Casual Wear

Nothing like a busy week or two to provide blog fodder, right?  I have three, that’s right THREE (and it’s actually three plus one variation), outfits for you today — and a bunch still waiting to be blogged.  With Halloween, a friend’s birthday, another friend’s band playing, and the usual social shenanigans, I’ve got a number of bloggable casual outfits for y’all.

To start things off, here’s what I wore to teach on Halloween and, later, out for drinks & cupcakes to celebrate a friend’s birthday.  Note that I’m emphatically not a costume person — as both A-Dubs and D-Med who have spent many a Halloween with me know — but that my students thought I was in costume anyhow.  I’ll take guesses as to what you think they thought I was (I don’t know what they thought though as I was too busy spluttering out that I wasn’t in costume).

Button-up Shirt: Old Navy; Tank & Pencil Skirt: Target; Boots: Jessica Simpson; Lucite Necklace: Anthropologie

Button-up Shirt: Old Navy; Tank & Pencil Skirt: Target; Boots: Jessica Simpson; Lucite Necklace: Anthropologie

Anyhow, a good time was had by all.  Apart from our usual server, who we did our best to get fired by being so hilarious that we kept distracting him from his other tables.

DSC_0002-013

This next outfit is from the next evening out.  You’ll note that over the next series of photos  temperatures were dropping as my legs require more and more covering up.

Dress: Gap; Denim jacket: Old Navy; Tights: Hue; Boots: Corso Como

Dress: Gap; Denim jacket: Old Navy; Tights: Hue; Boots: Corso Como

I don’t have much to say about this — apart from the fact that I love that it is FINALLY tights weather here (a love that I’m sure won’t be shared by many of you who have had this weather for a while already and have far more of it to look forward to than I do).  Also, the jean jacket fits better than that first picture makes it seem.

DSC_0005-010

Lastly, here is the outfit I wore the third night out for the performance of a band that two of my friends are in.  And on this night even tights wouldn’t cut it as leg covers.

Blazer & virtually unseen black ponte shell: Target; Jeans: Old Navy; Boots: Jessica Simpson; Scarf: some store in Berlin

Blazer & virtually unseen black ponte shell: Target; Jeans: Old Navy; Boots: Jessica Simpson; Scarf: some store in Berlin

I wore this same outfit with some alterations earlier in the work for a day split between a coffee shop, working, and campus, attending meetings.  Variations of this outfit are turning into a bit of a uniform for non-teaching campus days.

Pretty much the same as above but with Me Too flats.

Pretty much the same as above but with Me Too flats.

Are you a stick-in-the-mud about Halloween like me?  Or did you dress up?

 

 

15 thoughts on “Casual Wear

  1. Pingback: Halloween, Take Two | In Professorial Fashion

  2. A-Dubs rightly identified me as siding with D-Med on Hallowe’en enthusiasm. I had a costume half-planned but didn’t get to it. Maybe next year? If I have a party to go to, I dress up, but for guiding costumed kiddos through Trick or Treating I tend to just wear normal people clothes.

    E-Jo, I have no idea what students thought your “costume” was.

    Cute outfits all the way! Particularly (covetously) loving the striped knit blazer.

    • Dude, I would think guiding costumed kiddos would be a perfect opportunity for a costume — but I guess this maybe shows who’s the parent, and who isn’t here.

      Also, that blazer is a current Target purchase. I’m just saying. It’ll probably be on sale at any minute, too.

  3. Oh, I thought you were dressed up as ME for Halloween! No??? Uh, maybe next year we should dress up as each other? It’d be so difficult 🙂 But I’m generally a stick in the mud about it too. Or maybe it’s because I’m married to one. But I haven’t dressed up in years!

    I’ve finally given in to tights weather, and I am loving it. But you’re absolutely right, having like 6 months of it to look forward to makes a lot of us northerners hesitant to start wearing them. Except that my legs look so much better when you hide their natural pastiness from the world.

    I really like your casual, All Saints Day evening out ensemble! The purple tights are awesome. And wow, pattern mixing in the next outfit? Very nice!

    • By that logic, I’m pretty sure we dress up as one another pretty much every day… Like A-Dubs mentions below, I was roped into wearing costumes (always ridiculously lame/ unimaginative ones) by our more costume-interested grad school friends, but I haven’t dressed up since then.

      Tights weather is kind of the best — especially because it means it’s neither bitterly cold nor crazy hot, which is perfect.

      And, finally, thanks! Those tights are pretty wicked — and I needed some way to indicate that I’m on team color! And, yeah, that scarf is the best. Did you notice my pretentious cosmopolitan street cred? I don’t know exactly where I got it, just some boutique in Berlin. I’m so fancy.

  4. Yegads, I love multiple outfit posts from IPF South! I love ALL of what’s going on here, but especially the fuschia tights and all other pops of colour (including fingernails) against all those stylish neutrals.

    As for Hallowe’en, I share your preference for not dressing up. Others (Rinty, D-Med, Kelly, for example) sucked me into their costume-y ways during grad school but I’ve done NOTHING since, and I like it this way. One of my students wore an actual corset/bustier-thingy as part of her costume for the entire day. Given the crappy back-breaking desks students in Arts at my institution have to sit in, I have to admire her dedication to the day. But I also think she’s crazy to have done it.

    • Dude, I’ve still got more unblogged outfits and this weekend is busy as well, so prepare yourself for further multiple outfit posts from IPF South. Further pops of color were provided by purses, which I didn’t photograph: a bright blue crossbody for the first two outfits, and a red crossbody for the last one.

      I knew you and I were like this (I’m doing the fingers to eyes thing) about Halloween. I have to say, though, I do enjoy seeing a good/ imaginative costume. I only had a few students dress up but when we were out that night we did get to play an excellent version of “costume or not.”

    • Youse guys are Halloweiners. Costumes + tiny chocolate bars + salty roasted pumpkin seeds = AWESOME.

      That said, I did nothing because I was in the middle of moving which is the opposite of awesome. Actually, I did wear a wig around that I forgot I owned but no one saw so that doesn’t really count.

      • You know you can have the tiny chocolate bars and salty roasted pumpkin seeds without a costume, right? Also, I feel like wearing a wig around is just a regular Thursday night, chez D-Med.

Leave a Reply

