Conference Recap

Well, it’s almost taken me two months to do this but here is my boot-centric conference wear from early October.  I know, I know.  You’ve been waiting with bated breath.

Day One: Eager Conference Attendee, Ready to Listen Attentively

Cardi: Old Navy; Dress: Lane Bryant; Tights: Hue; Boots: J. Simp

Cardi: Old Navy; Dress: Lane Bryant; Tights: Hue; Boots: J. Simp

This dress typically has a belt but I forgot to pack it.  I think it needs the belt to break up the pattern a bit, but, otherwise, this dress is an excellent conference powerhouse as it’s super comfortable.

Day Two: Presenter, Substantially Inferior Listener

Cardi: Old Navy; Dress: Target; Tights and Boots as before

Cardi: Old Navy; Dress: Target; Tights and Boots as before

So you’ll no doubt see that Team Color was very much making its presence known at this conference (which, incidentally, was pretty excellent).

Day Three: Conference had Half a Day*

DSC_0020

Chambray Shirt & White T: Old Navy; Skirt: Target; Tights and Boots: Ibid.

This outfit also had a blazer but I’m too lazy to restage that part of the outfit.  Also, while it’s slightly more casual than I might typically wear for a conference, the day before a male academic at about the same career point as me was wearing what looked to be his house-painting clothes.  So, I decided to chambray it up.

The pillow you can see progressively more of in these pictures is this one.  It might be one of my favorite things I own.

Boot Close-ups:

DSC_0021

DSC_0024

*I can’t find the clip that goes with this but I’m pretty sure some of you out there get what I’m putting down here.

Anyone got any updates on current time machine science?  I’d be pretty interested in getting these last two months back as they’ve gone ridiculously fast…

5 thoughts on “Conference Recap

  1. Pingback: Things Later Regretted | In Professorial Fashion

  2. Dude! These are some great boot-centric outfits! And I WAS waiting with bated breath! Phew.

    There’s something great about each of these. The first two, I love the mixing of a print with a bold, jewel-toned color. That’s one of my favorite things to do. I like the first dress sans belt, though I always recommend dress belting. And I’m also always a fan of Team Color – yay!

    And I hear you on time flying by. I have some stuff that needs to be done for work by the end of the year, so I’m a little stressed that it’s almost December already! Seriously, what happened to this year?

    • I’m glad that I put you out of your misery then, and finally posted these! You’re right, outfits 1 and 2 seem very Anne.

      I find that the dress, sans belt, is a little too shapeless on me — which you can’t really tell with the cardigan.

      Hope that your December isn’t too stressful!

  3. Woman, I miss conferencing with you. Also, you seriously brought your conference A-game – something your presence encourages me to do as well. For the record: a cute chambray shirt does not a dude’s painting clothes approximate – though I suppose that’s the point, isn’t it?

    I am bookmarking for reference prior to future conference travel; I, too, wish to look simultaneously profesh, effortlessly stylish, and comfortable in all ensembles. Plus, those boots are bada$$. Can you take a pic from the side so I can see the heel height? (my boot love is comprehensive.)

    • Yeah, I left my painting clothes at home so I couldn’t fully replicate his outfit. Next time… And, yes, I also totally miss conferencing with you and the other key players.

      The heel’s about an inch or so — they’re basically flat. I’ll take a better side view picture next time.

Leave a Reply

