Repetition 2.0

StyleNation, how did summer get to be almost over?

Like many academics, I am currently scrambling to complete and send off multiple writing/research projects, to write proposals for conferences to which I’ll regret applying come spring, and to draft grant applications that will be due in the next couple of months. I am also placing the book orders I meant to submit ages ago, finalizing course outlines, securing guest speakers, creating course websites, and resisting the urge to delete immediately any and all keener-student requests for information about courses I’m not done planning.

In short, some of us – myself included – are losing the plot right now. Some of us – myself included – are lucky if we remember to brush our hair and put on pants most days. The Summer Uniform regularly saves valuable brain cells. Summer uniform-wise, here’s what’s cooking at IPF North.

Uniform #1: for cooler days, on campus but no meetings

version 1:

Dress: Chapter One (remixed); cami: H&M; Cuff: Le Chateau; Microfibre leggings: ?? (via Winners – they are scratchy, uncomfortable, and stupid. This was their last wearing.); Black leather and brass sandals: Sam & Libby (via Shoe Heaven, this season)

version 2:

Dress: as above; Cami: H&M; Green bead necklace: little shop in Rinty the Crusher’s new hometown last summer; Boot-cut jeggings: Hue (via The Bay – you should check these babies out. they’re stupid-comfortable and they stay up when you walk); White leather flats: Camper (via Barcelona shop during Key Player shopping tour 2006)

Uniform #2: for hotter days, casual student meetings on campus

version 1:

Cotton jersey top: Mexx (new to blog); Striped cotton blazer: Tribal (via Winners, remixed; Necklace: gifted (and only worn at night in summer, otherwise it burns); Cotton and brushed metal belt: Nine West (via Winners); White cargos: Mango (remixed); Gold wedges: Portia (via Shoe Heaven, last summer)

Obvy, the jacket comes off outside but goes on, again, under the a/c in my office.

version 2: (Ok, so not the best for campus, but I wore this for a meeting I had to host at my house this morning since the FR’s Puppy requires supervision and the A-Dubs-Hubs’s schedule is even more insane than my own)

Chambray top: Smart Set (last year; but they’ve got the same one this year for all seasons); Cami: H&M; Cargos: as above; Silver leather, canvas and neoprene flipflops: DKNY

Exciting, no? I almost fell asleep while posting all of the above. Here’s hoping I can step things up a little when term begins next week. (Gah!)

In the mean time, ‘good thing the FR’s Puppy photo bombed in her colour-coordinated puffy neck cone. The poor sweetie was spayed yesterday, so she’s especially heartbreakingly sore AND cute right now. Case in point:

What’s shaking with you, StyleNation?

How do you prepare for September,

if indeed you must prepare for September?

18 thoughts on “Repetition 2.0

  1. Dude. You are wearing jeggings. Who *are* you? The fact that your whole outfit is totally adorbs does not negate the fact that you are wearing jeggings–that is, leggings that are also jeans–to work.

    Also, I love those shoes. That was an awesome Shopping Team trip.

    • So glad you approve, Megan! I was unsure about them initially since I’ve spent the last year avoiding ankle straps in order to focus on leg elongation and nude shoes. I’m so (getting) over nude shoes (in any skin shade).

  2. For those of us on leave, September is looking an awful lot like August. Which means my uniform remains in full force. Perhaps soon I’ll be able to incorporate layers. Your uniform, however, is decidedly stylier than mine.

    Poor FR’s puppy with her cone of shame time — though that’s a pretty snazzy version of it.

    Sorry for rubbing the non-teaching this term in. But only a very little bit.

    • Someday, E-Jo, I, too, will get to go on leave. And I will remember this day. Oh yes, I will.

      In other news, layers, huh? That’s just crazy talk. (But I suppose it’s important to have dreams.)

  3. I like the outfits. I say this because I have not managed to put on a bra in DAYS. DAYS I tell you.

    But you know what I did today? I turned in my dissertation.

Leave a Reply

