NSFW: Thinking Cap

Later this week I am meeting up with my IPF and other grad school colleagues to attend the wedding of Dr. Rinty the Crusher and The Librarian.  I will be trying not to look too awesome so as not to upstage the bride (impossible due to her loveliness) but it is going to be difficult because I will be wearing this:

This is not a photograph of me but of the brilliant hat designer and builder, who has the most amazing Etsy shop, but she and I have the same hair so you get the idea.  I’m planning to look at least as kicky and alluring as she though I’m going to need someone to help me with my eyeliner.  I considered doing a trial run with my new topper when I gave my final exams recently–you know, call it a thinking cap–and I think many of my students would have loved the gesture but I work at a fairly small university and the likelihood of running into the Dean, who I’m pretty sure thinks I’m a little too quirky, is high so I resisted.

I regret that decision.

10 thoughts on “NSFW: Thinking Cap

  1. Well, for instance, for the hats that I flagged, every day, with a winter coat? You know, assuming the cold was not punishing and the coat was just right and also kind of retro?

  2. Hotass Royale is that a great hat! I can’t wait to see it on you. (n.b. also can’t wait to see you!)
    I will help with eyeliner, as I am bringing more than I can possibly use.

  3. I’m with AFtK and Anne: this one’s a show stopper. But not a wedding stopper, to be clear.

    CANNOT wait to see it in real life. Cannot. Wait.

  4. This is a pretty great hat, and it looks especially awesome with your style of headsuit! I tried a couple similarly styled hats while wedding shopping, and I just can’t pull it off. I love the idea of wedding guests wearing hats! People really don’t wear enough hats these days.

    • I agree. Ladies regularly wear hats to weddings in England though, so I will be ready when I get my invitation to Harry’s. I was somehow left off the guest list for the last one. Probably because the Duchess is a little jealous of my headsuit finery, as well she should be.

Leave a Reply

