Dress Me Up

Winter continues to administer solid butt-kickings all around, here in IPF North. In addition, we’re solidly into the marking-papers portion of the term, and I have a growing sense of panic that I’m not going to publish enough this year if I don’t get The Project That Will Not End off my desk by the end of this month.

In short, the darkness of January has extended into this month. Thus, the Fuzzy Roommate, the A-Dubs-Hubs’s cooking, your blogs, and yoga are the only things standing between me and the winter pit of despair, StyleNation. So thanks for that!

Outfits of late have featured a lot of black. As I noted last year around this time, black just seems easier, somehow, in the wee hours of these winter morns.

1. Ruffle-front dress re-mix:

I tried, this time, to treat this dress like a tunic, to expose the trendy exposed zipper (not shown), and to dial down the sexy. I consider this a step forward, in terms of classroom appropriateness. How’s it working for you?

Dress: Mexx (remixed)
Black t-shirt: Kenneth Cole (via Costco – I know. Evilness.)
Leggings: ??  (probably Winners)
Bracelet: Le Chateau (remixed)
Over-the-knee boots: France Mode (via Shoe Heaven, remixed)

2. Dress and boots, another version:

You’ll recall, of course, that I MUST wear boots for teaching right now because I have to slog across campus to get to my classroom this term. Hence, I purchased these lined, low-heeled, rubber-soled boots to make the trek bearable and to keep things as classroom appropriate as possible in these frigid snowy months.

Also, I decided to treat this dress like a tunic, too:

Wool dress: Calvin Klein (via Melanie Lyne, remixed)
Necklace: The Bay (remixed)
Leggings: (as above)
Boots: Rieker (via Shoe Heaven, remixed)

Frankly, looking forward to wearing these dresses has helped me to get out of bed of late. In addition, as I’ve been doing more than a little emotional eating and not nearly enough hitting the gym this winter, it has also helped me to avoid all the pants that have begun to squeeze and annoy me.

What do you do to drag yourself through winter?
(Also, how do we feel about large vs. extra-large photos? These ones are large.
The extra-large ones were starting to feel a little indulgent to me. What do you think?)

28 thoughts on “Dress Me Up

  1. Pingback: Black Month, Black Things, ‘Tocks of Pup | In Professorial Fashion

  2. Is there any other possible way to get through winter than emotional eating? Particularly in this part of the term? You must have a glorious reading week coming up though… I like both these outfits. I wonder if outfit #2 might also look fab belted? But this is an "other styling possibilities" suggestion, not a "this doesn't work for me" suggestion.Also, dude, we're posting (headless) pictures of ourselves online to talk about our clothes. This is quite possibly the definition of "indulgent." Post whatever size you like. (That said, it's easier to see detail in the bigger pictures)

  3. The tunic approach is working beautifully for you! I don't mind large photos as it allows me to see details better. My first papers come in this weekend, so my days of visiting all the bloggers on my list are numbered. think green thoughts.

  4. Yes, these dresses really work as tunics. I like them much. I remember your zip-front dress from last year–the idea was that the zipper was too suggestive of unzipping, if I recall correctly. It's a great dress.

  5. The tunic approach is working beautifully for you! I don't mind large photos as it allows me to see details better. My first papers come in this weekend, so my days of visiting all the bloggers on my list are numbered. think green thoughts.

  6. *KB: Thanks, woman. Also, do it! Buy the twins! They'll look great on you. Also (x2), it may be impossible for me to have more tea and chocolate, but I might be able to bring it a bit more, protein-wise. And seriously?! Truck Day? Is that different from the whole touch-a-truck extravaganza you and E were going to last year?*MonkeyF: I'm pretty excited that you've stopped by. Seriously. And thanks! (for the feedback and the sympathy. I'll gladly take both.)

  7. I think these dresses could drag me out of a coma. GORGEOUS. Thank goodness the days are starting to get longer though, b/c I feel you on winter sluggishness. No advice here, only sympathy.

  8. Both of these outfits are superb: elegant, interesting, stylish seasonally and professionally appropriate! The ruffled dress is completely classroom worthy, and cognac boots make me want to run out and buy their twins.Winter coping: more protein, more tea, more chocolate. But apparently it's Truck Day in Boston, which many people take as the first sign that winter will indeed end! What's Truck Day, you ask? Why, it's the day the Boston Red Sox truck, packed to the rafters (?) with their shit, heads to Florida so they can begin spring training! Yeah. Craziness. BUT it is a reminder that this stupid winter will eventually end.

  9. *E-Jo: We were typing at the same time (ish). Obvy, we are like this (fingers, eyes, you know). Also, maybe the belt could work. But the dress has an empire waist thing going on. I will try and report back. In terms of indulgence, yeah, you're probably right. But we'd talk about our outfits for sure if we saw each other everyday for realz.

  10. *CE: You are totally signed up. Also, thanks!*Anne: Yeah, those boots are a win. And you are super impressive for all that gym hitting. I am (almost 😉 inspired. Also, yes. Yes, it does make me feel a lot better. A. Lot!! My budget's tight, but maybe it could work. . . *Deja: Thanks! Drop by and speak french to me any time!*Audi: Thanks so much for dropping by! And as for the classroom wearing of the ruffled dress, it is done and done. I like it too much to let it languish in the closet waiting for fancier, sexy occasions. *C: Thanks, Dr. C. You're making it all look effortless, but I'm sorry things are sucktastic for you, too. *Rad: I'm glad you approve. I'm sort of channelling your short-skirt wearing abilities (and advice) in the first ensemble. And the second outfit is definitely inspired by SU as well as you and D-Med. All of you rock the brown/cognac and black combo's so very well. Also, kudos on the gym hitting. You and Anne are like this (fingers to eyes), yes? Probably, I should follow your excellent examples. *C&B: Thanks! Your boot collection makes me like winter more. And I'm getting the gym-visit message, here. It's good to be reminded about the endorphins just waiting for me to activate 'em. *Sheila: Thanks for the feedback! Also, seriously? A vampire church? Do we get to see it? Because I realllllly want to! Were you inspired by the Church of Eternal Life in the Anita Blake, Vampire Slayer series? By the consecrated church Ivy and what'sherlips live in in the Harrison series? Colour me TOTALLY intrigued. Something else?*Rebecca: Thanks. Also, I like the way you think. I may or may not have spent an hour or two filling my virtual shopping cart with footwear on Amazon over the weekend. And now I'm waiting to see what goes down in price!*J-Em: We'll have to see how #1 works on you, for sure. Also, you are the best emotional eating enabler ever. EVER. I am eating rosemary flavoured chocolate as we speak, and I'm thinking of you. *Allison: Thanks! Also, cookies are key for winter months. And if I weren't milk-intolerant, I'd be warming up some milk in response to your comment as we speak! Also, your post today is AWESOME. Awesome. *

  11. Is there any other possible way to get through winter than emotional eating? Particularly in this part of the term? You must have a glorious reading week coming up though… I like both these outfits. I wonder if outfit #2 might also look fab belted? But this is an "other styling possibilities" suggestion, not a "this doesn't work for me" suggestion.Also, dude, we're posting (headless) pictures of ourselves online to talk about our clothes. This is quite possibly the definition of "indulgent." Post whatever size you like. (That said, it's easier to see detail in the bigger pictures)

  12. How am I getting through winter? With great difficulty and many glasses of milk. Which may or may not be accompanied by cookies. Freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. I would totally share if you were here.I think both outfits are awesome. Boots and dresses are pefect. I like the large photos and I like the extra large photos – all the better to see you outfits of awesomeness.

  13. Dude, if it wasn't for emotional eating, I wouldn't know how to make any of my traditional cultural dishes. Emotional eating is therefore an important part of our heritage and should clearly be done on a regular basis (and possibly celebrated with holidays).PS: I want to borrow dress #1. Even if it will inevitably widen me.

  14. I really like the ruffled dress. I have been avoiding the winter blues today by shopping for summer shoes online. By shopping, I really mean looking, since I have a ban for 30×30.

  15. I like this size of photo. I absolutely love the ruffled dress – you look killer. Yes, KILLER. Second outfit, love the boots.I'm distracting myself with hobbies to get myself to spring. I'm building a vampire church (I'm working on the trees right now).

  16. I adore both your outfits and wish I owned – let alone wore – black articles of clothing as pretty as yours. Fortunately (for my state of mind. Not for my finances) I'm not working this year, so winter affects me much less than it would if I had to go out. But I still slog to the gym almost every morning and try to eat warm food. I … have nothing else.

  17. The ruffled dress is super appropriate, with the layers and the black. Also, this outfit makes me desire over the knee boots.The second outfit is also awesome. I need a necklace like that (see today's post for my failed attempt to wear gifted jewelery). The camel, black and silver and very StyleUnderdog, no?As for winter blahs, I haven't gotten them yet because it's just week 2 of the semester and so far it's been OK (and I'm post Chicago trip glow right now). But I will get there soon. So far, Blokey and I having been doing "his-and-hers" morning work outs (!!!) 3x a week. Including today. And I'm delving into my work. And I'm excited to meet folks because of Fashion Week. The stretch between mid February until my conference in Montreal mid-March will be long drag of paper writing and slushy weather. Let's keep each other motivated and positive (and eat emotionally with friends. I will be downing noodles with a colleague on Thursday).

  18. That ruffled dress is gorgeous, and I don't feel like you need to dial it back at all. The length is modest, it's not overly tight or slinky, and although it's sleeveless, the high neckline more than makes up for it in terms of skin exposure. I don't see why you couldn't wear this in the classroom as a dress. I just love those OTK boots with it, by the way!

  19. All black on you looks so much more interesting than it does on me. I really like the boots in your second outfit. And they're lined even? Sounds perfect for sloshing through the snow.I hear you on winter. Really, why won't it just end already? Most winters I do give in to emotional eating, not going to the gym and overall, hibernating. This year I'm forcing myself to hit the gym 3 times a week (which is rough – I skipped today, for example), and filling up my social calendar as much as possible, despite being super busy with work.Does it make you feel any better to hear that Cynthia and I are in talks about a possible Chicago meet-up in May? Would you (or anyone else in IPF, and StyleNation as a whole) be interested?

Leave a Reply

