New Guest Lecture Series: Professional Dressing (just) Outside the Academy

That’s right StyleNation. We’re introducing a new monthly Guest Lecture Series here at IPF, and we’re featuring none other than our stylish friend, partner in all great adventures, and Kelly‘s and my classmate from our M.A. years, janey_emm!! As always, we’re not quite organized enough to have a title for this new lecture series. Please feel free to make suggestions.

(We will, of course, feel free to use or not use said suggestions because we are awesome that way.

But we’ll credit you, if we use your words!)

Janey has lectured here before, of course, when we introduced her just over a year ago. I will, therefore, get out of the way so that janey can (re)introduce herself and get down to business(wear). Take it away, janey – and welcome (more permanently) aboard!:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Greetings, StyleNation! I’m janey_emm, and you may remember me from such guest lectures as 13 Ways of Looking at a Black Suit. If you don’t, you’re out of luck, ‘cause that’s the only one I did. But we press on.

I want to start this post off on the right foot by doing what I never did at the beginning of my M.A. thesis: thanking those who made this possible. I’m delighted to be here, IPFers; thanks for having me!

(Aside: was I really the only one who didn’t know that you were supposed to have an acknowledgements section? Why didn’t anyone tell me? I just launched right into my [tenuous] argument like I knew what I was doing, and no thanks to none of you for nothin’. That’s right: janey_emm, M.A. [with ingratitude].)

As I mentioned last time ‘round, I am not an academic. All the same, I like to think of myself as your sartorial sister. I don’t wear a uniform, but I don’t have a wardrobe of theory suits, either. I have to look both professional and personable. I understand that on any given day, my clothing choices signal my role, who I’m meeting with, and how cold it is in my office (VERY), so I think I get where you’re coming from. Also, I like boots and tights and excellent accessories. I’m pretty sure we’re going to get along.

With introductions out of the way, I want to get right to the clothes.

I’ve been following the Office Pajamas series with barely disguised naked envy over here at IPF DeskJob. My office environment is fairly conservative, which means that most days, I am being squeezed, smoothed, or otherwise jammed into some fairly uncomfy duds, except when I wear the wool pants that are far too big for me. (I refuse to give them up. See above, re: temperature of office.) The outfit below is the closest I get to living the Office PJ dream.

 

White blouse: 172 Grams; Sweater vest: H&M; Black pencil skirt: Michael Kors; Black tights: no clue; Black boots: pictured, Zara; actually worn at work and forgotten under desk, Kelsi Dagger’s Amarylis boot; Black pearls: remixed; BlackBerry: The Man; Pose: I-invited-my-friend-over-for-dinner-and-then-made-her-take-a-crazy-headless-pic-of-my-work-clothes (with a kick)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Postscript from A-Dubs: Watch for janey_emm’s posts here at IPF once a month from now on.

If you need a janey fix in between guest lectures, check her out at It’s So Involved Being Me.

12 thoughts on “New Guest Lecture Series: Professional Dressing (just) Outside the Academy

  1. Pingback: Dressing (Just) Outside the Academy: I’m Hot, Then I’m Cold | In Professorial Fashion

  2. That blouse is like a pirate and a lawyer got together to create a line of work-appropriate attire for pirate lawyers, which is to say, it is awesome. Totally awesome. Well-played, Janey-Emm, well-played.

    Also, Arrr! (pirate)

  3. Pingback: Spring Break! Woot! | In Professorial Fashion

  4. Hello, Janey Emm! I dig the ruffle detail at the bottom of the shirt. I look forward to your posts (and also need to figure out my own office PJ get up).

    • Thanks, Rad! The blouse is probably the coolest piece of clothing I own–I bought it at a tiny boutique in Old Montreal from a woman who made me feel both stylish and French. She could have sold me almost anything. Almost–she tried to get me into a fedora. I resisted.

  5. Welcome, janey_emm! It’s exciting to see another non-academic here as I’m a desk jockey too! But since I enjoy the stylings, wit and wisdom of the ladies of IPF so much, I look past their chosen profession as academics (obviously when I say “look past,” I mean I’m totally jealous).

    What about “Nonprofessorial Fashion?” Or “Office Fashions for Anne to Replicate?”

    • Thanks, Anne! Nice to meet someone else who drives a desk. I’m currently rocking a sweet fake-wood model with a curvy cut-out guest table/work space. You?

      • I wish mine was that nice! It’s a beige cube that I share with, well, no one currently. They don’t even try to make ours look like wood. Though today I’m working from the comfort of my mahogany dining room table, so I can’t complain.

  6. Yay! Janey-Emm guest post! Also, despite not working at a place all that akin to IPF DeskJob, I too am envious of A-Dubs’ skillz with the office pajamas. This might just have to be her super power.

    Also, dude, that blouse is all sort of awesome — with the puffy-ish sleeves. Love. it.

    • I have nothing but good things to say about the blouse. It is the ONLY item of clothing I own that I am willing to iron. I am not joking.

      • I deeply admire your dedication to non-ironing, particularly considering (a) your necessarily conservative office duds and (b) how completely spiffy you always look. Spifftastic, says I.

        Also, YAY for reading you here once a month!

Leave a Reply

