Prego Profesh-ish

StyleNation, February is almost over and I’m betting MANY of you across North America are more than ready for the end of this crappy stormy month.

Outfit #1: Off-campus meeting

In other news, I’m on research leave but still occasionally have to get out of my pyjamas. For instance, I wore this relatively casual ensemble for an off-campus meeting with a research assistant:

DSC_0031

Cotton jersey tunic: Boden (new to blog); White cotton cami: ??; Wool/acrylic stripe drape-front cardigan: (remixed, via Winners); Maternity under-belly dark-wash skinny jeans: Indigo Blue (via Motherhood Maternity – worst store name ever – new to blog); Black leather riding boots: Blondo (via Brown’s, remixed ad nauseum on this blog)

And here, just because I have it, is another view. Can you tell I’m trying to emphasize the baby belly? People keep missing that I’m pregnant. Case in point: upon learning that I am almost 7 months along, a woman I met at a meeting last week said, “Oh, that’s exciting! I thought you were just chunky!

DSC_0033

Outfit 1: Things are exactly as they appear

I wore this for a fantastic but very long day on and off-campus during which I co-hosted multiple events with multiple guest speakers. I needed to be super-comfortable.

DSC_0030

Wool/acrylic beige and silver cable 3/4 sleeve cardigan: H&M (very old but new to blog); Cotton jersey blue and grey stripe ruched maternity dress: Isabella Oliver (via the indie prego store down the street, new to blog – also, it can be worn post-pregnancy because of all the wicked ruching!); “Silver” bead necklace: craft fair (remixed, old); Brown tights: Hue (plus-size, for my prego comfort); Brown leather boots: Browns (remixed)

Here’s another view. Apologies for cutting out the bootage. It was very early, and I was in a HUGE rush:

DSC_0028

Sadly, even with this fantastic dress, things got dire, comfort-wise, by hour 16. Also, tights are the worst if you are (a) pregnant (and thus have ridiculously sensitive skin on the back of your stupid legs), and (b) sitting on hard chairs for much of the day. That said, the dress held its shape all day. Also, its horizontal stripes emphasized the baby belly and minimized the “chunky” talk.

Do you use fashion to help others know/recognize things about you?

How so?

15 thoughts on “Prego Profesh-ish

  1. I’m coming late to this party. You look amazing. I’m not sure why people feel the need to comment on pregnant bodies in horrible ways: too small, too big, too old (I got that one at work quite a bit, which was surprising since I’m quite a bit younger than most of my colleagues). Pregnancy was alternately good and bad for my body positivity. Anyway, enough about me – I love LOVE the blue stripey number, covet the long body, and agree that form fitting is the way to go.

  2. Wow, what a horrible thing to say! Although I do think that is why a lot of people may not say anything to a woman who appears that she may be pregnant – because what if she’s not?

    I love both of these outfits, especially that blue striped dress! You find the cutest maternity clothes! Even better if you can still wear them post-baby.

    I used style for a long time to cover up things about my body that I didn’t like. Those cardigans that I love so much also hide a muffin-top if, say, my jeans are a bit on the small side. But I do remember being excited to show off my smaller frame after I lost weight a couple years ago, like perhaps people will know these clothes are a smaller size! Or maybe they’ll notice how confident I finally feel in a sleeveless top!

    • It’s funny, isn’t it, how close to the surface everyone’s concerns about women’s bodies – especially our weight – seem to be. I actually thought the woman’s response to me was hilariously honest. In some things, I DO just look like a non-prego who carries her weight around her middle.

      While you are outrageously hard core and good-looking now, Anne, I wish to emphasize that you were equally outrageously good-looking – and hard core in ways that were not quite so running-and-health-centred – before you changed your body all around! But I’m happy that you feel good in your clothes 🙂

      • Admittedly, the remark did make me chuckle when I first read it, but that just seems like the type of thing someone should think and not say. I used to have a co-worker who continued to carry a little baby weight in a way that she pretty much always looked a little pregnant – people would often ask her when she was due, which she said really hurt sometimes. So that’s always made me think that if you don’t know for sure, it’s probably just best to not say anything (unless it’s SUPER obvious, I guess?).

        Awww, well thank you! It’s not that I ever thought I wasn’t good looking (seriously, no lack of self-esteem there), but I certainly was self-conscious about a few things that have now either gone away, or just don’t bother me anymore.

  3. You look gorgeous! I particularly love the slinky striped dress.

    “just chunky” — Who says that??? Even if you’re thinking it? And even if you’re thinking it, what makes you think it’s any of your damn business? What is wrong with people?

    Your lovely height comes into play with how you carry, obviously, for both you and susanify. Being short, I was rather bellytastic by 7 months and then people say charming things like, “Are you sure you don’t have twins in there?” and “Wow, you’re so big, when are you due?” And then you tell them, and then they say, “No, that doesn’t sound right.” What the hell, people?

    Bummer about the tights. Pregnancy is itchy.

    I’m going to scroll up and revel in your bodacious belly!

      • Never. Not once in two pregnancies. I have a pretty good “get the fuck away from me” face, apparently.

        If some weirdo does touch your belly, just reach out and touch hers/his in return. Then s/he’ll know how entirely weird that is.

  4. Ack, I hate people. Who tells another person they’re “chunky” (who is not my mother)? Regardless of whether a person is pregnant or not. Because, you know, you might also be “chunky” when you’re not pregnant. And there’s nothing philosophically wrong with being “chunky” except that that word usually comes with a negative connotation–I mean, I’ve never heard it in a non-judgemental way. A friend of mine, who has always been overweight and has felt judged solely on her body her whole life (she was an actress), told me that she felt beautiful for the first time when she was pregnant because everyone kept remarking on how beautiful she was. She felt she was finally allowed to be the size she had always been and no one judged her for it; in fact, they praised her for it. How come women are only allowed to be a plus size when they’re pregnant? And why does being pregnant make especially salient the way women are constantly judged on the size and shape of their body, when their body is, in fact, not solely their own?

    You look beautiful though. Seriously.

    • Well, my mother told me to stop sticking my belly out. Like I could suck in the baby. I’m happy for your friend, though that’s a long time to wait for some positive reinforcement. Our culture offers no wins for women, especially those who sport the most wicked curves.

      Also, thanks Ween.

  5. Aw… so cute! You are frickin’ adorbs as a pregnant lady. This makes me miss last year. That slinky dress is very cute and the tunic/layers number is profesh and comfy looking.
    I was not recognized as pregnant until week 31, maybe, even though I had a belly. Those who knew my usual figure knew I was pregnant but strangers had no idea. On one hand, that was OK, but on the other hand, I was so happy and proud. I found that side ruching and belly hugging=cute and prego. Anything lose and flowy= too much lunch/too many cookies. I felt like rubbing my boo when he was in utero, so that constant hand over bump pose helps with any ambiguity.
    Don’t worry, though, pretty soon your “delicate condition” will be obvious to everyone you meet.

Leave a Reply

