Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day, StyleNation! I have to say, I’m pretty indifferent to this holiday — it seems neither so wonderful nor so awful to me as pop culture would lead me to believe I should feel (it’s almost as though pop culture tries to *gasp* manufacture feelings). Today was a good V-Day though. Nothing in the way of romance, but, because we had a speaker here today who’s work is related to mine and who spoke in one of my classes (so, score! no lecture writing), I got taken out for both lunch and dinner on the university’s dime. Good times ensued. Particularly, our dinner where we, a bunch of academic women, discussed Annie Sprinkle well within earshot of our neighboring teenage diners (who were totes adorable. The dude had matched his tie to his girlfriend’s dress).
Anyhow, here’s what I wore today.
Dress & maroon pullover: Joe
Navy tights: Hue
Pink flats: Gap
Pink bracelet: World Market


I got this dress over Christmas and then promptly forgot I had it. It’s sleeveless so not entirely weather appropriate yet here (give it a couple of weeks). But I really like it under this v-neck sweater. This picture doesn’t show it off as well as it did in real life. The v-neck of the dress is sort of blouse-y so it added some nice dimension to the sweater.


I wore this last Friday to teach, attend a long faculty meeting, and then drink some delicious dirty martinis with goat cheese stuffed olives with friends.


Top: Joe
Skirt: NY & Co.
Scarf: Gift from A-Dubs
Black, chevron patterned tights: Hue
Ankle booties: Franco Sarto, ages and ages ago
I haven’t worn these boots in ages. I got them nearly seven years ago when I was a MA student and wore them constantly for a couple of years–though exclusively with pants. This is the first time I’ve worn them like this. It’s probably been two years at least since I pulled them out but, in the spirit of not keeping things I don’t wear, I pulled them to out to either wear or abandon forever. I feel like it was a mixed experiment. On one hand, they’re pretty comfortable because they’re super worn in and they’ve got a 2 1/2 inch wedge which works well with my feet. I also like the look of them when I’m looking down at them. On the other hand, I’m not sure that they entirely work on me. I occasionally felt slightly ridiculous in them — like they were wearing me, not the other way around. So I’m keeping them for now and will try to remix them again soon to see if I just need to get a little more comfortable with the idea of visible short boots.
How do you broaden your sartorial horizons? Have a good Valentine’s Day, full of chocolate or other good things?

10 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

  1. Huge fan of Valentine's Day, but mostly the every-kid-in-class-gets-a-cutout-card version. Chocolate cupcakes with pink icing and cinnamon hearts on top only add to the awesome.The best grown-up Valentine's Day I've ever had involved getting a weird thing on my chin lasered off and then going for salad at a pub. This year, a random IT guy made a rude and uninvited crack about my height in the elevator (at 9 AM, no less). I would forgive him for a cupcake.That said, you are running an excellent Joe Fresh clinic up in here, and I totally approve of everything you're doing. I am taking notes.

  2. Love the muted colors of both of these outfits. Total outfit wins. I also find Valentine's Day bewildering and weird, and feel odd around those who are into it. Whenever I am done with GAAD, I need fabulous flats like yours.

  3. I am totally buying what you are selling. The new dress – is it gunmetal grey? – looks great with the lovely wine-coloured sweater. Is the dress jersey of some kind? It looks like it has a bit of a sheen to it. And I'm taking notes on the whole bright flats instead of black shoes with black tights extravaganza. Also, the drinks with stuffed olives ensemble is Awe.Some. I'm looking for a skirt pretty much EXACTLY like the one you've got on. And The Bay's got NY&Co. stuff, n'est-ce pas? I'm so there. In other news, I'm loving the mix of the neutral wiener dog and the full-on profesh/casual wiener beside him.

  4. Not a big fan of Valentine's Day either, though I do enthusiastically participate in its mandated chocolate consumption.I like both of these outfits. The layering works well in the first outfit, and the second is all sorts of zazz. The boots totally work.

  5. Great outfits here – I like the dress layering and I think that you are definitely wearing the boots, and not the other way around. Joe Fresh has some great stripey tops in store now. Including a black and white 3/4 sleeve with funky shoulder detail. I'm hoping to snatch it up soon!

  6. As a terminally single person, I have to say I was finding the overload of cutesy couple smooching facebook pictures and such a little much yesterday. When I have been in relationships though, I've never been much for the prescribed hoopla.I think both of these are great outfits.

  7. Love the new dress–it layers so well! Like Anne, I like the teaching/drinking outfit. I broadened my sartorial horizons by having to change halfway through the day because of a wardrobe malfunction of sorts, which I will discuss tomorrow. For V-day I watched a political debate. With a group of people. But with wine and pink-and-red cupcakes. So that's romantic, right?

  8. Ooh, I like your Friday teaching/drinking outfit! Nice scarf! And I'd love to see the new dress not covered up by a sweater sometime (perhaps paired with a cardigan or blazer instead?). I made a heart-shaped chocolate chip cookie cake because I felt like baking tonight, and promptly ate about a fourth of it, so I've had more than enough chocolate for the day.

Leave a Reply

