The Difference a Week Makes

TGIF, Style Nation. This week has felt like an eon so it’s nice to see it’s tail end. Today actually ended the week on a high note. My classes went really well today and I had some good post-class conversations with my students that were interesting, not the usual demands for extensions. There’s something about a good class that is really invigorating — though, of course, a bad class is equivalently enervating–and this helped mitigate the disappointment of hearing some bad news about an article I had out.
One thing that made my day is that I got a number of compliments on today’s outfit.
Dress and silver beads: LOFT Outlet
Black shirt: Target
Black tights: Hue
Blue shoes: Joe


I was pretty happy with this — and, given how warm it’s getting here, this is probably one of the last days I can wear this dress to teach as it feels a little short without tights.


This is a sharp change in the weather from last week when I wore this:


Sweater: Gap
Pants: NY & Co.
Striped shirt: Joe
Shoes: Chucks
Necklace: as above
Then, I desperately needed layers as it was super windy. Today, the tights were pretty warm. I finding a little difficult to dress with these sharp fluctuations in weather. Since it’s still February, I automatically head to my drawer with long sleeved tops and sweaters but once I get outside I’m often overdressed. Or I go for the short-sleeved tops which work midday but once the sun goes down, it’s pretty chilly. Now, these are obviously minor problems in all sorts of ways (and my apologies go to those of you who are still in winter’s grip) but I still find that it creates a kind of antagonism between my clothes and myself.
How do you prepare yourself for dressing in-between seasons? Any fun weekend plans?

12 thoughts on “The Difference a Week Makes

  1. Cynthia: I was thinking the same thing about my sweaters. It's not totally inconceivable that the weather could cool down again but I think we're on the steady upswing towards the summer furnace. I don't know that I have a skirt that would layer underneath but I'm going to go through my options!Sheila: Ooh. West Coast spring! I'm going to be up there for a conference at the end of March so I'll get to see some of it in action. Though wildflowers break out here pretty soon which is also really nice.Anne: Do I lose style cred if I admit I don't own leggings? (Apart from a totally trashed pair I wear around the house). The problem right now is that it's 60%+ humidity everyday which makes the thought of fabric-encased legs a little grim. So I'm just preparing to blind people with my similarly blindingly white legs. (Fun fact: My legs are prize-winningly white. I once won a pale-off with D Med and some others.) Rad: Layering sounds like a good plan — especially as all buildings on campus will continue to be heated as though the temperature hovers around freezing. I go back and forth on whether the dress is too short. Objectively, I don't think it is, but it somehow feels really short.Allison: Thanks! Actually, what I should do for the next couple of weeks is wear pants and tights as frequently as possible as it will all too soon be unbearable to do so here.Terri: Thanks! Fabric weight is a good change too. There's something pretty wonderful about moving from winter's thick cottons and wools to summer's floaty linens and thin cottons. LHdM: The article didn't come back with much in the way of helpful feedback but it also didn't come back with mean feedback so at least there's that. I'm putting it away for the time being and will try to get back to it later in the summer. Time away is probably what I need from it. Those blue flats got more attention than anything else on Friday. Nothing captures other people's fancy like a pop-of-color shoe! Hopefully, winter's cruel grip begins to loosen soon for you! I remember how unending it seems in late February.

  2. Heh, a "pale-off." 🙂 I think if we were to have a contest to find the brightest, most blindingly white legs, I'd have a real decent shot. I'm not positive, but I think the glare off my bare legs can be seen in several states.

  3. Heh, a "pale-off." 🙂 I think if we were to have a contest to find the brightest, most blindingly white legs, I'd have a real decent shot. I'm not positive, but I think the glare off my bare legs can be seen in several states.

  4. More love for that black and white dress, especially with the bright flats! I demand you come up to Beantown and help me shop for bright flats.In-between seasons can be challenging. Light layers, especially cardigans and lightweight jackets. Scarves. Closed-toe shoes and long sleeves with bare ankles.

  5. Cynthia: I was thinking the same thing about my sweaters. It's not totally inconceivable that the weather could cool down again but I think we're on the steady upswing towards the summer furnace. I don't know that I have a skirt that would layer underneath but I'm going to go through my options!Sheila: Ooh. West Coast spring! I'm going to be up there for a conference at the end of March so I'll get to see some of it in action. Though wildflowers break out here pretty soon which is also really nice.Anne: Do I lose style cred if I admit I don't own leggings? (Apart from a totally trashed pair I wear around the house). The problem right now is that it's 60%+ humidity everyday which makes the thought of fabric-encased legs a little grim. So I'm just preparing to blind people with my similarly blindingly white legs. (Fun fact: My legs are prize-winningly white. I once won a pale-off with D Med and some others.) Rad: Layering sounds like a good plan — especially as all buildings on campus will continue to be heated as though the temperature hovers around freezing. I go back and forth on whether the dress is too short. Objectively, I don't think it is, but it somehow feels really short.Allison: Thanks! Actually, what I should do for the next couple of weeks is wear pants and tights as frequently as possible as it will all too soon be unbearable to do so here.Terri: Thanks! Fabric weight is a good change too. There's something pretty wonderful about moving from winter's thick cottons and wools to summer's floaty linens and thin cottons. LHdM: The article didn't come back with much in the way of helpful feedback but it also didn't come back with mean feedback so at least there's that. I'm putting it away for the time being and will try to get back to it later in the summer. Time away is probably what I need from it. Those blue flats got more attention than anything else on Friday. Nothing captures other people's fancy like a pop-of-color shoe! Hopefully, winter's cruel grip begins to loosen soon for you! I remember how unending it seems in late February.

  6. I'm really sorry to hear about the bad news about the article! Hopefully, you at least got some good feedback so you can send it back out there. I love the dress and blue flats pairing! Winter still has me in its cruel grip, but I usually do the layer thing during transitions between seasons.

  7. That's a great dress! It was unseasonably warm here today, but still cold. I always struggle to transition my dressing between seasons. The transition back to pants is always particularly difficult, and the transition away from tights is another tricky one!

  8. Wow, that dress and the shoes are a great combo. I don't think it's too short to wear without tights, but definitely some light leggings would work. Today, it was 60 degrees during the day, so I layered (jacket, sweater, dress) and was OK for the most part. Got a little hot, though. Outerwear for in between weather is the hardest, right?

  9. Oh my gosh, your outfit today looks so so SO good! Are leggings under the dress an option after tights weather passes? Or like Cynthia and Sheila have suggested, layering a skirt underneath. I'm worried about not being able to wear tights too. I've been pretty fearless (for me) on showing leg this winter, but I can't possibly subject people to that much of my bright, pasty legs come springtime.And dressing in between seasons is the worst! We actually are experiencing that here. It was nice and warm when I left this morning ("warm" being 45), and cold and windy by the time I got home. I must've worked too many hours today. But I think layering is key for the transitional weather.

  10. It looks like spring here (crocuses, trees trying to bloom), but it's still cold. I really am getting tired of tights – I want to be bare-legged again…but it's going to be a few months yet. Love that dress on you! You could layer another skirt under it (a full-ish black one) to give yourself a bit more length, and enable you to wear it with bare legs.

  11. Yeah, today was a tough one for me, we had summer here, I actually started thinking, hey, is it time to box up all the sweaters?I love, love, love that black and grey dress. Layer a knit skirt under it and keep wearing!

Leave a Reply

