Pants!*

Like so many other Style Nation members, I’ve been going through my closet and doing some purging. This was both out of need for more room and a desire to streamline my decisions in the morning. It was taking me forever to get dressed in the morning when I had to paw through items that no longer fit or I don’t like anymore. One thing I discovered in this process is that, despite a closet rail full of them, I really own one pair of pants that are acceptable for teaching (and, in fact, I wore them just last week). As I think I’ve mentioned before, I find pants shopping difficult. I find that skirts are generally more flattering on me and pants are generally not all that exciting in their options. However (and who didn’t see this transition coming?) I lucked into some in a shopping excursion this weekend.
Top & purple flats: Joe
Pants: NY & Co.
Bracelet: World Market (detail shot here)


Style Nation, I’m in love with these pants. They’re a lovely comfortable double knit so they’re basically like wearing yoga pants (one thing I’m less enamored with: their elastic waist. But that’s easily hidden). They hang really well; they’re slightly long (they work slightly better with heels, rather than the flats I’m wearing here) but I prefer my pants this way anyhow. AND they were $10. Score all around. These ones are a slightly strange brownish color. I’m going back tomorrow for the same pair in grey.


Related to my ongoing closet purge, I’ve found a couple of items which I haven’t gotten much use out of in the past but which I still like. So I’m giving myself some time to try and work them into outfits or just bite the bullet and admit they don’t work for me. Here’s one such outfit:


Coral top: Addition-Elle
Black under shirt: Target
Grey skirt: Old Navy
Black tights: Hue
Lucite necklace: Anthro
Pink ballet flats: Gap


I have had this coral top for several years now and this is maybe the third time I’ve worn it. Coral’s recent crowning by Pantone as one of the key colors of Spring 2011 will hopefully give me the kick in the pants necessary to start making more use of this.


Wonder Woman-esque Silver cuff: F21


How was your weekend? Did you spend it cleaning your closet as well?


*This title is a homage to my middle sister who, for some reason, likes to randomly yell “pants” to get my attention.

23 thoughts on “Pants!*

  1. Pants! Those look great and are clearly a total score.The coral is a great color, for spring and for you. Good on you for putting it on "work or be discarded" notice. I have a lot of closet space currently being occupied by stuff that should be similarly notified.Great cuff!

  2. Bridget Jones's Pants. Pants Actually. True Pants. Wonder Pants. Buffy the Vampire Pants. Ha! (Just checking Sheila's rule against some of the smarter titles in my DVD collection. I need better movies. Pants improves the titles somewhat, though.)Also, nice pants, E-Jo. Excellent find. Probably we need a buttal region shot, just so we've got the whole awesome picture. Finally, if this was in England, it would be like your whole post was about underwear.

  3. Millie and I have a friend we call Pants because of her oh-so-interesting pants collection back in undergrad (wide leg pants made out of Cabbage Patch Kids fabric, anyone?). To this day, whenever I randomly hear "Pants!" I think someone's calling her.

  4. SFE: I don't go into NY & Co. that often — mostly because it's in the awful mall where I live and it's seriously half empty of merchandise and has the grossest change rooms I've ever been in. It's like it was flooded recently and they just let the carpet air dry. Ugh. But I digress. Also? That poem totally rules. You may have just won some sort of commenting award.Terri: I really like that cuff as well. That's one thing I'm loving about the resurgence of coral is the injection of spring into winter.IoBM: Pants really are the worst. To quote Homer Simpson, "doesn't everyone hate pants?" A-Dubs: I command you to drop everything and make Buffy the Vampire Pants a reality. Rest assured you'll NEVER get a buttal region shot from me.

  5. A-Dubs: The underwear/pant-who's-English-is-it? thing totally went through my head because of a mistake I once made while visiting England. I was discussing how I had been traveling and it had been "weeks since I washed my pants." After I got some stares, I blurted out: "Trousers! Its been weeks since I washed my freakin' Trousers!"

  6. A-Dubs: The underwear/pant-who's-English-is-it? thing totally went through my head because of a mistake I once made while visiting England. I was discussing how I had been traveling and it had been "weeks since I washed my pants." After I got some stares, I blurted out: "Trousers! Its been weeks since I washed my freakin' Trousers!"

  7. Oh, I'll not be resting on this point OR on the Buffy the Vampire Pants. Also, I forgot to say how much I love the coral top with the lucite necklace and those awesome bright flats.

  8. SFE: I don't go into NY & Co. that often — mostly because it's in the awful mall where I live and it's seriously half empty of merchandise and has the grossest change rooms I've ever been in. It's like it was flooded recently and they just let the carpet air dry. Ugh. But I digress. Also? That poem totally rules. You may have just won some sort of commenting award.Terri: I really like that cuff as well. That's one thing I'm loving about the resurgence of coral is the injection of spring into winter.IoBM: Pants really are the worst. To quote Homer Simpson, "doesn't everyone hate pants?" A-Dubs: I command you to drop everything and make Buffy the Vampire Pants a reality. Rest assured you'll NEVER get a buttal region shot from me.

  9. Bridget Jones's Pants. Pants Actually. True Pants. Wonder Pants. Buffy the Vampire Pants. Ha! (Just checking Sheila's rule against some of the smarter titles in my DVD collection. I need better movies. Pants improves the titles somewhat, though.)Also, nice pants, E-Jo. Excellent find. Probably we need a buttal region shot, just so we've got the whole awesome picture. Finally, if this was in England, it would be like your whole post was about underwear.

  10. I only have two pairs of pants myself. Sadly they're both jeans. I gained weight over the Christmas break and my one pair of good pants don't fit. Well, they fit but they're too tight for all the sitting I do all day.Luckily my friend Curly cleaned out her closets and I bought a couple of pairs of skirts from her and a couple of shirts. That will help tremendously. I hate not having clothes that fit.

  11. This weekend SME and I had to make a trip out to a mall (to deal with our cellphone troubles) and I walked past a NY&Co. I've actually only gone into that store once. Why didn't I go in!?! Double knit with an elastic waist–which allows me to defer to the smaller size so that it doesn't bag around the thighs and legs?!? AND instead of yoga pants I can look like a grown-up even in this horrid weather.O E-Jo, Muse of PantsThou has ended many rantsFrom now on I shall beKnit-legged [read "legged" with 2 syllables] and so free

  12. Katie: Wide leg Cabbage Patch Kids pants sound like a sight to behold. They remind me of a girl in high school who had pants made out a material with horses all over them that came with a matching vest and scrunchie. AW: Long tops are clearly going to be key here. Though the comfort can't be beat…Rad: He likes that word a lot. Just further confirmation, to him, of his ongoing global domination.Cynthia: So far so good, anyhow. Sheila: Ha! Inserting pants into movie titles sounds like a reliably good way to crack me up. Miss B: I know, right? $10 pants are awesome. K.Bean: Now if only I hold myself to the wear or be discarded plan… I'm always convinced I'll wear something eventually and never do.Rebecca: Thanks! There's nothing like relatively limited space to force the issue! Anne: I am a little worried about pilling given the fabric of them so I'll definitely be following the washing instructions carefully. And at least I only paid $10 — if they don't last that long, I'm not out a ton of money. Plus, it'll be too hot to wear pants here all too shortly.

  13. Slacks!I'm a fan of the NY&CO knit pants because they are super comfy. What a steal for $10, and they look great on you! Have you had them before? One tip is to be careful washing them – they tend to pill up a bit.I like the fit of skirts and dresses more than pants too, and definitely hate pants shopping. I've had a lot of luck with NY&CO's work pants though.

  14. Pants! Those look great and are clearly a total score.The coral is a great color, for spring and for you. Good on you for putting it on "work or be discarded" notice. I have a lot of closet space currently being occupied by stuff that should be similarly notified.Great cuff!

  15. Heh, she said "pants" – for some reason, that is a funny, funny word. Substitute "pants" in any movie title and you have a comedic gem. "Star Pants", or "Lord of the Pants", for example. Heh. I am not a pants fan either. I think I have 6 pairs, and I hardly ever wear them. I love that coral top – coral is a colour that's flattering on nearly everyone.

  16. Ooh, nice pants. Glad you were able to score a pair you like. I have maybe one pair of professional pants, and they are very old. I feel similarly about skirts.Also, way to rock to coral!(my word verification was "doglity". I thought FR might appreciate this).

  17. Cute pants. Good idea to get another pair in a different color, since you love them so much. Despite knowing that elastic waistbands are the devil, I've got a couple pairs of elastic waist pants that I adore. I just have to make sure to wear them with longer tops so it doesn't look like total yoga gear.

Leave a Reply

