Multiples and Remixes

Tuesday eve is such a pleasant time in a term of Tuesday/Thursday teaching. It’s a brief bit of respite in the weekly struggle to balance teaching with research and committee/service responsibilities. And as this week comes into focus, it’s feeling almost as crazy as last, deadline and grant-writing-wise.

Fortunately, I had the weekend away to recharge while visiting the indomitable, sharp-witted, and ever-so-stylish janey_em, of It’s So Involved Being Me. It was high time for us to reconvene, as we have once or twice a year for the last near-decade of friendship. It was also high time for an Em/Dubs shopping excursion, but more on that later (in another post).

For now, rejoice with me that the ever-profesh Ms. Em has agreed to do an IPF Guest Lecture on suit styling. And as soon as I get the following photos off my camera, we’ll get Ms. Em’s lecture up and running.

Let’s get these cleared away, then, shall we?

1. I taught in this last week. It’s meant to be the winter version of an earlier ensemble, but the warmer weather version worked better, I think. In fact, I’m only posting this because of how thin the camera angle – in concert with some strategic body contortion – is making me look. (Seriously. It’s like I’m a paper cutout. This is NOT an accurate image of anything except photo-magic.)

Everything’s the same as this outfit, except for the following:

Cuff: from cousin’s store
Poly-knit skirt: Nine West
Boots: Browns

I don’t love this look with the boots, in particular. But I have to teach in winter boots as my classroom’s a 15-minute trek away from my office and It. Is. Snowy. Here. Later, I switched out the boots for these black shoes; but really, the damage was already done.



2. I got talked into this weirdness by janey_em and an attentive sales associate. There’s a very good chance I’m either not cool enough, or not granola enough to wear this skirt/skort thingy. I gave it a go yesterday; but not for teaching. Perhaps never for teaching.



(FYI, this is an action shot. As in, my head is moving. That’s why my neck looks weirdly oily, or wet, or whatever. I’m neither a talented photographer nor a patient photographic subject.)










Top: Anne Klein (remixed)
Belt: Mexx (remixed ad nauseum)
Skirt/skort thingy: Melow par Melissa Bolduc (hurrah for a Canadian designer!)
Trouser socks: Calvin Klein (via Winners)
Shoes: Clarks Artisan (remixed)

Your thoughts, StyleNation? Weird win? Also, I could use some styling ideas. After this look, I’m kind of done.

3. Yes, it’s this skirt and cardi, again. This time with a t-shirt, purple belt, and black on the bottom. First, I wore it with the despised hegemony boots:

Everything’s the same as the birthday suit, except for the following:

Embellished T: Joe Fresh
Patent leather belt: Buffalo (via Winners)
Tights: Hue
Hegemony boots: Feet First (remixed)

Then, when I got back from the teaching trek, I switched into these boingy shoes, which were stored on the rack under my desk:

Shoes: Moda (remixed)

These shoes, with their increasingly elastic slingback, are excellent items in which to sit down. Or to walk across expanses of bare floor (but not stairs). Probably it’s time to replace them.

‘Suggestions, StyleNation, for comfortable,
 slightly platformed black winter shoe-staples? 

18 thoughts on “Multiples and Remixes

  1. I stand by every stitch of those skorts. They look fantastic, and so do you. Fact.Also, I think that you should pair 'em with my half-finished straitjacket/roll highlighter. I'll go back and get it for you.Indomitably yours,janey

  2. Wow. Thanks, all! It is late and I'm brain dead from marking, so I'm sorry that I can't even begin to formulate replies to all of your excellent and occasionally amusing commentary. I will, however, take ALL of these suggestions for skirt-skort styling into consideration. And I will bookmark and return repeatedly to ogle Style Odyssey's Chie Mihara boots. (Thanks for the link, SO!) Also, is it terrible that I'd never heard of this excellent designer?I will also say this: I knew you were going to say that, D-Med. Because I was thinking it, too. Then janey & the sales associate got into things and I folded like a cheap suit. p.s. Maya: thanks for dropping by, especially as you've been so busy receiving and responding to blog awards of late! I, too, will try to be better (in all ways).

  3. Wow. Thanks, all! It is late and I'm brain dead from marking, so I'm sorry that I can't even begin to formulate replies to all of your excellent and occasionally amusing commentary. I will, however, take ALL of these suggestions for skirt-skort styling into consideration. And I will bookmark and return repeatedly to ogle Style Odyssey's Chie Mihara boots. (Thanks for the link, SO!) Also, is it terrible that I'd never heard of this excellent designer?I will also say this: I knew you were going to say that, D-Med. Because I was thinking it, too. Then janey & the sales associate got into things and I folded like a cheap suit. p.s. Maya: thanks for dropping by, especially as you've been so busy receiving and responding to blog awards of late! I, too, will try to be better (in all ways).

  4. I really like the first outfit, and I bet you rocked it with the alternate shoes.The skirt/skort is fantastic! Ideas:ribbed turtleneck in a warm neutral, plus a big bold necklacefitted knit, tucked in, belted at the waist (this has already been noted)very simple black jacket — maybe your knit suit jacket? — with a simple black shell or tank underneathAs for the heel suggestions, I've got nothing.

  5. I agree that the skirty-skort looks great and interesting and that it is a gorgeous colour so do not be alarmed with the following query:Are they gauchos, with an apron? Because I would not believe that aproned gauchos could look so cool, but they do.

  6. I stand by every stitch of those skorts. They look fantastic, and so do you. Fact.Also, I think that you should pair 'em with my half-finished straitjacket/roll highlighter. I'll go back and get it for you.Indomitably yours,janey

  7. Like everyone else, I love this skort/ skirt combo. It's so striking and such a lovely color, though I could see how it would seem difficult to style. I don't have much to add in terms of styling suggestions. I continue to love the pairing of coral cardigan with a black & white print underneath — I was in fact wearing basically the same thing today though with a much less smaller print. I really like the boldness of this though.

  8. I have the perfect cardigan to go with your uneasy skort/skirt–an orchidy color open, with 3/4 sleeves, that hits at the top of the hip. With a plain black jersey underneath, no belt, no tuck-in, and an interesting necklace, I think your skort would become one of your favorite pieces of winter-wear. I love it.

  9. Could you tuck in a knit top into the skort skirt thing? And wear a belt over the waistline? Add a jacket? From where I'm sitting (and should be working), it looks all kinds of creative bohemian awesome. But I don't remember observing too much tucking from you. Are you not a tucker? (Blokey hates it when I tuck, but he doesn't have to like it).The hegemony boots are making me giggle.I bet the first outfit looked rad with the other shoes. I also keep shoes at work and muck about in off-brand wellies outside. I usually don't feel good on Tuesday evenings. Knowing I still have Thursday keeps me antsy. Teach me your relaxed ways, please!

  10. I really like the skirt/skort thing – I am always drawn to similar pieces and then struggle to style them. Because I am constantly dressed in casual gear, I would probably go casual with the skirt/skort in the warmer months. A t shirt, denim jacket, big necklace and sandals. I love how you've styled it for winter. I had a great pair of wedge hush puppy boots that worked well for winter. But I wore the crap out of them!

  11. I love the skirt/skort thingy, in the photo. I could imagine that maybe it's weirder in real life. I'd probably wear it with something lightweight and floral on top, but that would have to wait for things to get a little more springlike.

  12. The skirt/skort concoction of ruffles is amazing! I adore it, and think that pieces with interesting construction are some of the best investments you can make.And I already adored you, but then I see you have shoes you call your hegemony boots, and the admiration increases again.

Leave a Reply

