Smell you later, February. Thank goddess you’re over.

My final week of this dark month was made slightly more bearable when, despite our pact to save for house buying and not travel this Reading Week, the Hubs and I folded and took our frozen butts south to hang with his snowbird parents in Florida. It was but a few short days of respite, but respite it was – despite our guilt about (a) not saving money, and (b) sending the Fuzzy Roommate to dog jail/the kennel.

March will be busy and depressing, to be sure, but at least it won’t be February. Perhaps its non-Februaryness will keep me from taking refuge, mid-week, in the following:













Fuschia pashmina: ? (Once again, I removed the tag. I hate tags on scarves)
Dress: Cleo (via Value Village, remixed)
Wool sweater:  Elisabetta (via Winners)
T-shirt: Kenneth Cole
Necklace: The Bay (remixed)
Leggings: Groggy (remixed)
Hegemony boots: Feet First (remixed)

In addition, I cannot wait to wear shoes instead of boots, especially with skirts like this one:

Top: Kenneth Cole (via Winners, remixed)
Cardigan: Zara
Invisible silver necklace: temporary swap with friend

Bangle: Le Chateau
Belt: Buffalo (via Winners, remixed)
Skirt: Olsen (via The Bay)
Tights: Hue
Boots: Rieker (via Shoe Heaven, remixed)

In short and to sum up: suck it, February. I’m glad you’re gone. 

OK, StyleNation, now it’s your turn: 
help us say good-bye to this heinous month. 
(Tell us what you won’t miss about February. Also, how do you plan to survive March?)

24 thoughts on “

  1. Dude. I WISH I had a two week long spring break. Instead my single week off starts in two weeks. Also, really? You can't get behind ketchup chips? They're delicious.

  2. *E-Jo: How can you be such a smartypants in so many ways and not eschew the horror that is ketchup chips? Also, bad news about the singular week off. It will never be enough.*northeastchic: welcome! I'm now following your excellent blog. I wish I had your imagination for spring!*Sheila: that's right, woman! Everything about February sucks bag. The stripey skirt reminds me of you. Probably because of its shape.*JE:Do tell about the March survival shopping! Also, carrots are NOT even a halfway-appropriate chip substitute. Thatis crazy talk.*KB: Dude. That seems like a seriously kickass focal point for your month of March! Are they going somewhere, or are you?

  3. *KB: Sweet! Wish I could be there to feed you (and me) bonbons and help with the lounging. *SU: Like E-Jo, you have sun, so you do not need chips. This is a long way of saying that the chips are long gone. Well, parts of them remain. In the increasingly lumpy parts of my buttal and thighal region. Also, seriously!? You get to hang with Anne? I am super jealous. We definitely need to connect some point very soon. And obviously you can borrow the skirt when I come to visit. If you promise to show me how to make it bada$$. And if I can spend some quality time walking around in those sweet red shoes you got last summer. . .

  4. You are so funny. I remember how much you hated last February. Save some chips for me. We need to touch base soon, like in March, or April. Let's try March. In April I'm hoping to meet up with Anne. We have sun in SoCal, just so you know. TTYL.Oh, outfit one is great…love me some red and black. Outfit two, the skirt is awesome. May I borrow it when you come to visit?

  5. *E-Jo: How can you be such a smartypants in so many ways and not eschew the horror that is ketchup chips? Also, bad news about the singular week off. It will never be enough.*northeastchic: welcome! I'm now following your excellent blog. I wish I had your imagination for spring!*Sheila: that's right, woman! Everything about February sucks bag. The stripey skirt reminds me of you. Probably because of its shape.*JE:Do tell about the March survival shopping! Also, carrots are NOT even a halfway-appropriate chip substitute. Thatis crazy talk.*KB: Dude. That seems like a seriously kickass focal point for your month of March! Are they going somewhere, or are you?

  6. February decided to kick my ass just one more time on its way out: freezing rain. Suck it, February.March: counting down to crocuses and framing the entire month's sloggery around my kid-and-husband-free weekend. Which: WOOT!

  7. February can suck it. Unfortunately, it's still in line behind January, which is waiting its turn because December won't stop sucking it. Chips, on the other hand, can totally bring it. Wise choice. They go with everything. (And, for the record, are much tastier than my chip-substitute snack: carrot sticks and grainy dijon mustard.) (Which SEEMED like a good idea at the time.)I intend to survive March by shopping my way through. Thanks to the fine folks at Foley+Corinna for getting me started.

  8. I will not miss the snow. I will not miss the dark afternoons. I will not miss the bare tree branches. I also remove tags from scarves! Love the stripey skirt!

  9. But your boots are all so lovey….and I'm lovin the Cleo dress.About February and that rotten little groundhog, what the heck does he know. I'm not going to miss the ice dams on my roof which cause it to RAIN into my home. Yep, not gonna miss that one bit. And I'll bet if I could move that mountain of snow in the yard there just might be the peeping of a tiny little crocus. A gal can dream!

  10. Dude. I WISH I had a two week long spring break. Instead my single week off starts in two weeks. Also, really? You can't get behind ketchup chips? They're delicious.

  11. *Anne: Cheers to mutual ill-advised-travel facilitation! And light at the end of the day is such a precious thing right now, I agree. *CE: Hmmph. All your applications and conference proposals happened last month? Mine are beginning (again) right now. Bah! Also, we could do some serious damage to chips and wine together.*Sal: Well, we're even, then. Your pink and red outfit yesterday did the same for me. Also, the weather peeps on the radio this morning gleefully announced that March-May in my city will be much colder than usual this year. It's all stupid. *MissB: Thanks! And I think I'll say hello to March the same way because, as noted above, there's just no end to the deep freeze.

  12. *Cynthia: Thanks! I'm relieved you think it works, despite the skirt length. *Millie: I know, right? Those chips are totally addictive. But then I find almost any chips addictive. Except for ketchup chips. Those I cannot get behind. Also, I hope your strategy works. It's minus a million here, so I'll be with you in spirit only. *Katie: Ohmigoddess. It's bare leg weather there already? You're getting a pounding. Also, do we get to see a sample of your beautiful "M"?*Allison: A few days of warm weather is an important bit of respite, even if you must work while experiencing it. And thanks! Usually Olsen stuff widens me, but this skirt does the opposite, I think. Probably because of the stripes.*E-Jo: My memory of your dress is probably what made me feel I had to buy this one. But my cleavage is not nearly as awesome as yours, so we'll be looking forward to your less layered remix! Also, the chips are gone. All of them. Besides, you don't need them as you get two freaking weeks for spring break. Will you be going wild in Daytona, then?

  13. I choose to say goodbye to Feb the same way you are in the first picture. Wine and junk food, despite the hang over and water retention when I wake up at least it won't be Feb-tober anymore (SNL anyone?). I like the red accents in the second outfit, esp with the bangle.

  14. If only the end of February meant that spring was imminent. I see no end to winter and it's KILLING me.That striped skirt, however, made me smile.

  15. White wine and salt and vinegar kettle chips are my snack of choice! I'm so glad February is over – so many applications and conference proposals to write…xoxo ~ Courtneyhttp://sartorialsidelines.blogspot.com

  16. You went to Florida? I'm beyond jealous. But it's good you got a break. I mean sure, saving is important, but so is sanity. And it makes me feel better about us booking a 10 day vacation a week before we found our dream condo. Woops.That skirt is so great! I imagine there's endless possibilities for awesome outfits, and I can't wait to see them.I'm happy to say goodbye to February too! I'm really excited that it's still kind of light out when I walk home from work at 6pm.

  17. I really like that first outfit — it really reminds me of the dress I wore to your wedding. It makes me want to try to remix it shortly here — though with slightly fewer layers. I think I even have a fuschia pashmina.I covet those chips immensely. You should bring 'em down here immediately. I'm surviving March with the knowledge that Spring Break is only two weeks away and I've got two sessions of one class coming up that are going to be movie viewing and one session of the other that's a guest lecture. That's half the classes until Spring Break. Woo.

  18. What a spiffy skirt you're sporting. Those accessories in the first pic are right on the mark. I am happy to say goodbye to February. Good riddance! Hopefully March will be better. I'll be heading south for a few days, for work, but the warmer weather should be nice.

  19. It's silly, but I dislike February because I don't like writing the capital letter "F." I can't find an "F" I like. "M," however, is a letter I write beautifully. And since I write the date as "28 February 2011," I'm so excited to start writing "March!"And because it tends to warm up considerably in March where I live, I'm going to celebrate and get through by breaking out the bare legs!

Leave a Reply

