Dressing (Just) Outside the Academy: Business Up Top, A Slightly Less Formal Business Down Below

It is with no small amount of envy that I have been reading recent IPF dispatches about mullet skirts, office pyjamas, and The Most Wonderful Time of the Year.  You see, here at IPF DeskJob, we joke about “summer hours” like they’re a good thing, but what “summer hours” really means is “you will be putting in more of them.  Also, where’s your suit, slacker?”

It is in that spirit, then, that I ask you to receive my version of the mullet skirt: a particularly daring ensemble in which I mix two different types of business attire.

know, right?

Check it out: on the top, you’ve got your standard suit jacket.  But on the bottom?  Wait for it, kids: you’ve got a pencil skirt purchased from AN ENTIRELY DIFFERENT STORE.  And on the feet, you’ve got the flats I walked to and from work in, because I forgot about our self-timer photoshoot and left my heels at work.

There is clearly a lot more to be said about my sartorial bravery, but I’ll have to leave that up to you in the comments field since I’m going in early this morning.  Summer hours, dontcha know?

Jacket: Mexx; tank: H&M; pencil skirt: J. Crew (#2 pencil); flats: Bloch; pendant: stall at a faux-hippie market; BlackBerry: The Man

How are summer hours treating you, StyleNation? 

14 thoughts on “Dressing (Just) Outside the Academy: Business Up Top, A Slightly Less Formal Business Down Below

  1. I’m with Dorky and E-Jo: This ensemble looks awesome, those flats are beauties (of which you should own more), and you need to post bigger photos so we can see more stuff.

    Also, I love the crisp summer white blazer with your #2 pencil skirt. Clearly, pencil skirts are a super-power for you as well.

  2. Dude. You need to use the bigger picture option as I totally want to see more details of this fantastic outfit. I’m totally loving what I’m seeing though. Like, D-Med, I also kind of love it with the flats.

  3. PS: am not trying to up my comment count by double-posting. I can’t remember how to delete stuff here. How do I delete stuff here?

  4. I love those flats with a love so deep and pure that I cannot bear NOT to wear them every possible chance I get. I probably should have asked Mr. Visa to buy me three pairs. Three pair? I dunno. More than one, at any rate.

    • There’s an “edit” in square brackets just beside the date on the comment. Click that and move it to trash. If you want.

  5. You live on the edge, Janey Emm, on the conservative-office-wear edge. I bet your rogue dressing is going to come up in your annual review.

    Also, I love those flats with this outfit. They deserve to be more than just the transit flats. (I’m defending them because I think I have the exact same pair and I *don’t* walk to work in them because I want to keep them nice. I walk to work in sneakers. Or rain boots, obviously.) I’m currently on a no-more-high-heels kick though (see what I did there?). Well no more buying of them. I’m keeping the ones I have because I love them. Hate myself, but love them.

    • I love those flats with a love so deep and pure that I cannot bear NOT to wear them every possible chance I get. I probably should have asked Mr. Visa to buy me three pairs. Three pair? I dunno. More than one, at any rate.

      • I have three pairs. The plural of pair is pairs just as the plural of beer is beers. I’m in English.

        More importantly, yes, you should have asked Mr Visa to buy you three pairs. Because they are so flat they wear kind of quickly on the souls. I think I need to get rubber soles put on mine. Thoughts? Also, Gravity Pope is having a 20% sale right now. You should tell Mr Visa.

Leave a Reply

