From One Extreme to Another

So, on Monday, we had D-Med’s thoughts on J.Crew cashmere, complete with photos of arm warmers.  Today, you have pictures of me, bare legged.  We like to cover all the bases here at IPF.

Down here at IPF South, we’re basically out of our 6 week winter (or what passes for such here) and are moving rapidly into the warm spring.  This means each day covers a wide spectrum of temperatures, with occasional torrential downpours.  Not helping matters, the various temperatures in university buildings vary widely so while my office is often on the cool side, the classroom I teach in is often boiling.  Layers have thus been a godsend.

In addition to constantly changeable weather, the approaching spring is making me desperately want color in my wardrobe options.  I’ve long been admiring various blogger’s colorful pencil skirts but have been unwilling to shell out the money for one.  Once again, Target comes to the rescue where I bought not 1 but 3 pencil skirts in veritable rainbow of colors.  They only had 3 colors; believe me, if there had been more options I probably would have bought them!

Cardigan & ruffly top: Gap Coral pencil skirt: Target Black flats: Me Too

Can you spot the mini-FR in this picture?  Even though this picture was taken later in the evening, its colors are definitely bright!  This may well be one of my favorite all-time outfits.  As a bonus, it gave me a chance to wear this yellow top which I got last fall at the outlets but have had trouble wearing.  This is, in part, because it’s made of rayon so just looking at it causes it to wrinkle; therefore, it really needs to be under something.  It’s also got a rounded neck, rather than my preferred v-neck, so it helps to pair it with this v-necked workhorse of a cardigan.

Black drapey cardigan, tank, and periwinkle pencil skirt: Target Belt: NY & Co. Nude flats: Me Too

Here’s the same skirt in a periwinkle blue (I also got a teal one but I haven’t worn it yet).  Both skirts are made out of my favorite ponte knit fabric so they’re super comfortable.  Combine that with this super soft, drape-y cardigan I bought with A-Dubs, and a cotton tank, and this is totally office pajamas.  Plus I even got my seemingly required pop of coral here in my nails!

How’s everyone managing the end of February?  As excited about March and the subsequent arrival of Spring Break as I am?

10 thoughts on “From One Extreme to Another

  1. Seriously, seriously, seriously freaking great stuff here. That yellow ruffly top is gorgeous, and I love how you dare to pair it with red. The blue skirt combo is likewise rockin’. You are the queen of jewel tones AND the mixing of jewel tone.

    You are also the queen of ridiculously ironic pillow covers. Well played, my (platonic) friend.

    I feel it my duty to note for the official record that the wave-length you and Anne appear to share is getting freakish. Seriously.

    In other serious news, I CANNOT WAIT for the teal skirt’s blog debut.

    • Thanks dude, on all fronts. The skirts are pretty awesome, aren’t they? And nothing touches the awesomeness of the B.A. Johnston pillow cover.

  2. I love both these outfits and both those skirts. You are making me want to head to Target, like, now. Way to rock the brights, E-Jo. Can we see the teal one soon?

  3. Girls with Low Self-Esteem. Geez, I don’t even have to click on your links anymore 🙂

    I wish I actually got a spring break, but in other news, it’s only 4 months until the first day of summer. So that’s something.

    I LOVE these colored pencil skirts! I especially like the coral/yellow combo. I’ll have to check out Target this weekend, see if I can’t find something bright and cute too.

    • I was looking for a clip where GOB or Lindsay declared spring break a national holiday but couldn’t find one… I knew I could rely on you to know what I meant!

      Definitely, check out the skirts — I’m really pleased with them so far. I haven’t had to wash them yet so that might change things but so far so good. Also, cheap.

      And excellent news about 4 months to summer — though where I live it’ll come even sooner! Which I know inspires jealousy in everyone, but, really, I miss seasons and I’m dreading the incipient arrival of 100 degree weather.

  4. Those skirts are amazing! You are all about rocking the jewel tones, E-Jo; I wish I had your colour confidence (she says eyeing an amazing orange dresser). Also, it sounds like you need arm-warmers for your office.

    In unrelated news, is that a B.A. Johnston cushion on your sofa?!?

    • Thanks! I don’t know that I’ve ever bought 3 of one thing before but I feel pretty confident about this decision! Especially as, altogether, this was well under $50.

      I’m not sure that it’s cold enough in my office for arm-warmers, but I’m awfully tempted — if only for the hipster-cred.

      You can have that orange dresser over my dead body. I’m super proud of it — if only because I only kept it when moving out of Ph.D. town because I was too disorganized to get rid of it properly. However, I’m not as proud of it as I am that B.A. Johnston pillow. It. is. awesome. It’s the t-shirt I got at that final concert we went to before I moved.

Leave a Reply

