Studies in Grey

What’s up, fashionable people? It’s nice to be able to stop in to talk about clothes before digging back into tonight’s marking, lecture prep, and research planning. In addition, let the official record show that there is significantly more morning light these days (as V also recently noted). Somehow, for me, this makes everything more manageable.

Anyway, let’s talk about clothes already, before I succumb to the temptation to talk about sex instead.

1. First, there’s this grey sweater, purchased in Florida of all places, on a mini-break with Janey Emm a few years ago, and worn for a non-teaching, no meeting day on campus:

Wool/angora/nylon blend sweater: Shine New York
Necklace: January sale at The Bay
Cotton jersey dress: Kataya
Invisible grey leggings: Joe Fresh
Bootage: Rieker (gifted from stylish sis-in-law, remixed)

Then there was a boot switch, because I decided darker coloured boots would be better.

Mystery booties: ?? – it’s a mystery (via Winners, remixed)

2. Then, because E-Jo wore this (see second ensemble), and E of Academichic wore this, I was inspired to teach in this:

Necklace: awesome gift from Janey Emm
Cardigan: Smart Set
Shell: Alfani (remixed)
Trousers: Tahari (via Winners, remixed)
Belt: Winners
Invisible mystery booties: as above

And you’re probably excited to see that I struck an entirely different pose to better highlight this brilliant necklace:

That’s all I’ve got today. 

Who’s inspiring your sartorial choices of late? 

Also, northern hemisphere dwellers, are mornings getting easier for you, 
now that there’s a wee bit more light? 

23 thoughts on “Studies in Grey

  1. Wow, coral continues to look great on you (and E-Jo too – must be an IPF thing…). Also, your blue coffee mug looks so nice with the coral – do you possibly have any similarly colored jewelry? If not, I think you need to carry that cup around all the time. I know I do that with my coffee most days anyway.And the mornings ARE getting easier! I noticed today that it was actually getting light during my morning work-out, which I don't think has happened in a few months. Our unseasonably warm weather here is helping too.

  2. You rock the sweater coat, and I love everything about the second outfit. Necklace! Coral shade! Great belt usage! Stellar pant action!The exclamation points continue.

  3. *D-Med: You can't have the sweater because I am also freezing my bag of here and can't be without it (the sweater). Also, thanks for telling me to keep the pants. Clearly, we have excellent combined taste. (Not that yours is not awesome all on its own.)*Anne: Thanks for the blue suggestion! In fact, I have one of those ceramic and silicone carry mugs in this exact blue. As I've nothing in this colour, it's probably a good thing that I don't go anywhere during the day without caffeine in hand. Also, huzzah! Light in which to work out! Maybe I should do some morning working out then. . .*Charlotte: Does this mean you've managed to have your classes scheduled to reflect your lack of interest in morning participation? If so, please teach us your ways. I am currently a lifelong nighthawk masquerading, by necessity, as a morning person. *Sal: I know, right? That's probably why it was almost free, despite being made of almost all natural fibres. *KB: I'm concerned about your punctuation. Is it yet another sign of the coming apocalypse? Also, thanks! And I'm hoping for some slightly different "great pant action" this eve.

  4. *Cynthia: Yes, it would be best, it seems, for me to keep the sweater coat as you will roast in it. Also, ha! I love learning new hip ways of spelling words. I'm adding "hawt" to my roster of words used to stay up to date with coolkid slang. *E-Jo: I dunno. I reeeaallly like your mix of coral with gray and black. Also, seriously? Already? I'm with D-Med: you're getting a pounding. *MonkeyF: I know, right? In FLORIDA. Also, your colour mixing is inspired. I'm just trying to keep up. *J_E: Totes. Together, we're like tall whirlwind of shopping excellence. (If one can actually have a tall whirlwind.)*Rad: Indeed. We're sliding down February's backside. That said, there's still the dark butthole that is March. . . Also, thanks! And what if we got to see your sweater coat?*Rebecca: Thanks! It was, perhaps unsurprisingly, REMARKABLY reduced. *CourtneyE: I know, right? It's totally for curling up in and drinking hot beverages while reading important things. Important things like vampire novels.

  5. You rock the sweater coat, and I love everything about the second outfit. Necklace! Coral shade! Great belt usage! Stellar pant action!The exclamation points continue.

  6. Wow, coral continues to look great on you (and E-Jo too – must be an IPF thing…). Also, your blue coffee mug looks so nice with the coral – do you possibly have any similarly colored jewelry? If not, I think you need to carry that cup around all the time. I know I do that with my coffee most days anyway.And the mornings ARE getting easier! I noticed today that it was actually getting light during my morning work-out, which I don't think has happened in a few months. Our unseasonably warm weather here is helping too.

  7. I agree with the sweater coat love. I have a similar color coat, but it lacks a great drape and tailored fit. Also, those trousers? I think I need a pair. Soon. Wide legs are so making a come back. Way to look leggy, elegant and Katherine Hepburn-esque.I am very excited about how light it is early and how light it stays in the afternoon. It's like a whole new world compared to December. Here's to being on the downhill of February.

  8. I love all the grey here. I really like the lighter grey with the coral — I prefer to the black I wore. Also, Cynthia, I'm right there with you. It's still in the 70s this week here but with 80% humidity. Ugh, ugh, ugh.

  9. AW: we posted comments at almost the EXACT same time. We are soooo in tune. Also, I know, right? It's weird. And it's something I've not been able to reproduce. At all.

  10. Thanks, woman! The light around 5:30 is my absolute favourite right now: it's all indigo blue and bouncing off the snow. (Probably for you it's bouncing off the cherry blossoms, dang it!)

  11. Mornings are definitely better, as are evenings! It's still light out at 5:30. I'm agog. It felt like it would never end. Your legs look miles long in those pants.

Leave a Reply

