NSFW: Summer Dress, or How to Make Everyone Uncomfortable

(scroll down for outfit post) 

I’m preparing another conference report. It was super hot and sweaty at this particular conference, however, so there are things I have to wash and iron before I can even consider donning them, again, for you, StyleNation. In the mean time, I offer the following.

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year has proved exceptionally busy, if not particularly productive as yet, at least in terms of the multiple writing projects I’m meant to have on the go. I’ve travelled three times already, and I’ve got another trip this weekend. That said, it’s still  pleasant not to be teaching, and thus to have time to organize and prepare for what promises to be a frenzied and – I hope – invigorating summer of writing and getting things off my desk and onto the desks of others.

Even the student who skipped his deferred exam, emailed two days later to offer a weak and implausible excuse, then asked for another deferral really hasn’t phased me. Two months ago, this situation would have filled me with rage. But last week, I merrily denied his request, sent him back to his home faculty, and only bitched to D-Med about it for (what I recall as) a relatively short time last week.

Outfit Post: Live and Learn 

Recently, I wore a dress and took some photos of it so I can learn things. What I have learned is as follows:

1. The top of this dress is a little big for me, so it gapes in ways that are probably pretty uncomfortable for my students and colleagues. You know, unless they want to see my laundry-day bra and some blindingly white fleshy bits.

2. While the skirt is swirly, the pattern huge, and the colours pleasingly vibrant, the whole thing would, I think, be better on a woman a little older, and much darker-skinned than me. I think either a brown woman, or a very dark-skinned woman with a little more bosom, and a lot more experience and presence could do this baby more justice. Me, I feel like a ghost in it. A ghost whose boobs and armpit cleavage are occasionally on display if I do anything more than stand like this:

Crinkly summer dress: ?? (I cut out the scratchy tag. It is cotton and was on sale at one of those big discount department stores in Florida); “Snakeskin” gladiator sandals: Report (via Winners); Classy office boombox: bottom-of-the-line Canadian Tire, Baby

Sandal close-up. They are more comfortable than I expected. Like wear-around-all-day -in-the-heat-and-don’t-get-blisters comfortable.

And here, because I have it and was feeling frustrated about how awkward things were looking, is a super-unflattering image of me doing an angry high kick:

Now that I see it again, the kick’s not that high. Probably I should do some stretches.

What clothes have you bought for other women, StyleNation? 

Just how successful are we at shopping for the lives we have

(as Angie, at You Look Fab might say)?

11 thoughts on “NSFW: Summer Dress, or How to Make Everyone Uncomfortable

  1. Also, I love those sandals. So cute, and comfy to boot? Or rather, to sandal? Awesomeness.

    I bought a print silk blouse early in 2012 and have yet to even put it on. That’s a good example of me shopping for someone else’s life.

    • Hi Kelly. I know, right? You’d think these babies would rub or bite somewhere, but they really, really don’t.

      Also, how to resist the allure of the printed silk? Probably it will be THE perfect thing at some point very soon. Silk requires no extensive justification, in my humble opinion. Perhaps, for example, it could be featured on your blog sometime when you’ve got a child-free afternoon or evening? What kind of print? (Clearly, I’m obsessing over your silk now.)

  2. I like the print and I think you can rock big colorful pattern, but I’m with you and E-Jo in thinking the bodice of this dress is unnecessarily matronly. My salvage operation would be to have that seamstress make this barge into a smooth-sailing skirt. That’s only if you really love the print and colors, though, because there are many other pretty dresses in the world.

    • Thanks for commenting, Rebecca. And sorry you’re experiencing the opposite of our schedules! When is your more wonderful time of the year?

  3. Ok. I’m going to be the dissenting voice here. I kind of agree that the neckline and print of the dress is for someone much older than you — I don’t know about darker-skinned but possibly. I think the scale of the pattern works on you and I like the colors a lot (*shocker!*), but something about the roses, the thick straps, and scoop neck read a lot older to me. I might like this a lot more if the neckline was a v-neck or something, if the bright blue was up near your face, rather than the navy, or if it was just the skirt.

    The shoes are freaking awesome though.

  4. I agree with Cynthia. I love this dress on you because you have the height to pull off the bold pattern and long length. And I am operating under the assumption that navy blue is a kind colour for those of us who are pigmentally-challenged (i.e. alabaster) so I am not buying your whitey argument; this dress would look great on lots of women (not me) including you.

    But get a seamstress to deal with the gappy bits. Or wear one of those cute cropped, short sleeved cardis with it, maybe also in navy blue.

    • All lovely comments, D-Med, and great suggestions, but I’m with E-Jo on this one. Also, even though the top is small, it gets all cutty on the tops of my arms when I bend over. It’s not for me, it seems.

  5. I was just going to say that you looked great in that dress. It’s not only the big of boob and bold of coloration who can work big prints and colors. Just get the gappy parts taken in and rock it.

Leave a Reply

