace that reminded me of one of yours. It'll show up on the blog sometime soon. 🙂

  9. Love that dress! I think it will be very versatile indeed. Like others, I have good twin/bad twins in my wardrobe. Also, that ring is kicka$$ 😉

  10. I have duplicates of several things, but often because of length. One pair of black slacks for flats, another pair for heels and so for. I've had a similar problem with flash–only it's the bra that seems to shine through!Would love to see who is on the reading list in that course you mentioned.

  11. Dude, that is totally a kicka$$ dress. Also, I'm off to google pointe knits. Before I go, however, I,too, need to know if you have a new supervised. Spill!Finally, I covet your giant ring and those bracelets are freaking awesome. 'Great first week back, woman.

  12. Do you have a "backlight" option on your camera? I have a little Panasonic Lumix and I use "backlight on" along with turning on every available light near me to brighten up my pictures. It's worked really well! If you check my photos from last January, you'll see a big difference. I love that dress – that's going to be really versatile for you! But those bracelets make me swoon, esp. the pink one. LOVE.

  13. Ooh, dig the new dress. I love ponte knits in general. I'm glad they are back "in" and widely available. The second outfit is relaxed and stylish. Did you convinced the grad student to see the wisdom of your ways?

  14. I just bought two of the same striped longsleeve tees and am already sure I'll wear one more than the other. Cynthia called it: buying duplicates doesn't work as well as the sale-shilling ladymags would have us believe.That dress is excellent, and I always love a giant cocktail ring. Both outfits are great tutorials on zazzing up neutral palettes with bright accessories. Now I sound like ladymag.

  15. I usually try to have the flash turned off in my photos to avoid the see-through-ness-caused-by-flashes effect…I scoped out a bunch of different places in my place that had good natural lighting and through trail and error determined which was the best.Also, I love both looks, the dress especially looks like it will be great conference wear.xoxo ~ Courtneyhttp://sartorialsidelines.blogspot.com

  16. I love that first outfit, especially. The dress is great.I totally have "good twins" and "bad twins" in my wardrobe. The Boden dress I wore yesterday has a "good twin" in a different print that gets worn more often. My black target t-shirts get worn way more often than my black ones. My black cardigan with the chrysanthemum print gets worn to death, while the exact same one in white with red poppies languishes.I just should never buy duplicates but I still always do.

Leave a Reply

