End-of-term Countdown

It’s that time, again.

(Welcome back to work, U.S. members. How was your holiday?)

This time of year, as final papers and projects roll in, and my panic regarding the utter lack of time for my own research reaches a fever pitch once again, I begin to feel a little like this:

Tiniest Treadmill User Ever

As previously noted, now is the time for serious ensembles. While I have occasionally snuck into my office on non-teaching days wearing things like this:

Purple cashmere cardigan: Ricki’s (gifted from A-Dubs-Hubs); Blouse: Joe Fresh (new to blog via the grocery store); Cami: Smart Set (old); Cheetah necklace: Stella and Dot (remixed); Skinny trousers: Mexx (remixed); Lined cognac leather boots: Rieker (via Shoe Heaven, remixed)

Teaching days are all about authority colours and power clothes – well, power clothes for a Women’s and Gender Studies professor, at least:

Sleeveless printed wrap blouse: Mexx (new to blog); Cami: ?? (cut out the tag, via Winners); Necklace: Gifted; Charcoal cardigan: Smart Set (new to blog); Navy wool-mix trousers: Melanie Lyne (new to blog); Studded leather flats: Fugitive de Francesco Rossi (remixed)

Who’s got even better Final Countdown videos?

Will you share the titles?

(We’ll credit you when we use them!)

12 thoughts on “End-of-term Countdown

  1. Pingback: Things That Should be Large | In Professorial Fashion

  2. Loving both these outfits. Like Anne, you’re making me want more navy — which looks super chic I think and wouldn’t be so harsh against my pallid skin as black can sometimes be.

    Also, I’m three weeks away from Joe Fresh. My bank account needs to pull itself together in preparation.

  3. i love the navy power outfit…it’s feminine and powerful at the same time. and that first outfit…well, you could pair those boots with anything and it would be fabulous!

    • Thanks two birds! And welcome to IPF. Also, following a lecture on appropriate boot care from a shoe store owner in my neighbourhood, I bought and treated these boots with a silicone and mink oil concoction called “Dubbin” (available in the shoe care section of my local grocery store). They look even better in their new healthy state!

  4. Oooh, I like the new blouse! I don’t have a lot of navy, since my wardrobe seems to be based around black/gray, but you’re making me consider it. You do look like you mean business. And I’ve never heard of Mexx before, so thanks for giving me some more internet to surf as I ease back into work today.

    And since I’m currently behind the office firewall, I can’t actually check out videos for you (though this one from a google search seems safe… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7R9zN7o_s2Y) but I’d recommend any Arrested Development scene that includes Final Countdown, since it also includes Will Arnett attempting magic. I know that at least E-Jo will appreciate that.

    • They’re illusions, Anne.

      Also, I’m fairly certain you would look as exquisite in navy as you do in your favoured black/grey ensembles.

      Finally, thank-you for the video link. Ohmigoddess, I love this scene! I routinely re-watch Buster dancing along in the background in his stripper/soldier costume until GOB makes him stop!

      • Oh yay! I know a shared love of Arrested Development has come up many times in the past with E-Jo, but I wasn’t sure you were a fan too. But of course you would be, since it’s smart and awesome.

        And navy does, of course, look good on me, but it just seems like a lot of work to have shoes and tights to go with it.

        • Yes, it IS smart and awesome. Also, I’ve decided black tights and shoes work with navy. I’m pretty sure I didn’t come up with this myself though; I’m sure it came from a fashion blogging guru.

Leave a Reply

