Day Late and a Dollar Short

Day Late: Like Anne, I’m wearing my blazer a day after the designated blazer day. It seemed sort of ridiculous to wear a blazer on a non-teaching day when I was working at home. So today it is. One thing I found tricky today with this blazer is what to do in terms of outerwear. It’s gotten cold here again (legitimately cold, not the general, wimpy “cold” we typically get here) and the blazer really didn’t cut it as an inner/ outerwear combo. The thing is, I really hate wearing a coat over top of a blazer. If A-Dub’s legs get claustrophobic with jeans tucked into boots, my arms feel the same way about being encased in both a blazer and a seasonally appropriate coat. So, like a teenager, I spurned warmth for fashion. Fortunately, I’ve been outside for maybe 5 minutes.
Dollar Short:

Blazer: Addition Elle (remixed)
Striped top: Old Navy
Pants: NY & Co. (remixed)
Shoes: Chucks

This was an outfit I liked more in theory than in execution. I think I could have used a necklace or something and I would have preferred to wear my originally scheduled shoes, rather than this late, weather mandated substitute.

Black, faux-wrap top: Joe
Black under layer: Target
Grey pin-striped pants: Target
Purple and silver scarf: gifted, my sister brought this beautiful silk scarf back for me from Italy
Black & white bangle: gifted, the same sister got this for me in Morocco (detail shot below)
Apologies for the poor photo — I was looking for new photo locations. This was not a winner.

I also felt like this outfit looked better in my mind than in execution. It’s fine but that’s about it. Stupid February.

Anyone else finding it impossible to dress for February? Shouldn’t this be month that’s automatically cancelled for those of us in the northern hemisphere?

25 thoughts on “Day Late and a Dollar Short

  1. Dude, I'm all for cancelling February. Let's do it! Also, that blazer is amazing. Like LHdM, I love it paired with Chucks. (And I, too, miss my Chucks that I'm not allowed to wear anymore because of apparently ridiculously flat feet) Also, that bracelet is beautiful. If I COULD, I would steal it from you. Then feel bad. But not too bad.

  2. I have a hard time wearing blazers under coats, too. There's too many buttons, zippers, and sleeves for it to be comfortable. I may start using A-Dubs's suggestion of carrying them in instead (though mine would have to get rolled up in a tote bag or backpack, so they might emerge looking a little rumpled). I love the color of your blazer.

  3. "In the spirit of the month, I'm giving up". Love it. I totally gave up today. I feel like I'm getting sick, but I've felt that way since Monday and it hasn't happened yet. I hope I'm not going to feel this way for the rest of the month.Also, I like your blazer. I tend to buy my winter coats a little oversized, so I just make sure I've got one that's got lining in the sleeves, and generally that does the trick. Right now I'm mostly wearing a big tweedy coat that doesn't provide much warmth unless there's a thick sweater or a blazer under it.

  4. Allison: Man, a beavertail would really hit the spot right now. Also, you're so right about Winterlude not fooling anyone (I lived in Ottawa for a year when I was much younger. Those winters are bru.tal). Charlotte: I agree. I can really only manage layering if camisoles or cardigans are involved.J-Em: See, above re: Ottawa winters. Brr. I seem to remember wearing blazers under winter coats in grad school. Apparently, I'm getting more claustrophobic in my old age. K. Bean: Thanks. I do like the chucks and that shirt. Clearly, I think my issue was sort of with the pants part of this equation. I would have liked it far more readily if I was wearing jeans. SFE: I am growing my hair out — though I do also usually have it pulled back. I want to have it longer for my sister's wedding but I'm also feeling like I want to hack it all off immediately. DMed: Good to have some proof of life. The new spot does remind me of your photo spot — though it didn't work quite as well as I would have liked so my quest continues. Fortunately with this photo, the cut off shoes were not actually the ones I had been wearing all day because I'd hate to introduce even the slightest element of artificiality into these pictures…

  5. Just stopping by to prove I haven't died, even though I feel like death. E-Jo, I am on board with both of these very minimal-chic outfits; you don't know. And I like the new photo op spot, sort of because it reminds me of mine. Why is it so hard to get feet in the shot when shoes are so important?Also, do not, I repeat, DO NOT cancel February. I, like Rad, desperately need February because January just about destroyed me. Plus, dudes, Reading Week, how much do I love thee?

  6. I like both these outfits, just as they are. The blazer with Chucks combo is fun, and I love the way the black-and-white Chucks pick up the striped top. The second outfit works really well, I think, all harmonious neutrals and an awesome scarf. The double-jacket thing is annoying, I agree, though I had no trouble with it the other day because my current sleeping bag with arms is too big. Generally, though, winter ruins far too many of my plans, sartorial and otherwise.

  7. I think February cancelled me.In other news, I have decided that your sister should become my personal shopper and that you and A-Dubs are somehow magically resistant to cold, because the blazer is an essential part of my winter layering scheme. Even under my own sleeping bag with arms.

  8. I agree with you about wearing a coat over a blazer. It's like wearing two coats. Pants over tights, pants over thermal pants, a too-small sweater over anything….crazy-making.March will be here before you know it, Dubby. Chipper up.

  9. I'm going with Chalkdust's plan – cancel February. I am so over winter. Ottawa tries to make us forget how hateful it can be by having Winterlude. Maybe what we all need is a Beavertail…In any case, I think both outfits are great. I am a fan of pairing chucks with blazers in the warmer months. It says "I mean business, but have a fun side too".

  10. LHdM: I like the chucks and blazer combo too — though I think I might like it a little better with jeans. February is a foolish month. Eliot is totally wrong about April.Judy C: Part of the issue today is that the temperature dropped about 30 degrees F (15 degrees C) in about 2 hours so it was impossible to sort out outerwear in any reasonable way. A-Dubs: Next time I wear that scarf, you'll get a close up. It's really lovely. My sister is a superstar souvenir buyer. She's the one that bought me that oversized houndstooth scarf in China. Also, your brought in on hanger trick sounds impressively grown-up. I've just managed to start bringing my lunch so I think that be too advanced for me.AW: Thanks! I love the color too. It's so bright and cheerful. I wore it on my campus interview at the place I work at so it's also a lucky blazer and a key conversation starter in awkward small talk scenarios.Cynthia: Oh giving up. Why do you have such a bad reputation? Hopefully you start feeling better. I had the same sort of thing last term where I felt like I was getting sick for a long time but never got really sick. It was the worst. C&B: My sister is, again, the souvenir queen. I love it too. And it's super wearable with the black, white and gold trim. I haven't blogged it before but it's gotten a bunch of wearings. I've got an excellent alarm system in my super bark-y little dog so I'll see you coming for the bracelet!Rebecca: Thanks! I really liked seeing the different ways people were styling blazers too.Rad: It's weird, I have a black blazer that I never wear but this bright blue one, a seemingly more difficult color, gets a fair amount of use. I hear you on needing the next three weeks. Obviously, when I advocated getting rid of it, I meant that there would be some sort of magic that did all the work we needed to get done in February. IoBM: We're having the same crazy weather; it wasn't quite that crazy but it was 70 a couple days ago and is forecast to be back there in a few days. Today, we're down around 20 after starting at 50. Ugh. SMS: Thanks! Anne: I really like your title though! I saw it and wished I was that clever. Winter weather TOTALLY ruins fun things. Though, really I shouldn't complain as there's been maybe a week of cold weather here. You and others have legitimate winters.

  11. Not only are we blazer buddies today, but I totally almost gave my post the same title! Except that I found $1 in the pocket of my blazer, so the "dollar short" part seemed like it would just be a big, bold-faced lie.And I hate how winter weather ruins fun things, like which shoes can be worn. Although oddly enough, I appreciated having the extra warmth of the blazer under my puffer coat this morning because it was 2 degrees out! Although normally I agree on the annoyingness of coat-on-blazer action. Unlike A-Dubs, I tend to stuff my blazer in my backpack with my computer instead of wearing it under my coat.

  12. February is not a kind month. Today we had ice on the windshield of the car but at 4 p.m. it had warmed up enough that I was walking around in my shirtsleeves. Tonight the temps are supposed to dip to cold and raining.I'll be glad when February is done.

  13. Both of these outfits are awesome. I feel the need for a blue blazer myself. And I think that I could have a few awesome scarves like the one in the second outfit, I would have more polished neutral outfits. Hearts all around.I feel you on February being no fun, but can I say that some of us desperately need this month to write conference papers that should be written already? Please let me keep these next 3 weeks. Back to work!

  14. Dude, I'm all for cancelling February. Let's do it! Also, that blazer is amazing. Like LHdM, I love it paired with Chucks. (And I, too, miss my Chucks that I'm not allowed to wear anymore because of apparently ridiculously flat feet) Also, that bracelet is beautiful. If I COULD, I would steal it from you. Then feel bad. But not too bad.

  15. "In the spirit of the month, I'm giving up". Love it. I totally gave up today. I feel like I'm getting sick, but I've felt that way since Monday and it hasn't happened yet. I hope I'm not going to feel this way for the rest of the month.Also, I like your blazer. I tend to buy my winter coats a little oversized, so I just make sure I've got one that's got lining in the sleeves, and generally that does the trick. Right now I'm mostly wearing a big tweedy coat that doesn't provide much warmth unless there's a thick sweater or a blazer under it.

  16. I have a hard time wearing blazers under coats, too. There's too many buttons, zippers, and sleeves for it to be comfortable. I may start using A-Dubs's suggestion of carrying them in instead (though mine would have to get rolled up in a tote bag or backpack, so they might emerge looking a little rumpled). I love the color of your blazer.

  17. I hear you on the arm claustrophobia. I've taken to carrying my blazers in on hangers instead of layering them under my sleeping bag with arms (a.k.a. necessary winter puffy coat). If I had a personal assistant, this would be their job, because I hate doing it. In other news, I don't know what you're on about. That second outfit with the beautiful bracelet looks all sleek and interesting-neutral-mixy. What are the chances of an equally close-up glimpse of that awesome scarf? And the dollar short ensemble is also great. I love all the neutrals under the velvet blazer and will trying to reproduce this in some manner while velvet blazers are still seasonably appropriate (so I'll have LOTS of time, obviously).

  18. Also, I can't figure out how to get right picture to show up for the Everybody, Everywear site so, in the spirit of the month, I'm giving up. Next time.

Leave a Reply

