First Days: Dresses

Whew! September is flying  by, thank the gods. It’s always a full-on month-long scramble I can’t wait to be over, despite the piles of marking that arrive with October. Also, one of the courses I’m teaching this term is a 3-hour afternoon one I’ve not taught before. This means eons of prep time and a LOT of dashing around last minute, searching for books, making copies, and throwing tech into bags to haul to class just in case it’s needed.

All of this dashing and scrambling generally means I spend less time than I should planning outfits. Thus, there’ve been some misses of late, sartorially speaking. I offer the following for your consideration/commentary:

1. Dress that Hangs like a Bag

Purchased last year in a funky shop that makes me want to be as cool as it is. The dress/bag itself is made of summer weight wool and lycra, so it’s super-comfortable. I’m forced to admit, however, that it looks like a potato sack. Tits.

Image

Banana Blue Mauve/gray dress: new to blog; Black cotton T and leggings: ubiquitous on this blog; Beaded silver bracelets: remixed; Fly London Yayas in black: remixed

Here’s another iteration, equally unsuccessful:

Image

Dress: as above; Mexx long white linen cardigan: remixed; Stella & Dot silver bib necklace: remixed; “Silver” beaded bracelets: remixed; Mexx white camp: remixed; Ecco Silver leather sandals: new to blog

2. Summer-Sale Misfire

This dress is sort of insane; it has a LOT going on. Probably too much. I can see why it was in the sales, but it’s redonk comfortable, and I kind of dig the crazy. Also,  I think I can style it better than this. In short, I am keeping it but recognize that this first iteration leaves a lot to be desired:

Image

Kenneth Cole insane dress: new to blog (via Kenneth Cole online); Black cotton/lycra cropped cardigan: ?? (I cut out the itchy, itchy tag); Black bamboo capri leggings: Joe Fresh (technically pyjamas, purchase last year before we knew exactly how much Joe Fresh, the brand, sucketh); David Dixon embellished pewter “snakeskin” leather flats: remixed

And here it is from the back. I told you there’s a LOT going on:

Image

3. This One I Love

It’s got everything on my new work-dress checklist: high neckline? check; Heavy cotton jersey that doesn’t show my underwear line? check; Colour that is kind to my complexion? check. In other news, there’s no big dark wet patch on the right side. The camera put that there. Or maybe it’s a ghost.

Image

Neon Buddha steel-grey cotton jersey dress: new to blog; Loft cream cotton short-sleeved cropped cardigan: remixed; Necklace: remixed; Naturalizer nude-for-my-skin-tone leather wedge sandals: remixed

I’d love to stay and chat, but I need my hands for eating cake. The A-Dubs-Hubs is working late, so the dogs and I are having a picnic in bed.

Here’s a final question: is the dress I love too casual for work? Is it a going-to-yoga thing?

(I am easily seduced by yoga clothes.)

12 thoughts on “First Days: Dresses

  1. I’ve been meaning to comment but I keep reading on my phone and I hate dealing with wordpress on my phone blah blah bladdity blah…

    I love all three of these dresses. THERE. I said it.

    The first dress is fantastic in that avant-garde Rei Kawakubo “fuck figure flattery” way. I too would skip the leggings with it, though. How about black tights and slim black footwear and just keep the focus on that awesome and deliberately distinctive shape.

    The second dress is amazing. I love all the patterns, plus it’s totally on trend with the black-and-white and blue and patterns and AND. I like Robin’s suggestion of layering underneath it. Solid neutral (grey? black! I know, I’m predictable) fitted long sleeve or even turtleneck underneath, with full-on tights rather than leggings, or at least leggings that tuck into boots?

    I LOVE THE THIRD DRESS. Every time I see dresses with that shaping, I want one, and this is absolutely no exception. You look smashing.

  2. I think the trouble with #2 might be that you’re layering over it instead of under. It’s creating yet another “box” with the angle of the cardigan. How would you feel about some sort of blue jersey underneath?

    I also agree about the leggings vs tights or bare legs.

  3. Love ’em all. Especially the last one, which is definitely not too casual for work. The following are my scattered thoughts before I run to class: I’m with D-Med, though about losing the leggings on dresses 1 & 2. I see what you’re putting down there, but I think either tights or nothing might be better (the leggings seem most successful to me in the first iteration of dress 1, for instance). For dress 1, would belting it totally undermine its baggy coolness? Could it also maybe shortened by an inch or so? I find that length really difficult to wear. Also, those are totally the Ecco silver sandals I have. The pattern of dress 2 is awesome — and you are totally rocking it. Also, have I mentioned how awesome dress 3 is?

    • I totally got those sandals after seeing yours! They were in a virtual shopping bag until you rocked them on IPF.

      Also, I don’t think I could belt dress 1, and I agree the length is not ideal, but the shaping at the hemline makes shortening it more challenging. I like that you’re sort of encouraging me to keep it, though!

  4. I LOVE the first dress; it’s awesome. Maybe just don’t wear it with leggings if it’s feeling too casual? But you know how I feel about leggings. And I don’t think it looks too baggish but everything I wear looks like a bag. Is it possible to have it a little tailored?

    The second dress is also made of awesome and I think you should definitely lose the leggings-that-look-like-running-capris with this particular iteration. Maybe your white jeggings would lighten the look? Am I recommending jeggings?!? I think I am.

    And the third dress is perfect and perfect on you. It doesn’t look to casual here. Is it just the fabric that makes you think it’s too casual. Call it a ponte knit and consult with E-Jo, who is the master of professional ponte dressing. I am still not entirely clear on what ponte knit is and if it is different from heavy jersey. Take home message: you look gorgeous in this dress. That is all.

    • You’re totally right about the leggings in both instances. The photos do not lie – but I didn’t look at them until last night. I always think leggings solve the “this is too short for me” issue with dresses, but they’re just creating more problems here.

      Don’t think the bag dress can be tailored – the material’s a little too stretchy, I think – but I’ll ask my mom. She know stuff about sewing and fabric.

      Finally, yeah, I worry that cotton knit is too casual for classroom wear, but this dress is so comfortable, etc., that I decided to break my own rules. Glad you’re on board with it!

  5. I made the decision to start getting out of the jersey-knitwear-at-work “business” entirely so I am not sure about the final question. However, it does seem to be a good dress, and it doesn’t look particularly yoga-ish. That second dress man. Is that actually LEOPARD PLAID? Cray-cray. Also I dig the first dress. It has my new favorite hemline it looks like. Keep it for weekend wear?

    • If your fave hemline is sort of balloonish, then it has it. I like that hemline, too, as it doesn’t blow all over the place. And yeah, I could totalz keep it for weekends. Then I could skip the cami underneath. Why no jersey at work for you?

Leave a Reply

